Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Replacement wheelbarrow wheel: what to measure first

Updated: 16.10.2026

You are stood over a garden or builders' barrow whose tyre has split or gone soft, and the amazon.co.uk grid is full of 14 inch and universal wheels that may not share your axle. A replacement wheelbarrow wheel, in the nine listings compared here, is the whole assembly: tyre, centre, and a way for the axle to pass through. An inner tube on its own is a different purchase. Measure the code, the bore, and the hub, then choose air or flat-free, then check the box. Prices and stars on the [wheelbarrow wheel comparison](/hub/garden-tools/wheelbarrow-wheel) are the 15 October 2026 amazon.co.uk captures. No wheel was lab-tested. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are stood over a garden or builders' barrow whose tyre has split or gone soft, and the amazon.co.uk grid is full of 14 inch and universal wheels that may not share your axle.

Our top picks

On this page

What you are buying

A complete wheel is what you bolt between the legs. If the old rim is still round and the only fault is a puncture, a tube can be the cheaper repair, and that repair is outside this set. If the rubber has cracked, or you are tired of pumping, you are buying the assembly. One wheel revives a single garden barrow. A pair, or a 10 inch wheel such as the Yarlung 4.10/3.50-4, is for a sack truck or a small cart. Universal is a word, not a measurement. Ross Castors says hub length and bore decide the fit. How to read 3.50-8 and a reducer is on what size wheelbarrow wheel.

Tyre code and the 14 inch label

On a 3.50-8 tyre, 3.50 is the nominal section width in inches and 8 is the rim diameter in inches. UK shops usually sell that code as a 14 inch wheel of about 350–360 mm overall. The TMZ listing states 14 inch and 360 mm for a 3.50-8. A 4.00-6 is a different code: the second number is a 6 inch rim. The Crystals title says 4.00-6 PU, while a bullet says pneumatic rubber, 30 PSI, and a 35 cm diameter. Treat that clash as a reason to read the live page. 14 inch does not tell you the hole, the hub length, or whether the tyre holds air. Measure the old wheel, or the bare axle, and keep that figure next to the code.

Bore, reducers, and hub length

The bore is the hole the axle passes through. Sizes on UK barrows include 12, 13, 16, 20, 21, 25, and 25.4 mm, which is 1 inch. Measure the axle. A plastic reducer changes the hole. It is not a bearing unless the listing says so. The TMZ wheel states a 25.4 mm bore and a 75 mm hub. If your axle is 20 mm, the tyre code does not make it fit. The Crystals listing states a 25 mm bore and 20, 16, and 12 mm reducers. It does not include 13 mm. Hub length, including bush collars, still has to sit between the brackets. KetoPlastics states 75 mm excluding bushes and 96 mm with them. Taking the old wheel off is on how to replace a wheelbarrow wheel.

Air, foam-filled, or solid

QED Castors splits the ride into three: air is the softest and punctures, foam is the flat-free compromise, and solid rubber is firmer. Foam-filled and solid are both sold as puncture-proof. They are not the same wheel. Air suits clean, bumpy ground when you will check pressure. Flat-free suits thorns, builders' debris, or a barrow that sits for months. A solid tyre can still leave the rim under load. When to stay with air is on puncture proof vs pneumatic wheelbarrow wheel. Crystals puts PU in the title and pneumatic rubber in a bullet. Until the live page agrees with itself, do not use it to decide the construction.

What is in the box, and what the claims mean

Sort the box before you sort the stars. KetoPlastics includes an axle, a 120 mm bolt with a nylock nut, and 13 mm bushes. One reviewer still needed a 160 mm axle. TMZ states the bore and the hub and does not include spacers. Rolson's component line names the wheel only. Use the sidewall if you have air. Under about £12 you usually buy one wheel without an axle kit. If the wheel does not match the description, the Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9, is the satisfactory-quality rule, not a fitting service.

Common questions

What should I measure before I buy a replacement wheelbarrow wheel?
Measure the tyre code on the old sidewall, the overall diameter, the axle diameter, the hub length through the axle hole, and the gap between the brackets. A listing that says 14 inch or universal does not replace those five figures. If the old wheel is already off, measure the axle and the bracket gap, then match a code such as 3.50-8 only if that was what came off the barrow.
What does 3.50-8 mean?
On a 3.50-8 tyre, 3.50 is the nominal section width in inches and 8 is the rim diameter in inches. UK shops usually sell it as a 14 inch wheel of about 350–360 mm overall. It does not state the bore. Two axles can wear the same code and still need different wheels.
Is a 14 inch universal wheel right for my barrow?
Only if the bore and the hub length also match. Universal on these listings is a fit-type field, not a measured hole. The KetoBarrow page calls the fit universal and does not state a bore. The Rolson page was called universal by the seller, and one reviewer said it was not, because no axle came in the box.
Should I choose pneumatic, foam-filled, or solid?
Choose air if the ground is bumpy and fairly free of thorns and you will check the pressure. Choose foam-filled if you want no punctures and can accept a harder roll, which KetoPlastics reviewers report on paving. Choose solid if you already have an axle and you want no air, and remember that a solid tyre can still leave the rim.
Does the wheel come with an axle or reducers?
Sometimes. KetoPlastics includes an axle, a 120 mm bolt, a nylock nut, and 13 mm bushes. Crystals includes 20, 16, and 12 mm reducers on a 25 mm bore. TMZ and Rolson, in these captures, do not. Read the included-components line for the listing you are buying. A reducer changes the hole. It is not a bearing unless the listing says so.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are from amazon.co.uk on 15 October 2026.

  1. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  2. General Product Safety Regulations 2005, Great Britain (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  3. Product safety advice for businesses, GOV.UK (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  4. HSE RAPP tool, INDG478 (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  5. HSE push and pull assessment (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  6. Which? How to buy the best wheelbarrow (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  7. QED Castors, puncture-proof wheels (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  8. RocwooD 14 inch pneumatic wheelbarrow wheel (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  9. Titan Pro wheelbarrow wheel installation guide (retrieved 15.10.2026)