Contact grill vs panini press
You are deciding between a sealed toastie maker, a panini press and a full contact grill, and the amazon.co.uk titles all say grill until the bread comes out open at the edges. This page on contact grill vs panini press splits three appliances by the job: sealed triangles, café-style paninis, or family meat. It does not crown one winner. The full table stays on the [contact grill comparison](/hub/grills-and-barbecues/contact-grill). Prices are GBP from the captures. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.
You are deciding between a sealed toastie maker, a panini press and a full contact grill, and the amazon.co.uk titles all say grill until the bread comes out open at the edges.
You are deciding between a sealed toastie maker, a panini press and a full contact grill, and the amazon.co.uk titles all say grill until the bread comes out open at the edges. This page on contact grill vs panini press splits three appliances by the job: sealed triangles, café-style paninis, or family meat. It does not crown one winner. The full table stays on the contact grill comparison. Prices are GBP from the captures. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Opens flat | Removable plates | Power | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Tefal Tefal OptiGrill Plus | Not stated | Yes | 2,000 W | 9.4 | about £155.55 | View offer |
| Best value | George Foreman George Foreman Small Fit Grill | Not stated | Not stated | 760 W | 9.0 | about £19.99 | View offer |
| Alternative | YASHE YASHE Panini Press Grill | Yes | Not stated | 1,500 W | 8.4 | about £29.99 | View offer |
On this page
Three machines, not two
Buy the press when
Buy the contact grill when
One recommendation with a condition
Common questions
Is a panini press a contact grill?
Will a contact grill seal a cheese toastie?
Is the YASHE enough?
When is the small George Foreman the wrong size?
Do I need 2,000 W for paninis?
Can one machine do waffles and burgers?
What about ciabatta versus sliced white?
Should I buy a shaped toastie maker as well?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures for these ASINs. Retrieved 21 October 2026.
- Food Standards Agency: Cooking your food (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- GOV.UK: Burgers (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- GOV.UK: Cooking food safely (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- GOV.UK: Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- GOV.UK: UKCA and CE marking by sector (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- OPSS: SOKANY grill maker, 27 March 2026 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- BSI: BS EN 60335-2-9 household grills and toasters (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- legislation.gov.uk: Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- legislation.gov.uk: Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 19 (retrieved 21 October 2026)


