16 oz or 20 oz claw hammer
You are choosing a claw hammer for skirtings and doors, or for longer nails in softwood studs. A 16 oz or 20 oz claw hammer is that choice, with one condition this amazon.co.uk set forces on you: the ounce and the gram row have to describe the same mass. Peter F. updated this on 22 October 2026 from twelve listings snapshotted on 19 October 2026. About 454 g for 16 oz and about 567 g for 20 oz are rules of thumb, not weighed heads. There is no lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Shelf prices stay on the [Claw hammer comparison](/hub/hand-tools/claw-hammer).
You are choosing a claw hammer for skirtings and doors, or for longer nails in softwood studs.
You are choosing a claw hammer for skirtings and doors, or for longer nails in softwood studs. A 16 oz or 20 oz claw hammer is that choice, with one condition this amazon.co.uk set forces on you: the ounce and the gram row have to describe the same mass. Peter F. updated this on 22 October 2026 from twelve listings snapshotted on 19 October 2026. About 454 g for 16 oz and about 567 g for 20 oz are rules of thumb, not weighed heads. There is no lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Shelf prices stay on the Claw hammer comparison.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Head weight | Item weight | Length | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | WORKPRO WORKPRO 16 oz and 8 oz set | 16 oz/720 g, 8 oz/340 g | 720 g | Not stated | 6.3 | about £16.99 | View offer |
| Alternative | HOUSERAN HOUSERAN 500 g claw hammer | 500 g (16 oz); bullet 8 oz | 500 g | Not stated | 6.0 | about £13.99 | View offer |
OX OX Pro 20 oz framing hammer | 20 oz title | 950 g, whole tool | 44.5 cm | 5.3 | about £24.59 | View offer |
On this page
What the two weights are for
When the listing’s grams do not match the ounces
The 20 oz hammer in this set
When 8 oz is the honest choice
Common questions
Should I buy 16 oz or 20 oz for ordinary DIY?
What is 16 oz in grams?
Is the WORKPRO 16 oz/720 g a 16 oz head?
Is there a 20 oz hammer in this amazon set?
When is 8 oz the right hammer instead?
Related pages
Sources
The standard identifier is BS 876:1995, with HSE guidance on work equipment and eye protection, plus a UK retailer hammer guide. Prices, stars, and review counts are amazon.co.uk captures from 19 October 2026, scored on 22 October 2026. They are not a lab test.
- BSI Knowledge: BS 876:1995, specification for hand hammers (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- ANSI webstore: BS 876:1995 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- Intertek Inform: BS 876:1995 contents (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- HSE: PUWER overview (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- HSE L22: Safe use of work equipment (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- HSE: Using the right type of PPE (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- Toolstation: hammer buying guide (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- Sealey: hammer instructions (retrieved 22 October 2026)


