Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Cordless jigsaw buying guide

Updated: 21 October 2026

You are comparing a £68 body with a £47 kit, and the sticker does not say which number is the saw. This cordless jigsaw buying guide puts the battery platform first, then whether a pack is in the box, then a cutting depth you can source, then the blade clamp and the orbital setting. Stars come after that. The listings, from £28.64 to £223.32 on amazon.co.uk, are on the [cordless jigsaw comparison](/hub/power-saws/cordless-jigsaw). Peter F. used the saved amazon.co.uk listings on 19 October 2026 and public UK guides. This is not a lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are comparing a £68 body with a £47 kit, and the sticker does not say which number is the saw.

Our top picks

Ryobi Ryobi R18JS-0

Best overall

Ryobi Ryobi R18JS-0
9.5/10about £68.11
Bosch Bosch GST 18V-95 B

Rank 2

Bosch Bosch GST 18V-95 B
7.5/10about £114.62
Einhell Einhell TC-JS 18/70

Best value

Einhell Einhell TC-JS 18/70
8.5/10about £66.68
On this page

Start with the battery you already own

A cordless jigsaw is only cordless if the pack on your shelf clicks in. Bosch Professional 18 V, Ryobi 18 V ONE+, Einhell Power X-Change and Worx PowerShare are four slides. A pack from one does not run the others. Bosch green Power for All is not the same as Bosch blue Professional. The GST 18V-95 B at £114.62, the GST 18V-125 B at £223.32 and the GST 18V-125 S at £207.12 are solo. The Ryobi R18JS-0 at £68.11 is body only for ONE+. The Einhell at £66.68 includes a 2.5 Ah PXC pack and a charger. The WORX at £129.99 includes a 2.0 Ah PowerShare pack. Lucn, Fexrror, ONEVAN, DEWINNER and CISSIYOG do not join those slides. CISSIYOG's bullets claim a DeWalt fit. The brand is CISSIYOG. Who should skip each listing is on best cordless jigsaw UK.

Depth, stroke and bevel

Cutting depth and stroke length are different numbers. Stroke is how far the blade travels on each cycle. Depth is how thick a piece the maker says the shoe and the blade can get through. Ryobi bullets state up to 101 mm in wood and 6 mm in steel, with a 25 mm stroke. A later bullet says a cutting capacity of 6.35 mm. Einhell states 70 mm in wood and 8 mm in steel, and a 20 mm stroke. Bosch UK states 95 mm in wood for the GST 18V-95 B. That Amazon listing does not state a wood depth or a bevel. Bosch's manual table for the GST 18V-125 B and S states 125 mm in wood. Those Amazon listings do not print that depth as a capacity. ONEVAN claims 55 mm. CISSIYOG claims 135 mm. Those seller depths were not verified. Ryobi, Einhell and both 125 models name a 45 degree bevel. The GST 18V-95 B and the WORX listing do not.
Ryobi Ryobi R18JS-0

Testsieger

Ryobi Ryobi R18JS-0
9.5/10about £68.11

T-shank and orbital action

RS Components' UK jigsaw guide treats T-shank as the current clamp. U-shank blades need a screw clamp that current branded saws have mostly dropped. Ryobi names a keyless T-shank clamp, Einhell a tool-free T-shank, and the GST 18V-125 S an SDS holder. If a review says the blade will not load, as UK buyers wrote about the CISSIYOG, the shank name is not proof the clamp works. Orbital action, also called pendulum, bites faster in timber and tears a face you wanted clean. BuildWiz keeps orbital at 0 for laminate, metal and plastic. Ryobi lists four pendulum adjustments. The Bosch Professional bodies list four-stage orbital. Einhell lists a pendulum stroke without a stage count on Amazon. ONEVAN and CISSIYOG do not state orbital. A laser does not straighten a loose blade. Laminate detail is on the jigsaw kitchen worktop cutout page.

What the listing row is allowed to mean

Amazon's specification table sometimes contradicts the title. Treat the title and the included-components line as the claim about the box, and a wild wattage cell as a data error until a maker page agrees. The Ryobi wattage row says 4,500 mW, which is 4.5 W. The Fexrror voltage row says 220 V while the title says 20 V. Lucn says battery and corded electric, with 900 W. ONEVAN's bullets say two 4.0 Ah batteries and the batteries row says two 12 V batteries. None of those cells means the saw is corded. A 4.7 from seven Lucn reviews is not the same fact as a 4.7 from 1,594 Ryobi reviews. A 5.0 from 17 WORX reviews is a thin sample. If the row still disagrees, buy on the title and the maker page. How a body price changes once you add a pack is on cordless jigsaw body only or with a battery.

Common questions

Do I buy cordless if I only have one job and a socket?
If you do not already own a battery platform, a single cut next to a socket does not justify a new charger. BuildWiz's rule of thumb puts basic corded jigsaws at about £24 to £55, against cordless bodies at about £110 to £220. Those are their ranges, not prices from this set. A kit under £70 still fits if you have no socket, or you expect a second tool on the same slide.
What is T-shank, and should I avoid U-shank?
T-shank is the tang a tool-free clamp grips. RS Components treats it as the current system, and the branded saws here name T-shank or an SDS holder. U-shank is the older screw-clamp type. Keep a U-shank blade for an older saw that uses one. Do not assume it will lock in a T-shank clamp. If a tug pulls it out, stop.
What does orbital action change?
Orbital, or pendulum, action tips the blade into the cut so timber goes faster, and it lifts fibres on a face you wanted smooth. BuildWiz keeps the setting at 0 for laminate, metal and plastic, and higher for rough wood. A higher number is a faster, rougher cut. It will chip a face even if a splinter guard is in the box.
How deep a cut should I look for in wood?
Match the depth to the thickest piece you will cut, and prefer a maker figure or a bullet that names millimetres. Ryobi states 101 mm, Einhell 70 mm, and Bosch UK 95 mm for the GST 18V-95 B and 125 mm for the 125 pair. A typical laminate worktop is inside 70 mm. A seller claim of 135 mm on a £33.99 body is not the same kind of number. Stroke length is not the depth.
Bow handle or barrel grip?
A bow, or top, handle is the usual DIY shape, and the GST 18V-125 B names one. A barrel grip puts the hand behind the blade. A UK review of the GST 18V-125 S says that grip was less tiring than a Ryobi D-handle, and that the switch may not suit a left-handed user. The GST 18V-95 B listing does not name either grip.
Why do Amazon wattage and voltage rows disagree with the title?
The table is often a reused template. The Ryobi row says 4,500 mW, Fexrror says 220 V against a 20 V title, and Lucn says corded and battery on the same tool. Those cells are conflicts, not hidden specifications. Read the title and the included-components line. Use the maker page when Amazon does not state a depth.
Is 20 V the same battery as 18 V?
No. A printed 20 V on a Worx PowerShare tool is that brand's naming, and the item type also says 18 V (20 V max). It still will not take a Bosch Professional pack or a Ryobi ONE+ pack. A no-name 20 V or 21 V kit is a third thing: its own charger, and no second tool unless you buy the same seller's range. Adapters exist in the market. This guide does not treat an adapter as a native pack.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in this set. No laboratory cut.

  1. HSE hand-arm vibration regulations (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  2. HSE tool vibration table (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  3. BSI, BS EN 62841-2-11:2016+A11:2024 (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  4. Bosch UK GST 18V-95 B (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  5. Bosch manual table, GST 18V-125 B and S (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  6. Einhell UK TC-JS 18/70 Li (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  7. RS UK jigsaw guide (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  8. Noise regulations, regulation 4 (retrieved 21.10.2026)