Spanner buying guide: length, jaw, then the job
You are about to buy a first spanner for a UK flat, a bike, or the boot of a car, and the title says 150 mm. That figure is the handle on a normal adjustable, not the gap that has to fit the nut, and a chrome-vanadium line does not tell you whether the jaw will hold. This spanner buying guide puts those two numbers in order, then matches the type to a job you will actually repeat. The eleven tools and the captured prices are on the [spanner comparison](/hub/hand-tools/spanner). Peter F. compared those amazon.co.uk listings. There was no lab measurement. Prices can change. A purchase through our links may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
You are about to buy a first spanner for a UK flat, a bike, or the boot of a car, and the title says 150 mm.
You are about to buy a first spanner for a UK flat, a bike, or the boot of a car, and the title says 150 mm. That figure is the handle on a normal adjustable, not the gap that has to fit the nut, and a chrome-vanadium line does not tell you whether the jaw will hold. This spanner buying guide puts those two numbers in order, then matches the type to a job you will actually repeat. The eleven tools and the captured prices are on the spanner comparison. Peter F. compared those amazon.co.uk listings. There was no lab measurement. Prices can change. A purchase through our links may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Type | Jaw | Length | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Stanley Stanley MaxSteel 200 mm adjustable | Adjustable | 24 mm listed | 200 mm | 6.9 | about £7.99 | View offer |
Hilka Hilka 11-piece metric combination set | Combination set | 6–19 mm, gaps | Not stated | 7.3 | about £8.68 | View offer | |
| Best value | SOL SOL 6-piece double-ended metric set | Open-ended set | 6–17 mm pairs | Not stated | 6.2 | about £4.79 | View offer |
On this page
Read the length and the jaw as two figures
Pick the type for the job you will repeat
What the steel line and a standard stamp prove
Price bands, then the packet
Common questions
Is 150 mm the jaw or the handle?
Do I need a set or one adjustable?
Does chrome vanadium mean the jaw will not slip?
What sizes should a first metric set include?
Why does a cheap set arrive with two of one size?
When is a tap spanner a different purchase?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK and standards sources listed below, as used in the digest. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures dated 19 October 2026, not a fresh check on 22 October 2026.
- HSE, PUWER overview (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- University of Essex, Using hand tools safely (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- ISO 1711-1:2019, hardness and test torque (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- ISO 3318:2016, maximum head widths (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- RS, adjustable spanners guide (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- RS PRO 541-6573 adjustable wrench (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- GOV.UK trade tariff, heading 8204 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Trading Standards, Consumer Rights Act goods guidance (retrieved 19 October 2026)


