Infrared gas barbecue buying guide
You are standing between a portable cartridge grill and a stainless trolley that both say infrared, and the amazon.co.uk titles do not say which machine you are buying. An infrared gas barbecue buying guide names the layout first, then drops any heat or cooking-area figure that contradicts itself on the same page. This set is a full-bed emitter, a tube-burner trolley with a ceramic sear zone, or a cheap ceramic claim with almost no gas data. Prices for the seven rows sit on the [infrared gas grill comparison](/hub/grills-and-barbecues/infrared-gas-grill). Who each model suits is on the [best infrared gas BBQ](/hub/grills-and-barbecues/infrared-gas-grill/sub/infrared-gas-grill-best) page. We did not cook on these grills.
You are standing between a portable cartridge grill and a stainless trolley that both say infrared, and the amazon.co.uk titles do not say which machine you are buying.
You are standing between a portable cartridge grill and a stainless trolley that both say infrared, and the amazon.co.uk titles do not say which machine you are buying. An infrared gas barbecue buying guide names the layout first, then drops any heat or cooking-area figure that contradicts itself on the same page. This set is a full-bed emitter, a tube-burner trolley with a ceramic sear zone, or a cheap ceramic claim with almost no gas data. Prices for the seven rows sit on the infrared gas grill comparison. Who each model suits is on the best infrared gas BBQ page. We did not cook on these grills.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Infrared layout | Heat claim | Gas fitting | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | CosmoGrill CosmoGrill Platinum 4+2 | Ceramic searer and ceramic back burner; four main burners | 20.7 kW spec; bullets 21.2 kW | Clip-on and 37 mbar both in the bullets; regulator and hose included | 9.2 | about £502.55 | View offer |
Char-Broil Char-Broil X200 Grill2Go | Full-bed TRU-Infrared, one burner | 2,800 W and 8,000 BTU (conflict) | 16.4 oz disposable cylinder, sold separately | 8.6 | about £157.97 | View offer | |
| Alternative | Oopsiou Oopsiou 4-burner | Four infrared ceramic burners claimed | Not stated | Not stated | 0.0 | about £127.70 | View offer |
On this page
Three layouts sharing one word
Figures that disagree on the same page
Decide the layout before the price
Collar, heat figures, and covers
Common questions
Is an infrared BBQ just a hotter gas BBQ?
What is TRU-Infrared, and is a ceramic side plate the same thing?
Which number is the cooking area when the listing says 72 cm² or 92 cm²?
Do I need the sear zone if I already have four burners?
Why do two kilowatt figures appear on one CosmoGrill listing?
Does a low price with infrared ceramic in the bullets prove the system?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures for these ASINs. Retrieved 22 October 2026.
- Char-Broil UK: TRU-Infrared grills (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- Char-Broil UK: Grill2Go (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- Grill2Go manual (GB) (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- BSI: BS EN 498:2012 outdoor LPG barbecues (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- GOV.UK: fire safety outdoors (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- GOV.UK: gas appliances enforcement (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- Calor: gas bottles for a BBQ (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- Food Standards Agency: BBQ food safety (retrieved 22 October 2026)


