Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Electric or central heating towel rail

Updated: October 2026

You searched for an electric towel rail and the basket is full of chrome ladders with pipe tails. That mix is how a water rail arrives when you wanted heat in July. This page separates an electric or central heating towel rail inside the twelve amazon.co.uk listings on the [towel radiator comparison](/hub/heating/towel-radiator). Eleven are water-fed. One is the 80 W Manissa Siena. The NRG's dual-fuel highlight is not a third machine. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You searched for an electric towel rail and the basket is full of chrome ladders with pipe tails. That mix is how a water rail arrives when you wanted heat in July.

Our top picks

On this page

A water rail heats with the circuit

A central-heating towel rail in this set warms up when the boiler circuit does. The Greened House ladders state 1/2 inch BSP connections. The Richmond panels state 15 mm as well as 1/2 inch. Output is printed as BTU, and on most ladders as watts too, without a delta T except on the Nola. On the chrome 500 x 600 mm, some reviewers expected a wired heater and found a water rail. If your pipes are already 15 mm and you want winter heat, choose the water-fed row whose pipe centres match, then buy valves. Centres, deltas, and that valve bill are the sequence on the heated towel rail buying guide. A line that says CE and EN 442 is a claim about the hydronic test method. It does not place the rail in a bathroom electrical zone.

The Siena heats from an 80 W element

The Manissa Siena, model ECO1, is the dry electric rail: 400 x 720 mm, 201 stainless steel, 80 W, £69.00, with 4.4 from 539 reviews. There are no pipe centres because there is no water connection. The listing says hard-wired to a 3 amp fused spur, with a 1 m cord, an IPX4 claim, and a seller's bathroom zone 2 claim. UK reviews say the rail warms towels and takes the chill off a small room. One review fitted a 13 A plug. The listing does not say to do that. SELECT's public bathroom note allows a towel rail of at least IPX4 in zone 1 when it is fixed, permanently connected, and the manufacturer allows it. A standard fused spur stays outside zones 0, 1, and 2. In England, a new or altered bathroom circuit is the Approved Document P question. The fitting stop is on how to fit a heated towel rail.

Dual fuel is a third machine this set does not prove

Dual fuel means a water rail that can also run an electric element, one mode at a time, with the valves shut before the element is used. You would expect an element wattage, a T-piece, and a clear electrical specification. None of the water rails here prints that set of parts. The NRG, 700 x 400 mm at £36.99, uses the words dual fuel and does not state an element, a T-piece, or an IP rating, and it prints no BTU. Treat the highlight as a label.

An added element is not the kit

One review of the 300 x 800 mm chrome rail says an electric element was added later. The listing prints 570 BTU / 167 W and no element. That review is not a method. If you need both winter circuit heat and summer electric heat, this set does not contain the kit. The short chrome and black rails are water-fed. The Siena is the pipe-free option at 400 mm wide. Which reviewers put one in a small room is the heated towel rail for a small bathroom page.

Common questions

When is a water rail the right machine?
When the central-heating pipes are there and you want heat during the heating season. Match the printed pipe centres, budget valves, and read the BTU with its delta if one is printed. In this set only the Nola states delta T60. The other water rails still heat from the circuit. They do not heat in summer with the boiler off.
When is the Siena the right machine?
When you want towels warm with the boiler off, and you accept 80 W. It is 400 x 720 mm, £69.00, with 4.4 from 539 reviews, a manual timer, and a hard-wired 3 A spur on the listing. It suits a small room. It does not replace a panel radiator.
Will 80 W replace a panel radiator?
No. The Siena listing prints 80 W. UK reviews say it warms towels and takes the edge off a small room, and they say it is not room heating in the radiator sense. A water rail's printed watts, where the listing gives them, are a different scale and still depend on the boiler.
What is dual fuel, and why is the NRG not that kit?
Dual fuel is a water rail plus an electric element, run one at a time, with the valves closed in electric mode. The NRG highlight uses the words and does not state an element, a T-piece, or an IP rating, and it prints no output. The words are not the kit.
Does EN 442 make a water rail safe in a bathroom zone?
No. EN 442 on these listings is a claim about how a hydronic radiator is tested. It is not an IP rating. The Siena is the row that states IPX4. Its zone 2 line is the seller's sentence. Electrical zones are a separate question from the radiator test.
Where does the fused spur go?
Outside bathroom zones 0, 1, and 2, on the Siena's stated 3 amp spur. The rail's IPX4 claim is what the listing offers for the heater, and zone 2 is the seller's claim. In England, creating or altering that circuit is an electrician's job under Approved Document P.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison. Page updated October 2026.

  1. Approved Document P (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. Building Regulations amendment 2012, regulation 6 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK: building work, replacements and repairs (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. MARC on BS EN 442 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. BSI, BS EN 442-2:2014 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. SELECT bathroom zones guide (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. Stelrad: the importance of delta T (retrieved 16 October 2026)