Spit roaster buying guide: measure first, then read the load
You already own a gas barbecue or a fire pit, and the page in the basket calls the kit universal. The usual failure is duller than a bad cook: the lid will not close, or the number on the load line is in the wrong unit. This spit roaster buying guide is the check before you pay. It covers cookbox width, pounds and kilograms, and whether the motor is mains, battery, or 5 V. Our [spit roaster comparison](/hub/grills-and-barbecues/spit-roaster) holds the nine amazon.co.uk listings, with raw shelf prices from £59.90 to £215. We did not run a lab cook. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
You already own a gas barbecue or a fire pit, and the page in the basket calls the kit universal. The usual failure is duller than a bad cook: the lid will not close, or the number on the load line is in the wrong unit.
You already own a gas barbecue or a fire pit, and the page in the basket calls the kit universal. The usual failure is duller than a bad cook: the lid will not close, or the number on the load line is in the wrong unit. This spit roaster buying guide is the check before you pay. It covers cookbox width, pounds and kilograms, and whether the motor is mains, battery, or 5 V. Our spit roaster comparison holds the nine amazon.co.uk listings, with raw shelf prices from £59.90 to £215. We did not run a lab cook. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Fit | Claimed load | Power | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | onlyfire onlyfire BRK-6012 114 cm | Cookbox to 99 cm | 40 lb | Mains, voltage not stated | 9.0 | about £64.99 | View offer |
| Best value | onlyfire onlyfire BRK-6031 90 cm | Rod about 90 cm | Not stated | 220–240 V | 8.5 | about £61.99 | View offer |
| Alternative | ZENO ZENO 5078a 5 V kit | Up to 78 cm | Under 5 kg | 5 V or 3 AAA | 7.2 | about £59.90 | View offer |
On this page
Measure the cookbox, not the trolley
Read pounds and kilograms as written
Name the power source
What this price band is not
Common questions
Is 40 lb the same as 40 kg?
Does a 220 V listing include a UK plug?
When is a battery or 5 V motor enough?
Do I have to drill the barbecue?
What is a realistic load for a grill kit versus a freestanding stand?
Related pages
Sources
Listing prices and ratings are from amazon.co.uk files dated 15 October 2026, not a live check. The public sources below cover cooking temperatures, outdoor electrics, and smoke rules.
- Food Standards Agency: Cooking your food (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- GOV.UK: Nuisance smoke (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- GOV.UK: Smoke control area enforcement (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- Electrical Safety First: Garden (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- IET Wiring Matters: BS 7671 regulation 411.3.3 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- GOV.UK: Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- GOV.UK: General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- HSE: Gas safety in catering (CAIS23) (retrieved 15 October 2026)


