Solar fairy lights in winter
The string that ran until you went to bed in August is dark by half past seven in November, and you are wondering if it has failed. Often it has not. A 6–8 hour charge and an 8–14 hour glow is a bright-day line on these listings, and a short British day will not fill it. This page is the winter limit and the checks that are still worth doing. Prices and ratings for the eight sets are on the [solar fairy lights comparison](/hub/garden-decor/solar-fairy-lights).
The string that ran until you went to bed in August is dark by half past seven in November, and you are wondering if it has failed. Often it has not.
The string that ran until you went to bed in August is dark by half past seven in November, and you are wondering if it has failed. Often it has not. A 6–8 hour charge and an 8–14 hour glow is a bright-day line on these listings, and a short British day will not fill it. This page is the winter limit and the checks that are still worth doing. Prices and ratings for the eight sets are on the solar fairy lights comparison.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Run-time claim | Cell | Weather claim | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | bitjam bitjam 6 m rubber string | 8–14 hours after 6–8 hours | Not stated | IP65 claimed | 8.1 | about £6.99 | View offer |
| Best value | btfarm btfarm 2 × 8 m strings | 8–14 hours after 6–8 hours | Not stated | Waterproof, no IP code | 7.8 | about £8.55 | View offer |
Kolpop Kolpop 24 m PVC string | 8–14 hours after 6–8 hours | 1,200 mAh stated | IP65, all parts | 8.6 | about £12.99 | View offer |
On this page
What a short day does to the claim
Checks that are not the weather
What these listings’ reviews say about cold months
Leave them out, or send them back
Common questions
Should a new set still do 8–14 hours in November?
Is a string that dies after a week a winter problem?
Does cloud still charge the panel?
Will a security light or a street lamp stop it coming on?
Should I tilt the panel?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources used for electrical safety, product safety and waste electricals. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts were taken from the listings on 20 October 2026. This is not a lab test.
- GOV.UK, Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- legislation.gov.uk, SI 2016/1101 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- Electrical Safety First, outdoor lighting (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- Electrical Safety First, Christmas lights (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, recycling batteries and electricals (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, WEEE scope, decorative lighting (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- White Stores, garden lighting (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- Festive Lights, solar troubleshooting (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- Which?, solar garden lights (retrieved 20 October 2026)


