Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Zerodeko 30 plain poles, about 27 cm Best value: Aomig jelly LED sticks, 40 cm – About £6.59 for four 40 cm LED sticks with a hook, at the lower Aomig price, with a shared star line. Updated October 2026.
A lantern stick is the pole you carry a paper or tissue lantern on, for a night walk rather than a patio table. In the UK, people buy them or walks, Christmas processions, and school crafts.
Judge a parade stick by the stated length, a hook that holds the lantern you actually have, whether an LED is included, and how the batteries are fitted. Lit sticks are about 39 to 40 cm. Plain poles are about 26 to 27 cm. A rule of thumb, not a standard: under 30 cm will not hold a lantern clear of a walking child's legs.
Length, cells, and the missing lantern are set out in the [lantern stick buying guide](/hub/outdoor-fire-pits/lantern-stick/sub/lantern-stick-buying-guide).
In the UK that is usually a night walk: or, a Christmas procession, or a school craft. It is not a patio fire, and it is not a sky lantern you release.
A lantern stick is the pole you carry a paper or tissue lantern on, for a night walk rather than a patio table. In the UK, people buy them or walks, Christmas processions, and school crafts.
A lantern stick is the pole you carry a paper or tissue lantern on, for a night walk rather than a patio table. In the UK, people buy them or walks, Christmas processions, and school crafts.
Judge a parade stick by the stated length, a hook that holds the lantern you actually have, whether an LED is included, and how the batteries are fitted. Lit sticks are about 39 to 40 cm. Plain poles are about 26 to 27 cm. A rule of thumb, not a standard: under 30 cm will not hold a lantern clear of a walking child's legs.
Length, cells, and the missing lantern are set out in the [lantern stick buying guide](/hub/outdoor-fire-pits/lantern-stick/sub/lantern-stick-buying-guide).
In the UK that is usually a night walk: or, a Christmas procession, or a school craft. It is not a patio fire, and it is not a sky lantern you release.
A lantern stick is the pole you carry a paper or tissue lantern on, for a night walk rather than a patio table. In the UK, people buy them or walks, Christmas processions, and school crafts. Judge a parade stick by the stated length, a hook that holds the lantern you actually have, whether an LED is included, and how the batteries are fitted. Lit sticks are about 39 to 40 cm. Plain poles are about 26 to 27 cm. A rule of thumb, not a standard: under 30 cm will not hold a lantern clear of a walking child's legs.
Zerodeko is a pack of 30 wood and ABS poles at £7.99, about 27 cm on the highlight and 26.5 × 2.7 × 1.3 cm on the dimension line, with hooks and no light. The only review is from Sue A. in the UK on 19 August 2026, who had not used them and wrote that they look suitable for lightweight lanterns. A 5.0 from one unused review is a thin basis for a night walk. Under 30 cm is a rule of thumb in this comparison for a pole that will not hold a lantern clear of a walking child's legs, and this length sits in that band. There are no batteries to buy or lose, which is the point if you are handing out craft handles. Use the hooks for a light lantern on a table or a short classroom job. Leave the pack at home if the child is walking a route.
Pros
30 poles at £7.99
Hooks stated
No batteries to lose
Cons
About 27 cm, short for a walking lantern
No light
One review, and it was written before use
Best for: A class or craft table that needs many short hooked handles and a separate light plan.
Less suitable: A night walk where the lantern has to sit clear of a child's legs, or anyone who needs an LED in the stick.
The Aomig red and blue set is four plastic sticks listed at 40 cm, each with a hook and a warm white LED, at £6.89 on amazon.co.uk. This is the only colour in the set whose first-available date, 5 August 2024, can sit beside the 2024 review dates on a listing line of 4.5 from 60. Three of the 25 review texts are from the UK: one wanted more brightness, one was annoyed the lantern was missing, and one called the sticks cheap plastic with exposed wires and did not want them around small children. Another review says a stick broke when dropped, and one buyer wanted about 50 cm. The bullets ask for two AA cells per stick, which are not in the box, while a technical line says batteries are not required, so buy eight cells and follow the AA instruction. It is the top pick here for a children's night walk when you already have a separate paper lantern. A large willow lantern still needs a cane or a frame, which this party hook is not.
Pros
40 cm with a stated hook
4.5 from 60 on the listing line
First available 5 Aug 2024, so 2024 reviews can belong here
AA cells, not button cells
Cons
Lantern and AA cells are extra
UK review describes exposed wires
Brightness is disputed in the sample
One review says a stick broke when dropped
Best for: A children's night walk when you already have a paper lantern and can buy eight AA cells the day before.
Less suitable: You need batteries in the box, a stated 50 cm pole, or a stick the UK sample does not describe as having exposed wires.
No. The bullets say the package is four carrying poles, and that the lantern is not included.
Which batteries does the listing ask for?
Two AA cells at 1.5 V per stick, and they are not in the box. The technical line also says batteries are not required, which conflicts with those bullets.
What did UK reviews say?
One wanted more brightness. One was annoyed the lantern was missing. One called the sticks cheap plastic with exposed wires and did not want them around small children.
The jelly Aomig pack lists the same 40 cm plastic sticks, hook, and warm white LED as the red and blue set, at £6.59 for four. The amazon.co.uk line prints 4.5 from 60, and the review texts match the older colour, including a UK review dated 11 October 2024. This ASIN's first-available line is 11 August 2025, so those 2024 texts are not a separate test of the jelly sticks. You still need a paper lantern and two AA cells per stick, and neither is in the box. The same UK review that mentions exposed wires appears in this copied sample. It is the best value in the set when jelly colour is what you want and the shelf price stays at £6.59, with the limit that the star line is shared. Choose the red and blue listing if you need reviews that can belong to the ASIN you click.
Pros
£6.59 for four 40 cm LED sticks
Hook stated
AA cells rather than button cells
Cons
Review text is shared with the older Aomig ASIN
Lantern and batteries not included
Same exposed-wire complaint appears in the copied UK review
Best for: Four 40 cm LED sticks at the lower Aomig price when jelly colour is the point and you will re-check the live listing.
Less suitable: You need a review sample written after this ASIN existed, or batteries and a lantern in the same box.
How is this different from the red and blue Aomig set?
The listing gives jelly colour, model 5165181, £6.59, and a package weight of 110 g. Length, hook, and two AA cells match the red and blue listing.
Are the 60 reviews only about this colour?
The listing prints 4.5 from 60, but the review texts match the red and blue listing, including a UK review dated 11 Oct 2024. This ASIN's first-available line is 11 Aug 2025.
The flag-colour Aomig pack is model 5165190, four 40 cm plastic LED sticks at £6.59, with a stated hook and two AA cells left out of the box. The listing repeats 4.5 from 60 and the same review texts as the red and blue listing, while first available is 11 August 2025. That makes the star line a copy, not a third result beside the jelly pack at the same price. The bullets claim the LED does not generate too much heat in long use, and there is no temperature measurement to check that claim. Package weight is listed at 150 g, against 110 g on the jelly listing and 140 g on the red and blue listing. Buy it when flag colours are the only difference you care about and you accept the shared review line. Leave it if you wanted a separate test or a lantern in the parcel.
Pros
£6.59 and 40 cm
Hook stated
AA cells rather than button cells
Cons
Shared review sample, not a separate 60-review test
Lantern not included
Copied UK review mentions exposed wires
Best for: A flag-colour four-pack at £6.59 when you already accept the shared Aomig review line.
Less suitable: You need reviews that belong only to this colour, or a measured claim about heat.
Silkwish lists four wooden sticks at 39 cm, model LGSK-1327, with a round hook and a warm yellow LED head the listing says plugs in from below, at £14.84. Three button batteries per stick are already inserted: you remove an insulation film and press the switch. The listing does not say how the battery door closes, and it has no star line and no reviews, so there is no UK buyer text to check the fit. First available is 24 August 2026, and the package line is 70 g. It is the highest price in this comparison. GOV.UK guidance on button cells wants a compartment a child cannot open, and this listing does not show that, so it is a poor hand-over for a toddler even though the cells are fitted. It suits a 39 cm wooden look when an adult will keep the stick and the door stays shut.
Pros
39 cm wood with a round hook
Button cells already fitted
Flat LED head that the listing says plugs in from below
Cons
No star line and no reviews
Button cells, and the door is not described
£14.84, the highest price in this set
Best for: An adult-supervised 39 cm wooden stick when you want cells already fitted and can check the door yourself.
Less suitable: A toddler, anyone who needs amazon.co.uk reviews, or a buyer who wants the cheaper 40 cm AA stick.
ANCLLO is four children's LED sticks at £3.99, model CP023129, first available 6 December 2023, with no reviews on the listing. The listing does not state a length or a hook. The parcel is 23.2 × 9.3 × 2.4 cm, which is shorter than the 40 cm Aomig sticks and is not a substitute for a stated pole length. The bullet says insert 2A batteries, not included, without spelling out AA or a button cell, and the weight lines disagree at 26 g and 60 g. A flower-shaped switch and a transparent rod are named, and the listing mentions St Martin's parades. At this price you are buying an unnamed length. Skip it when the walk needs a stated 40 cm stick and a stated hook.
Pros
£3.99 for four LED sticks
Switch and a short-circuit claim are stated
Listing names St Martin's parades
Cons
Length not stated
No reviews
Battery size is written as 2A
Hook not stated
Bullet weight 26 g versus item weight 60 g
Best for: A spare lit stick at £3.99 when you can measure the pole on arrival and you do not need a stated hook.
Less suitable: A named night where length and hook have to be known before you order.
WRITWAA is 100 bamboo poles at £8.39, each listed at 26.5 cm long and 0.6 cm thick, with a pack weight of 615 g. There is no LED, no battery, and no stated hook, and the listing has no reviews. The listing calls them grip handles for handmade paper lanterns and claims a smooth surface. At 26.5 cm they sit with the short craft poles in this comparison, alongside the 39 to 40 cm walk sticks only as a different job. A hundred poles is a lot of handles for a school making session if you will add your own light and your own fixing. They are the wrong buy for a procession, because nothing in the listing holds a shop lantern clear of the legs or lights it.
Pros
100 poles at £8.39
Smooth surface claimed
No batteries
Cons
26.5 cm
No hook stated
No light
No reviews
Best for: A classroom making a lot of small lanterns, when the light and the fixing are a separate plan.
Less suitable: A walking parade, or any job that needs a hook and an LED in the same stick.
No. The listing is 100 bamboo poles for paper-lantern making, with no LED and no batteries.
How long is each pole?
26.5 cm, also written as 10.4 inches, and 0.6 cm thick.
Is a hook included?
The listing does not state a hook. It calls them grip handles for handmade lanterns.
How we compared
Seven amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the stored listing facts, not from a laboratory test. Stars are the amazon.co.uk rating divided by 5, then times 50. A missing star line scores 0. Review volume scores 6 for 1 to 9 reviews and 22 for 50 or more, and 0 if the line is missing. Twelve points come off when the printed review sample includes dates before that ASIN's first-available line. A stated length of at least 35 cm adds 6, a stated hook adds 5, and cells already fitted add 5. The score is capped at 100. The top pick is the highest score whose 2024 reviews can belong to the ASIN. The best value is one £6.59 four-pack of 40 cm LED sticks. The flag variant is the same shelf price and is not badged again.
1
Star line
50%
amazon.co.uk stars divided by 5, then times 50, to a maximum of 50. A missing star line scores 0 on this part.
2
Review volume
22%
6 points for 1 to 9 reviews, and 22 for 50 or more. A missing review line scores 0.
3
Length and hook
11%
6 points when the stated length is at least 35 cm, and 5 when a hook is stated. Under 30 cm is a short craft handle in this set.
4
Cells already fitted
5%
5 points when the cells are already in the stick. AA cells left out of the box do not get this point.
5
Reviews belong to this ASIN
12%
12 points come off when the printed review sample includes dates before that ASIN's first-available line. A copied 4.5 from 60 is not a separate trial.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Lantern stick buying guide
Start with the job and the stated length, then with whether the lantern, the LED, the cells, and the hook are actually in the listing. The star line comes after that, and only if the review dates can belong to the ASIN you click.
What is a lantern stick?
A lantern stick is the pole you carry a paper or tissue lantern on. In the UK that is usually a night walk: St Martin's or Martinmas, Halloween, a Christmas procession, or a school craft. It is not a patio fire, and it is not a sky lantern you release. The seven amazon.co.uk listings here mix two jobs. Lit sticks are about 39 to 40 cm. Plain poles are about 26 to 27 cm. None of them includes the paper lantern.
Length comes first.
Best for
A children's night walk when you already have a paper lantern and can buy AA cells the day before
A classroom that needs many short handles and a separate light plan
An adult who wants a 39 cm wooden stick with cells already fitted and will check the door
Not ideal for
A toddler, or anyone handing over a button-cell stick when the door is not described
A walking route that uses a pole under 30 cm, or a candle in a paper lantern
A willow parade lantern that needs a cane or a frame rather than a party hook
Mistakes to avoid
1
Trusting the photo
Aomig's bullets say the lantern is not included. UK reviews say the photos showed one anyway. Buy the paper lantern as a second purchase.
2
Forgetting the AA cells
Each Aomig stick asks for two AA cells, and they are not in the box. A four-pack needs eight cells. Follow that bullet, not the technical line that says batteries are not required.
3
A short pole, a candle, or a button cell for a toddler
About 26 to 27 cm will not hold a lantern clear of a walking child's legs. A real candle is the naked flame fire services warn about. A pre-fitted button cell is a poor hand-over when the door is not described.
What to weigh up
Job and stated length
High
The first decision is the job, because a 40 cm LED stick and a 26 cm bamboo pole are not the same tool. About 40 cm is the children's LED stick in this set. Aomig states 40 cm. Silkwish states 39 cm. About 26 to 27 cm is a short craft handle: Zerodeko is about 27 cm on the highlight and 26.5 × 2.7 × 1.3 cm on the dimension line, and WRITWAA is 26.5 cm long and 0.6 cm thick. ANCLLO states no length.
Light, hook, cells, and the star line
High
After length, check the lantern, the light, the hook, and whether the star line belongs to the ASIN. Every kept listing is a stick only. Aomig's bullets say the lantern is not included. UK reviews say the photos showed one anyway.
Aomig and ANCLLO are warm LEDs. Aomig wants two AA cells per stick, not included, so eight cells for four sticks. The technical line that says batteries are not required conflicts with the bullets.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🌙
Parents before a named night
You need a stick in the 40 cm class, a paper lantern as a second purchase, and the cells sorted the day before. The Aomig red and blue set is four 40 cm LED sticks at about £6.89, with a hook, and 4.5 from 60 that can sit beside 2024 review dates. Buy eight AA cells. They are not in the box.
A class needs many short hooked handles and a separate light plan. Zerodeko is 30 wood and ABS poles at about £7.99, about 27 cm, with hooks and no light. The only review had not used them. Leave this pack at home if the child is walking a route.
You want four 40 cm LED sticks with a hook, and jelly colour is the point. The jelly Aomig pack is about £6.59. The 4.5 from 60 line is shared with the older colour, and this ASIN was first available on 11 August 2025. Re-check the live listing before you treat those stars as a test of the jelly sticks.
How long should a lantern stick be for a night walk?
Lit sticks in this set are about 39 to 40 cm: Aomig states 40 cm and Silkwish states 39 cm. Plain poles are about 26 to 27 cm, on Zerodeko and WRITWAA. ANCLLO states no length; the parcel is 23.2 cm long, which is not a pole length. A rule of thumb, not a British Standard: under 30 cm will not hold a lantern clear of a walking child's legs. One Aomig review wanted about 50 cm.
Is the paper lantern included?
No. Every listing kept for this comparison is a stick or a pole only. Aomig's bullets say the lantern is not included, and UK reviews say the photos showed one anyway. Silkwish, Zerodeko, ANCLLO, and WRITWAA also leave the lantern out of the box. Buy the paper or tissue lantern as a second purchase, and check that a hook is stated before you rely on it to hang a shop lantern.
Which batteries do these sticks need?
Aomig asks for two AA cells per stick, not in the box, so a four-pack needs eight AA cells. A technical line says batteries are not required, which conflicts with those bullets: follow the AA instruction. ANCLLO says insert 2A batteries, not included, without naming AA or a button cell. Silkwish has three button cells already fitted. Zerodeko and WRITWAA have no light. Fitting the cells and testing the hook is in how to use a lantern stick.
Why do three Aomig colours show 4.5 from 60?
The red and blue ASIN was first available on 5 August 2024, so 2024 review dates can belong to it. The listing line is 4.5 from 60. The jelly and flag ASINs print the same line, and the review texts match the older colour, including a UK review dated 11 October 2024. Those two ASINs were first available on 11 August 2025. Treat the stars as a shared line, not as three separate trials of three colours.
Are button-cell sticks suitable for a toddler?
Silkwish fits three button cells per stick and does not describe how the door closes. GOV.UK wants button cells in a compartment a child cannot open, and this listing does not show that, so it is a poor hand-over for a toddler even though the cells are fitted. The Child Accident Prevention Trust treats a swallowed cell as A&E or 999: no food, no drink, and do not make the child sick. No listing here shows a toy-standard number.
Can a child carry a candle, or release a sky lantern?
Royal Berkshire Fire and Rescue Service says small children should not carry a naked-flame lantern, prefers LED candles, and does not recommend sky lanterns. The National Fire Chiefs Council also says not to release sky lanterns. An LED removes that naked flame. It does not make paper non-combustible, and it is not a claim that the stick cannot hurt someone. A carried paper lantern is a different product from a fire bowl on a patio.
What should you sort the day before a named night?
You need a stick in the 40 cm class, a separate lantern, and the cells. The red and blue Aomig set is the top pick when the 2024 reviews have to belong to the ASIN you click. The jelly pack is the lower shelf price, about £6.59, with a shared star line. Do not use a 26 cm pole for the walk, do not add a real candle, and do not hand a pre-fitted button-cell stick to a toddler.
Our verdict
In this set of seven amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick for a children's night walk is the Aomig red and blue four-pack at about £6.89. It is 40 cm, with a hook and a warm white LED, and it is the only colour whose 4.5 from 60 can sit beside 2024 review dates. The best value is the jelly Aomig four-pack at about £6.59 when jelly colour is what you want, with the limit that the star line is shared and the ASIN was first available on 11 August 2025. The flag pack is the same price and is not a third result. Short plain poles, about 26 to 27 cm, are craft handles. None of these listings includes the paper lantern, and none was laboratory tested.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to lantern sticks
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources from the research digest, plus the amazon.co.uk listing facts in the display file. Shelf prices and star lines are those stored UK figures. No stick here is treated as certified or laboratory tested.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the stored amazon.co.uk listing figures. We did not lab-test these lantern sticks.