Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

3000W fan heater for a garage

Updated: 21 October 2026

The garage is cold and you want an hour for a workout or a small job at the bench. A 3000W fan heater for a garage can take the chill off the corner you are standing in. It does not replace a boiler, and it is not a heater for a fuel store, a drying car, or a night with nobody there. The six listings are on the [3000W fan heater comparison](/hub/portable-heaters/3000w-fan-heater). This page stays on the garage hour. Peter F. used the amazon.co.uk listings from 19 October 2026, HSE INDG236, and Electrical Safety First. A garage was not measured. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

The garage is cold and you want an hour for a workout or a small job at the bench. A 3000W fan heater for a garage can take the chill off the corner you are standing in.

Our top picks

On this page

What a garage hour actually needs

Fan heat stops when the fan stops. For a supervised hour, that is often what you want: warm air on you, then off when you leave. Reviewers of the Benross 42450 describe a garage gym or a small workshop. One report says a small insulated workshop rose from 6°C to 15°C in 25 minutes. That is one insulated space, not a double garage with the door gaps open. The 30 m² line is a seller claim. A flat heater can warm a small outbuilding in a review, and it still does not state IPX4. The room checklist is on the 3000W fan heater buying guide. Plan the hour, then switch off. Electrical Safety First says not to leave a portable heater unattended, and not overnight.

What IPX4 does and does not mean

Benross 42450, at £49.99 with 3.8 from 796 reviews, is the only heater here that states IPX4. IPX4 is splash resistance. The indoor field still says indoor. It is not permission to leave the heater in British rain or beside a bath. HSE leaflet INDG236 tells users to check plugs, cables, and fuses, and to avoid kit stored wet or dusty. Keep the heater clear of petrol, solvents, paint, and the vehicle, about one metre from anything that can scorch. Placement is on the how to use a 3000W fan heater page. The Benross weighs 3.6 kg and you assemble a support bracket. The printed dimensions, 10.6 x 9.4 x 12.2 cm, look too small for that weight, so measure the unit you receive.

The plug in a workshop

The Benross label states 220 V and 13.64 A. A standard UK socket is built around 13 A, so 13.64 A is above it. Swan states 12.5 A at 240 V. Reviews of the Benross describe a socket or an extension lead getting very hot. Staywarm’s listing says not to use extension leads, and a workshop reel is not an exception. Some trade 3 kW heaters state 16 A and say they are not for domestic mains. That product is not a row here. If the Benross keeps warming a 13 A face, treat a melted socket as an electrician’s job. Who should skip it is on the best 3000W fan heater page.

The other yellow heater

SISUPASSIE model 001 is also £49.99. It is a PTC ceramic fan heater with fan-only, 1500 W, and 3000 W, a stated 1.3 m cord, a self-resetting thermal breaker, and 4.2 from 35 reviews. The bullets name a garage. No IP rating is stated, and 35 reviews are a thin sample. A room thermostat, voltage, and current are not stated, and one UK review says the dial is on or off. A missing melted-plug story is the small sample, not a certificate. For a garage hour, the Benross states IPX4, with 13.64 A in plain sight. The SISUPASSIE states a ceramic element and a 1.3 m cord, without an IP code.

Common questions

Can I heat a garage with a 3000 W fan heater?
You can take the chill off the corner you are working in for about an hour, if you stay there and the socket is sound. Reviewers find that useful in a garage gym or a small workshop. A large open garage is the case where the same heaters are called not hot enough. The heat stops when you switch the fan off.
Is the Benross the one that states IPX4?
Yes. In this set only the Benross 42450 states IPX4, at £49.99, with 1500 W and 3000 W, a 40 W cool setting, and dual overheat protection. The indoor field still says indoor. You assemble the bracket, and the current line is 13.64 A.
Does IPX4 mean I can use it in the rain or next to a car?
IPX4 is splash resistance, not a rain test you can ignore and not a licence to park it against a fuel can or a vehicle. Keep the usual one-metre gap, keep vapour and dust off the grille, and do not leave it running when you go indoors. A greenhouse splash is a smaller claim than an open driveway.
Why do some industrial heaters say 16 A?
Trade 3 kW heaters often state 16 A and say they are not for a domestic 13 A socket. That product is outside this table. The Benross stays in the table with 13.64 A printed, which is already over 13 A, so it is the listing you read twice before you use a normal garage socket.
Will it heat the whole garage or only the space in front of it?
Expect the space in front of it. One insulated workshop in the reviews went from 6°C to 15°C in 25 minutes. Large garages and a marquee are where reviewers say the heat fails. The 30 m² line is the seller’s coverage claim, not a measurement of your building.
Can I put it on an extension lead in the workshop?
Reviews describe those leads getting very hot. Electrical Safety First says not to overload extension leads, and the Staywarm listing says not to use them at all. A short cord means you place the heater by the socket. If every socket is too far, the layout of the garage is the problem to fix first.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources for the plug, the one-metre gap, bathroom zones, and the unit rate. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in this set, checked 19 October 2026.

  1. Electrical Safety First — Portable heaters (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. Electrical Safety First — Ratings of appliances (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK — Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Ofgem — Energy price cap, 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue — Heater safety (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. SELECT — BS 7671 Section 701 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. HSE — INDG236 Maintaining portable electrical equipment (retrieved 19 October 2026)