Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Larnmern safety shoes buying guide

Updated: 21 October 2026

You are about to order a pair because an amazon.co.uk title says steel toe, waterproof, or puncture proof. A Larnmern safety shoes buying guide has to start with the class your workplace already named, because those title words are not S1, S1P, or S3. Shelf prices on 19 October 2026 run from £30.59 to £51.84, and only one kept listing prints S1. The [main comparison](/hub/occupational-safety/larnmern-safety-shoes) is the nine-listing shortlist. This page is the order of checks, and the point where you leave the brand if the paper asks for something the title does not state. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Peter F. checked the listings and public UK guidance. We did not lab-test the shoes.

You are about to order a pair because an amazon.co.uk title says steel toe, waterproof, or puncture proof.

Our top picks

On this page

What the workplace has to match

The Health and Safety Executive’s PPE overview says suitable safety footwear is provided when the risk assessment still needs it. The 2022 regulations extend that free provision to limb (b) workers, and section 9 of the Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974 stops an employer charging you for PPE used only at work. That duty sits with the employer. It is not a reason for a self-employed buyer to assume a marketplace title is a certified pair, and it is not a voucher for any trainer in this set. If you are an employee, ask which code the assessment names before you spend your own money. A warehouse induction that says “safety trainers, S1P” is asking for a penetration-resistant midsole on top of the basic safety shoe. A £33.99 steel-toe title that does not print S1P does not meet that sentence, however comfortable the reviews sound. The same gap appears if the induction says S3 and you are looking at a mesh trainer. Star ratings on amazon.co.uk describe comfort and failures that buyers chose to write about. They are not the assessment.

What S1, S1P, and S3 add

BS EN ISO 20345:2022+A1:2024 is the current British safety-footwear standard. Notice 0142/26 of 15 October 2026 designates EN ISO 20345:2022 and amendment A1:2024 for the PPE Regulation as it has effect in UK law. The toecap in that family of footwear is tested to at least 200 joules and 15 kilonewtons. S1 adds a closed heel, antistatic behaviour, and energy absorption in the heel. S1P adds penetration resistance. S3 adds an upper water test and a cleated outsole. The standard does not cover chainsaw, firefighter, or electrically insulating footwear, so a forestry browse node on one boot in this set is not a chainsaw rating. An upper water test is not a promise that the whole shoe is waterproof. Honeywell’s 2022 user information treats the WPA mark as water penetration and absorption of the upper, which is not the same as a fully waterproof shoe. If the extra letters are missing from the marking, those extra risks are not what that marking covers. In this set, the only title that prints a class is the LARNMERN PRO shoe at £44.99, and it prints S1, not S1P or S3. The fuller code table is on the S1 or S3 safety shoes page.

What these Larnmern titles do and do not say

Read the words on that listing, then stop. The £33.99 trainers (4.3 from 4,682 reviews) and the £38.99 trainers (4.1 from 2,052) say steel toe for men and women, and this comparison’s file has no class code. The £32.99 pair says puncture proof and has 4.1 from 6,296 reviews. That phrase is not an S1P mark, and the file has no P, PL, or PS code. Two men’s titles, at £33.99 and £38.61, say waterproof. Reviews on both include dry feet and wet feet, so the title and the wearers do not agree. The women’s shoe at £30.59 does not say steel toe, the £39.99 wide-toe pair states no class, and the £51.84 boot title does not state S3. No listing in this comparison shows a UKCA mark or a certificate number. Do not treat a star rating as that certificate. A 4.3 from 4,682 reviews and a 4.3 from 11 reviews are comfort samples of very different sizes. If your paper says S3, nails underfoot, or all-day wet ground, leave this set. A Caterpillar Elmore described as an S1P trainer was about £85 to £96 including VAT on UK workwear shops on 19 October 2026, with one trade price at £61.99 excluding VAT. That is context for what a printed S1P trainer costs, not a row in this comparison. Who each kept listing is for sits on the best Larnmern safety shoes page.

Price and what you are accepting

Entry prices in this file sit around £31 to £34: the women’s shoe, the puncture-proof title, and two steel-toe trainers. The mid band, about £39 to £45, holds the £38.99 steel-toe pair, the £38.61 waterproof title, the wide-toe shoe, and the S1 PRO pair at £44.99. The top of the set is the PRO boot at £51.84. A lower price buys a lighter set of stated claims, not a hidden certificate. Reviewers on the cheaper trainers report soles worn through or split in weeks to about nine months, grit in the tread, and wet feet on waterproof titles. Fit still comes before the basket. Reviews on the same listing say true to size, size up, and size down, and a steel toe does not stretch to forgive contact. The S1 title quotes UK 3 to 13. The women’s title quotes UK 2.5 to 8.5. Other size spans are not stated. Check the order as class, then the words on the listing, then your UK size against the toe cap, then sole-life comments, then price against review count. If the class is unclear, ask the person who wrote the PPE list. See a clinician for foot disease or pain that a size change does not fix.

Common questions

What should I check before I buy Larnmern safety shoes?
Check the class the workplace named, then the words on that amazon.co.uk listing, then fit, then what reviewers say about the sole, then the price against the review count. In this set only the £44.99 PRO shoe prints S1. Steel toe, waterproof, and puncture proof are title phrases, and the listings do not show a UKCA mark or a certificate number. A 4.3 from thousands of reviews is a comfort sample. It does not replace the code on the shoe.
Is steel toe the same as S1 or S3?
No. A steel-toe line means the title mentions a toe cap. S1, under EN ISO 20345, adds a closed heel, antistatic behaviour, and heel energy absorption on top of the basic safety toecap. S3 adds penetration resistance, an upper water test, and a cleated outsole. Several listings here say steel toe and print no class at all. If the induction says S3, a steel-toe trainer title is the wrong match.
Who pays if work requires safety footwear?
When the assessment still needs safety footwear, HSE guidance says the employer provides it, including for limb (b) workers, and section 9 of the Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974 stops a charge for PPE used only at work. That is an employer duty, not a discount code. It does not tell a self-employed buyer which amazon.co.uk title is suitable. If you are employed, ask for the pair the assessment names before you buy your own.
Does a waterproof title mean the shoe is WR?
No. WR is a whole-shoe water claim in the safety-footwear marking system. WPA is an upper test, and even that letter is not printed on these titles. Two men’s listings say waterproof, at £33.99 and £38.61, and reviews on both report dry feet and wet feet. One £38.61 review describes a sole worn through in six days. Treat the word as a claim to test on your floor, not as a standard mark.
Does puncture proof mean a tested midsole?
Not in this file. The £32.99 title says puncture proof and a steel toe, with 4.1 from 6,296 reviews, and the listing file has no S1P, P, PL, or PS code. Penetration resistance in the 2022 marking is a stated test, often quoted at 1,100 newtons for a non-metal insert, and it has to be on the marking. A title phrase does not show that test. If nails are the hazard, leave the unmarked trainer.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 19 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures in the display file. The price bands are this set, not a market average.

  1. HSE: PPE overview (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. HSE: PPE regulations 2022 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. HSE: INDG225, slips and footwear supplied as PPE (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. HSE: L25, foot hazards and inspection (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. BSI: BS EN ISO 20345:2022+A1:2024 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. GOV.UK: designated standards notice 0142/26 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Honeywell: 2022 user information on P, PL, PS, WPA and WR (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Ironstep: safety ratings guide (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  9. amazon.co.uk listing B0CCDHVVJ1 (retrieved 19 October 2026)