Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Infrared heater bathroom

Updated: October 2026

A listing that says bathroom is a room name in a bullet, not a zone. It does not state zone 0, zone 1 or zone 2, and it does not say who may connect the cable. This page matches an IP mark to those zones for the twelve listings in the [Steinfeld infrared heater comparison](/hub/heating/steinfeld-infrared-heater), then stops at the electrician. A glowing bar stays on the [infrared panel versus patio heater](/hub/heating/steinfeld-infrared-heater/sub/steinfeld-infrared-heater-panel-vs-patio) page. The Products Compared editorial team checked the files on 15 October 2026. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.

A listing that says bathroom is a room name in a bullet, not a zone. It does not state zone 0, zone 1 or zone 2, and it does not say who may connect the cable.

Our top picks

Devola Devola DVPH2000B

Best overall

Devola Devola DVPH2000B
8.8/10about £109.99
On this page

What the listing word bathroom does not prove

A room list is not a zone. The Könighaus 600 W mentions a bathroom, prints no IP rating, is wall only, and has no thermostat in the box. One Devola reviewer mentions a bathroom install. That sentence does not assign an IP mark or a zone. IP44 is claimed on the Könighaus 450 W, the Könighaus 800 W and the INGRIKT 50 W, and none of those three names a zone. A patio bar that states IP65 remains an outdoor listing.

Zones and the IP number that matches them

Herschel’s splash FAQ puts zone 0 inside the bath or shower and talks about IP67 and low voltage there. Zone 1 in that FAQ runs up to 2.25 m. Zone 2 is the 60 cm band, where the FAQ discusses IP44 as a minimum. IP44 does not clear the inside of the bath. Infrared Heaters Direct and Heatingpoint say zones 1 and 2 need at least IPX4, fixed and wired by an electrician. IP44 and IPX4 are different strings. The special location in SI 2012/3119 is the 0.6 m and 2.25 m space around a bath or shower.
Devola Devola DVPH2000B

Testsieger

Devola Devola DVPH2000B
8.8/10about £109.99

What these twelve listings actually print

Three listings claim IP44 and name no zone: the Könighaus 450 W at £99.90, the Könighaus 800 W at £169.90, and the INGRIKT 50 W at £39.99. The 800 W bullets still contain a stray 450 W sentence, so you read the plate. The INGRIKT is sold for damp walls. One reviewer measured about 78°C on the surface and about a 3°C rise in a mouldy corner, which is not room heat over a bath. On the Devola DVPH2000B the bullets say IP65 and the table says IP24, while the title says 2,000 W and the table says 1,200 W. The DVPH2400B title says 2,400 W and IP65, and the table says 1,200 W.

Plug, spur, and Part P

In England, Electrical Safety First describes notifiable work as a new circuit, a consumer-unit change, or an addition in the special location around a bath or shower. Approved Document P covers that work in dwellings, and a competent person can self-certify it. NICEIC tells householders to use a registered electrician for bathroom electrical work. Infrared Heaters Direct allows a 13 A socket for a plug-in panel in a general room, and that note stops at the special location. After connection, aim and first use are on the how to use an infrared heater page.

Common questions

Is IP44 enough for a bathroom?
IP44 is the minimum Herschel’s FAQ discusses for zone 2, the 60 cm band. The same FAQ talks about IP67 and low voltage for zone 0, inside the bath, so IP44 does not clear that space. Retailer guides say zones 1 and 2 need at least IPX4 and an electrician’s fixed wiring. The Könighaus 450 W, Könighaus 800 W and INGRIKT 50 W claim IP44 and name no zone. The code alone does not choose the wall.
The Devola says IP65 and IP24. Which do I believe?
Read the plate on the unit, and wait until it agrees with the page. On the DVPH2000B the bullets say IP65 and the table says IP24. The title says 2,000 W and the table says 1,200 W. The DVPH2400B title says 2,400 W and IP65 while the table says 1,200 W. A review that mentions a bathroom does not choose between those strings. Mount either heater in a wet room only after you know the mark on the equipment you unpacked.
Can I plug a panel into a bathroom socket?
Heatingpoint, a retailer, says not to plan bathroom heat as a 13 A socket, and says zones 1 and 2 are wired by an electrician. Infrared Heaters Direct allows a 13 A socket for a plug-in panel in a general room. In England, adding to a circuit in the special location around a bath or shower is notifiable. That connection, including a new spur in the 0.6 m and 2.25 m space, is for a registered electrician.
Do I need Building Regulations approval?
In England, yes when the work is a new circuit, a consumer-unit change, or an addition in the special location around a bath or shower. SI 2012/3119 describes that space as 0.6 m and 2.25 m, and Approved Document P is the dwellings document. A competent person can self-certify. Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland do not use that England text as their own. NICEIC’s household advice is a registered electrician for bathroom electrical work.
Will the panel stop mould?
The INGRIKT 50 W is sold for damp walls, at £39.99, with IP44 claimed. One reviewer recorded about a 3°C rise in a mouldy corner and about 78°C on the surface. A warmer patch can change where moisture condenses. It does not remove mould already there, and it does not replace ventilation or a repair to the damp. At 50 W it is also the wrong object if you wanted the room warm.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison. Listings captured 15 October 2026. Page updated October 2026.

  1. Energy Saving Trust: Infrared heating explained (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. Ofgem: energy price cap, 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK: placing energy-related products on the UK market (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. Approved Document P (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK: use a competent person scheme (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. DESNZ: infrared heating evidence review (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. Herschel: bathroom splash protection (retrieved 15 October 2026)