Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best silicone ear plugs

Updated: 21 October 2026

You want a silicone plug for a snoring partner. The best silicone ear plugs in this amazon.co.uk set are not a single winner. The largest review file, the highest average, and the only bullet that names both SNR and EN 352-2 are three different listings. Which? found, in a May 2023 survey, that 79% of members rated custom plugs very or extremely effective, against 36% for ordinary plugs. Prices are shelf figures dated 19 October 2026. Peter F., editor for DIY & tools, ran no lab test, and a purchase through our links can earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The rows are on the [silicone ear plugs comparison](/hub/hearing-protection/silicone-ear-plugs).

You want a silicone plug for a snoring partner. The best silicone ear plugs in this amazon.co.uk set are not a single winner.

Our top picks

Hush Plugz Hush Plugz, 7 pairs

Best overall

Hush Plugz Hush Plugz, 7 pairs
9.0/10about £4.59
Quiets Quiets, 4 tip sizes

Alternative

Quiets Quiets, 4 tip sizes
9.0/10about £15.95
On this page

What best can mean in this set

Best, on this page, means the listing whose form, review file, and noise line match one job, with a reason to skip it. It does not mean the highest star average. The 42-pair skin-tone Hush Plugz pack is 4.8 from 95 reviews at £14.70, and the spec prints no decibel figure. Putty covers the opening. Tips sit in the canal in sizes. The criteria are on the silicone ear plugs buying guide: putty or tips, then what the decibel line actually is, then whether you may wash the pair. There is no swimming champion here.

For night noise and a large UK review file

Deep Sleeps is eight clear pairs at £11.49, 4.0 from 6,794 reviews, with bullets that say up to 27 dB and up to seven days from a pair. Snoring drops enough to stay asleep once the disc is warmed and flattened. The discs are very large, and noise is described as average rather than silence. If you can shape a big disc, Deep Sleeps is the night putty to start with. It does not state an SNR under EN 352-2, and the title, the piece count, and the unit count do not agree. The seven-pair Hush pack is the best value starter, and its page shows both 20–30 dB and 20 dB.
Hush Plugz Hush Plugz, 7 pairs

Testsieger

Hush Plugz Hush Plugz, 7 pairs
9.0/10about £4.59

When the listing actually says SNR

Quiets is the only row whose bullets state 23 dB SNR and EN 352-2:2020, with PPE Category III and CE 2754 also claimed, at £15.95 for one black pair. Four tip sets ship with size M already fitted, plus a case. The certificate is not in the file, so this is a listing claim. The line is 4.5 from 33 reviews, and those texts say this is not silence. Thirty-three reviews cannot carry a workplace claim. A 23 dB SNR is a different kind of claim from an up to 27 dB bullet.

Who should skip a listing

Slow down on Alrens until one noise figure is on the page. Three reviews cannot test a 30–50 dB claim. The 42-pair Hush pack is a bulk buy if you do not need a printed decibel, and a weak pick if you came for a rating you can compare. JP London’s 33 dB title does not repair a tip that falls out, and Top Med’s children’s title is the wrong economy buy for an adult ear.

Common questions

Which listing has the most UK reviews for snoring?
Deep Sleeps has the largest amazon.co.uk file in this set, 4.0 from 6,794 reviews, at £11.49 for eight mouldable pairs. The texts are about sleep and side lying, not a workplace test. A bigger file means more written nights. It does not mean a measured drop in bedroom decibels, and it does not mean silence.
Which cheap pack is a mouldable starter without a children’s title?
The seven-pair Hush Plugz pack at £4.59 is the adult mouldable starter, 4.5 from 837 reviews, with a pocket case in the bullets. Knoxzy at £5.99 has more reviews and a 27 dB SNR bullet with no certificate. Top Med’s title says children, so leave it off an adult shortlist. Read 20–30 dB and 20 dB as a conflict, not one rating.
Which plug states an SNR and a standard?
Quiets’ bullets state 23 dB SNR and EN 352-2:2020, plus PPE Category III and CE 2754, at £15.95 with 4.5 from 33 reviews. The certificate is not in the file. Knoxzy says 27 dB SNR without that standard line. No other listing pairs an SNR with EN 352-2. Thirty-three reviews are a small sample for work noise.
Why is a 4.8 not automatically the pick?
The 4.8 belongs to 42 skin-tone Hush pairs at £14.70, from 95 reviews, and that listing has no attenuation field. A higher average on fewer reviews can sit above a 4.0 from 6,794 without telling you more about the seal. One review says the block is too strong for motorcycling. Still ask whether you need a decibel line.
Who should skip JP London despite the 33 dB title?
Skip it if tips that fall out are the failure you have already had. The 33 dB title is a noise reduction rating, not an SNR, and several UK texts say every size comes out within minutes or feels hard after about four hours. The listing is £6.99, 3.7 from 62 reviews. The file is too mixed to treat the title number as the result.
Who should skip Top Med?
Adults should skip it, and so should anyone buying after grommets without the clinic’s leaflet. The title is children’s putty, six pairs at £5.80, with a 22 dB rating and a waterproof claim. Reviews include a pool success and a fragment a doctor could not remove. One parent’s band-and-putty story is not a clearance to swim.
Is there a single best plug for swimming and sleep?
No. Sleep reviews and a waterproof bullet answer different questions. Deep Sleeps does not state a water use. Several Hush packs, Knoxzy, Frienda, Mobi Lock, and Top Med mention water, and none publish a depth test. A snoring plug can still let pool water in. Pick the night file or the water claim.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources named below. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts are from the twelve listings in this comparison. Page updated 21 October 2026.

  1. HSE hearing protection (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK PPE marking (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. BS EN 352-2:2020+A1:2024 preview (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. NHS earwax build-up (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. Royal Devon water precautions (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. NDCS swimming (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Which? sleeping ear plugs (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  9. Just Ears, using ear plugs (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  10. UCLH aural microsuction (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  11. amazon.co.uk listing example, Deep Sleeps (retrieved 21 October 2026)