Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Pool heat pump buying guide

Updated: 21 October 2026

You have a pool volume, a season that starts in cool air, and a title that leads with kilowatts. That number is a specification only when the air temperature, the water temperature, the coil and the fuse sit beside it. This pool heat pump buying guide is that order of checks. The [pool heat pump comparison](/hub/pool-care/pool-heat-pump) holds five amazon.co.uk listings from about £154.44 to about £206.00, and none states a coefficient of performance. Peter F. checked the listings and public UK sources on 19 October 2026 and did not heat a pool in a lab. A qualifying amazon.co.uk purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You have a pool volume, a season that starts in cool air, and a title that leads with kilowatts. That number is a specification only when the air temperature, the water temperature, the coil and the fuse sit beside it.

Our top picks

JCKJWL JCKJWL 15 kW listing

Best overall

JCKJWL JCKJWL 15 kW listing
5.8/10about £176.76
JCKJWL JCKJWL 9 kW variant

Best value

JCKJWL JCKJWL 9 kW variant
4.6/10about £163.00
OUHFCASN OUHFCASN 18 kW 380 V

Alternative

OUHFCASN OUHFCASN 18 kW 380 V
4.2/10about £154.44
On this page

Read output at 15°C air, not at 26°C

Buy the output printed for cool air. A UK morning in May is closer to 15°C than to a 27°C test chamber, and a warm-air COP overstates the day you need heat. Ask for heat output and COP at about 15°C air and 26°C water. Calorex’s IPT 8 ALX is listed at 9.5 kW when air and water are both 27°C, and at 7.0 kW at 15°C air and 26°C water, with a COP of 6.9 to 4.2 on that cooler line. Poolex’s Nano FI 5 drops from up to 5.0 kW in warm air to up to 3.5 kW at 15°C air. SPATA puts a typical outdoor-season COP at about 3.5 to 4.5.

Size from volume, months, and a cover

A kilowatt means something only against a volume, the months you swim and a cover. ProTeam assumes May to September, water around 27–28°C and air around 15°C, and doubles an above-ground volume. The Wooden Pool Store marks its south-of-England table as a minimum. SPATA says a cover can save as much as 80% of surface heat loss, and a first warm-up in under five days is generally unlikely. Fit the cover, then size the pump. The bill for those hours is on the pool heat pump running costs page.
JCKJWL JCKJWL 15 kW listing

Testsieger

JCKJWL JCKJWL 15 kW listing
5.8/10about £176.76

Coil, flow, and chemicals

Titanium is the usual water coil for salt and high chloride. Stainless steel is a milder-water compromise. A galvanised cabinet is not a coil. The five kept listings say galvanised sheet or stainless steel, or they leave the material as not stated. None says titanium. If you run a salt cell, a stainless-only sentence is a reason to leave that page. If the filter pushes more water than the heat pump’s band, a three-valve bypass sends only part of it through the coil. Dose chlorine, acid and shock downstream, after the water has mixed. The pipe order is on the pool heat pump installation page. These listings do not state a flow, so they cannot tell you whether your pump is in range.

Voltage and who connects it

A BS 1363 plug is 13 A at 230 V, about 3 kW of electrical input. A title that says 15 kW may mean heat or electrical input, and only an amp figure tells you which. Fifteen kilowatts of electricity cannot come from a 13 A socket. Fifteen kilowatts of heat could, if the input were about 3 kW, but that arithmetic is not on these listings. Hardwired units often need a 16 A or 25 A fuse. In England a new circuit is notifiable under Approved Document P. Outdoor sockets up to 32 A need a 30 mA RCD under BS 7671. The OUHFCASN variant states 380 V, an electrician’s supply, not an adapter. Opening the refrigerant circuit is F-gas work. The Boiler Upgrade Scheme does not pay for a pool-only heat pump: regulation 9 excludes pool water from domestic hot water.

What the listing must show before you pay

The same page should show output and COP at a named air and water temperature, the coil, the flow, the voltage and a weight you can compare with a known machine. A digital controller or a star line with no review text does not fill those gaps. Three listings share model 393661854 and a cabinet around 58 x 13 x 38 cm at 9 kg or 19 kg. That mismatch does not prove counterfeit goods. It means you cannot confirm the kilowatt claim.

Common questions

How many kW do I need for my pool?
You need the cool-weather output that matches your volume, your months, and whether a cover is on. ProTeam and The Wooden Pool Store publish rules of thumb for a covered summer, often around 27–28°C water and about 15°C air, and they mark them as minimums. Double an above-ground volume on ProTeam’s method because the shell loses more heat. A listing with no test point has not answered the question.
Which COP number should I compare?
Compare COP at about 15°C air and 26°C water. A warm-air COP, and an inverter COP at low speed, describe easier conditions than a UK season. SPATA’s outdoor-season range is about 3.5 to 4.5. There is no single compulsory test point, so a lone COP 6 with no temperatures is not comparable. If the field is not stated, you cannot rank that listing on efficiency.
Does the coil have to be titanium if I use salt?
For salt water and high chloride, titanium is the usual water coil. Stainless steel is a milder-water compromise, and a galvanised cabinet is not a coil specification. The kept listings do not say titanium. If you run a salt cell, leave a page that only says stainless steel or leaves the material as not stated.
Can a 15 kW heat pump go on a 13 A plug?
Only if 15 kW means heat and the electrical input fits about 3 kW, which is what 13 A at 230 V can supply. The title may instead mean electrical input, which a 13 A plug cannot provide. None of the five listings states the current. A stated 380 V variant needs an electrician, not an adapter.
Will the Boiler Upgrade Scheme pay for it?
A pool-only heat pump is outside the scheme. Regulation 9 requires space heating and domestic hot water, and that hot water definition excludes a swimming pool. A grant line on a product page does not change the regulation. Budget for the machine and the electrical work yourself.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources for seasonal COP, grants, electrical rules and running cost, taken from the research digest. Listing prices, stars and review counts are from amazon.co.uk on 19 October 2026.

  1. Ofgem — Energy price cap, 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. Boiler Upgrade Scheme Regulations 2022, regulation 9 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. GPDO 2015, Class G — air source heat pumps (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Approved Document P — electrical safety in dwellings (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. IET Wiring Matters — BS 7671 regulation 411.3.3 and 30 mA RCDs (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. GOV.UK — qualifications required to work on F-gas equipment (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. SPATA — swimming pool heating factsheet (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Calorex 2025 inverter heat pump brochure (retrieved 19 October 2026)