Box tree moth trap buying guide
You have webbing in a box hedge, or a pot of Buxus stripped last summer, and amazon.co.uk is offering traps and foil sachets. This box tree moth trap buying guide is the buy, not the hanging steps and not a star ranking. You need a body or a refill, a lure count you can trust when the title and a bullet disagree, and a reason to ignore 180 square metres or half an acre. Prices for the twelve saved listings sit on the [box tree moth trap comparison](/hub/pest-control/box-tree-moth-trap). Products Compared used those listings on 21 October 2026. We did not run a garden trial. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.
You have webbing in a box hedge, or a pot of Buxus stripped last summer, and amazon.co.uk is offering traps and foil sachets. This box tree moth trap buying guide is the buy, not the hanging steps and not a star ranking.
You have webbing in a box hedge, or a pot of Buxus stripped last summer, and amazon.co.uk is offering traps and foil sachets. This box tree moth trap buying guide is the buy, not the hanging steps and not a star ranking. You need a body or a refill, a lure count you can trust when the title and a bullet disagree, and a reason to ignore 180 square metres or half an acre. Prices for the twelve saved listings sit on the box tree moth trap comparison. Products Compared used those listings on 21 October 2026. We did not run a garden trial. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | What is in the box | Lures the listing agrees on | Stated lure life | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Vitax Vitax Buxus moth trap refill | Lure refill, no body | 2 | Not stated | 6.9 | about £10.99 | View offer |
IPM Direct IPM Direct box tree moth trap | Trap kit, clear casing | 3 or 4 | 4–6 weeks | 8.2 | about £18.99 | View offer | |
| Best value | SWISSINNO SWISSINNO box tree moth trap | Trap kit, clear container | Not stated | Not stated | 5.3 | about £15.37 | View offer |
On this page
Trap kit or refill pack
Lure count and stated weeks
Coverage claims
What to leave on the shelf
Common questions
Do I buy a trap or only the pheromone refills?
How many lures should be in the box for an April-to-October season?
Does one trap cover 180 square metres or half an acre?
Is a clothes-moth trap the same product?
Why do two IPM Direct listings disagree on pack count?
Is the Agralan “RHS” title an RHS test result?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources used for this comparison. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures captured for these twelve listings. Last checked 20 October 2026.
- RHS, Box tree caterpillar (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- RHS, Box tree moth review (2019 PDF) (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- Defra, Box tree caterpillar factsheet, June 2024 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- Butterfly Conservation, Box moth policy note, April 2024 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- HSE, Pesticides in the garden and home (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- Andermatt UK, How to monitor box tree caterpillar (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- Dragonfli, Box tree moth trap lure PDF (retrieved 20 October 2026)


