Tabletop grill buying guide
Sunday lunch is indoors, four people are due, and the only extra heat is a socket beside the dining table. A useful tabletop grill buying guide starts with the food you cook, then the space on that table, and only later the wattage on the box. Contact grills, teppanyaki plates and raclette sets are different machines, and the costly mistake is a strong amazon.co.uk listing in the wrong shape. Work through format, size, cleaning, heat control and a proper UK plug before you compare models. The [tabletop grill comparison](/hub/grills-and-barbecues/tabletop-grill) ranks the twelve current listings once those choices are settled. Prices below are this October 2026 capture, so recheck the listing before you pay.
Sunday lunch is indoors, four people are due, and the only extra heat is a socket beside the dining table.
Sunday lunch is indoors, four people are due, and the only extra heat is a socket beside the dining table. A useful tabletop grill buying guide starts with the food you cook, then the space on that table, and only later the wattage on the box. Contact grills, teppanyaki plates and raclette sets are different machines, and the costly mistake is a strong amazon.co.uk listing in the wrong shape. Work through format, size, cleaning, heat control and a proper UK plug before you compare models. The tabletop grill comparison ranks the twelve current listings once those choices are settled. Prices below are this October 2026 capture, so recheck the listing before you pay.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Grill type | Power | UK 3-pin plug | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Tefal Tefal OptiGrill Plus | Contact / clamshell | 2,000 W | Not stated | 9.4 | about £155.55 | View offer |
| Best value | George Foreman George Foreman Medium Fit Grill | Contact / clamshell | 1,630 W | Yes | 9.0 | about £33.99 | View offer |
| Alternative | Quest Quest Large Teppanyaki Grill | Teppanyaki / flat plate | 2,000 W | Not stated | 9.0 | about £28.50 | View offer |
On this page
Pick the format first
Size the plate to the table
Power, control and cleaning
Budget bands on amazon.co.uk
Common questions
Should I choose a contact grill, a teppanyaki or a raclette first?
What plate size works for four people?
Is 2000 W always the better buy?
Do I need removable grill plates?
Can I use a tabletop grill indoors on a UK plug?
When is a sensor OptiGrill worth it?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources on cooking temperatures, barbecue hygiene, electrical safety and portable grill standards, plus UK buyer notes on format. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines saved with this comparison in October 2026.
- Food Standards Agency — Cooking your food (retrieved 23.10.2026)
- Food Standards Agency — BBQ food safety (retrieved 23.10.2026)
- GOV.UK — Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 23.10.2026)
- GOV.UK — UKCA and CE marking in Great Britain (retrieved 23.10.2026)
- IEC 60335-2-9:2019 — Particular requirements for grills and toasters (retrieved 23.10.2026)
- Product Inspector — Raclette, teppanyaki or indoor grill (retrieved 23.10.2026)
- Product Inspector — Teppanyaki grills (retrieved 23.10.2026)
- Evening Standard — Best indoor electric grills (retrieved 23.10.2026)


