3 in 1 vs 7 in 1 pool test strips: which extra pads
You are choosing between a three-pad bottle and a seven-pad bottle. On 3 in 1 vs 7 in 1 pool test strips, the extra pads earn their place only when you will act on cyanuric acid, hardness or total chlorine, and only when you can tell those colours apart. We used the amazon.co.uk listings in the [pool test strips comparison](/hub/pool-care/pool-test-strips) on 19 October 2026. Count, chart and opened life stay on the [pool test strips buying guide](/hub/pool-care/pool-test-strips/sub/pool-test-strips-buying-guide). A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
You are choosing between a three-pad bottle and a seven-pad bottle.
You are choosing between a three-pad bottle and a seven-pad bottle. On 3 in 1 vs 7 in 1 pool test strips, the extra pads earn their place only when you will act on cyanuric acid, hardness or total chlorine, and only when you can tell those colours apart. We used the amazon.co.uk listings in the pool test strips comparison on 19 October 2026. Count, chart and opened life stay on the pool test strips buying guide. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Pads named | Cyanuric acid | Opened life | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Clearwater Clearwater 4-in-1 test strips, 50 | Chlorine, pH, alkalinity, bromine | No | not stated | 7.1 | about £9.99 | View offer |
| Best value | HOVIRAN HOVIRAN 3-in-1 pool test strips, 125 | 4 on the uses line; title says 3-in-1 | No | not stated | 6.9 | about £7.29 | View offer |
EASYTEST EASYTEST 7-way pool test strips, 150 | 7, including hardness and total chlorine | Yes | 90 days | 9.0 | about £15.99 | View offer |
On this page
What the two bottles actually measure
When the extra pads earn their place
When a short strip is the better buy
Labels that do not match the pads
Common questions
Is a 7-in-1 more accurate than a 3-in-1?
Do I need cyanuric acid on the strip?
What is the point of total chlorine if I already have free chlorine?
Why do some bottles say six pads and seven tests?
Which bottle in this set is 3-in-1 and which is 7-in-1?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources for pool and spa water targets, taken from the research digest. Listing prices, stars and review counts are from amazon.co.uk on 19 October 2026. No bottle here is a PWTAG approval.
- HSE — swimming pool safety (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- PWTAG code of practice (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- PWTAG standards (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- HSE — HSG282, control of legionella and other infectious agents in spa-pool systems (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- BISHTA — water treatment (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- BISHTA — daily, weekly, monthly and annual hot tub checks (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Lovibond UK leisure — water testing (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Amazon.co.uk best sellers — Pool & Hot Tub Testers (retrieved 19 October 2026)


