Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Philips Hue garden lights comparison 2026

The best Philips Hue garden lights, compared.

Top pick: Philips Hue Scenova square wall light Best value: Philips Hue Festavia, 20 m fairy – Best value on the cards: 250 LEDs and a 30 W supply in the box at about £158.15, 4.7 from 45, with the nine stored texts marked United Kingdom. Updated 22.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

Colour garden lights you control from a phone light a tree, a path edge, a pergola or a porch. UK buyers usually already run the same system indoors and want colour plus a warm-to-cool white, rather than a solar stake with no cable. The supply decides whether the carton will light. Plug-in low-voltage sets use an outdoor 13 A socket and a transformer. A starter kit includes that supply. An extra head often omits the supply. Fixed wall lights are 230 V or 240 V work, not a spike for a bed. The low-voltage plug is BS 1363. Match the printed IP code to the job. Strings here often show IP65. Wall fittings often show IP44, a splash figure for a sheltered wall, not open soil. Schedules need a separate hub, sold on its own. A Bluetooth line on the box is not that hub. In England, Approved Document P notifies a new circuit. Adding to an existing circuit is not notifiable. The work still has to meet BS 7671, with a 30 mA RCD on household luminaires.

Colour garden lights you control from a phone light a tree, a path edge, a pergola or a porch.

Philips Hue Scenova square wall light

Best overall

Philips Hue Scenova square wall light
6.3/10∼ £62

38 products checked · 67 hrs invested · +16,800 readers

11 of 11: Best Philips Hue garden lights compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
Philips Hue Scenova square wall light
Philips Hue Struana wall spot
Philips Hue Lily extension
Philips Hue Lily base, 3 pack
Philips Hue Festavia globe, 14 m
Philips Hue Festavia globe, 21 m
Philips Hue Festavia globe, 7 m
Best value
Philips Hue Festavia, 20 m fairy
Philips Hue Resonate wall light
Philips Hue Appear, 2 pack
Philips Hue Calla extension
6.3/10
6.4/10
8.2/10
9.0/10
7.6/10
7.5/10
7.0/10
8.6/10
8.4/10
7.2/10
7.4/10
∼ £62
∼ £62
∼ £100
∼ £280
∼ £160
∼ £212
∼ £150
∼ £158
∼ £104
∼ £180
∼ £115
4.9(13)
4.9(12)
4.7(962)
4.7(684)
4.7(54)
4.7(54)
4.7(54)
4.7(45)
4.6(1,201)
4.5(34)
4.2(381)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Philips Hue garden lights in detail

Philips Hue Scenova square wall light

Rank 1

Philips Hue Scenova square wall light

∼£62

Our view

The square Scenova is also £61.69, listed at 5 W, 230 V and IP44, with a dual-layer diffuser in the bullet and energy class E. Reviews call the light decorative and soft rather than a flood, and lumens are not stated. A review says it is wired at 230 V, not from a plug-in supply, and that someone who can do that work should connect it. The star line is 4.9 from 13 ratings, and the stored texts are marked Germany, including Vine, so the score does not describe UK buyers. The power field says dc as well as 230 V, the same clash as on the Struana. Bullets name the Hue app and voice assistants, which still leaves the Bridge as an app question rather than a line that says it is included. It is a soft wall or ceiling sconce at the same price as the Struana, with the same evidence limit.

Pros

  • £61.69 for a square IP44 sconce
  • Listing allows wall or ceiling mounting
  • 5 W with a dual-layer diffuser in the bullet
  • 4.9 from 13 on the UK listing’s star line

Cons

  • Stored reviews are marked Germany, including Vine
  • 230 V wiring, not a plug-in garden kit
  • Reviews describe the light as soft, and lumens are not stated
  • Voltage attribute and dc power field clash

Best for: A soft wired wall or ceiling light when the person connecting it is comfortable with 230 V and you are not using the star line as UK evidence.

Less suitable: A path or planting light, a bright up-and-down beam, or a purchase decided from UK review texts.

Specifications

Model
Philips Hue Scenova square wall light
Brand
Philips Hue
Price
∼£62
Customer rating
4.9/5(13)
Type
Wall sconce
Supply
Not included
Bridge
Not stated
IP rating
IP44
Output
5 W
Voltage
230 V
Pack
1 sconce
Material
n/a

Common questions

Who should connect it?

A review says it is wired at 230 V, not from a plug-in supply, and that someone who can do that work should connect it.

Is the light a flood?

Reviews call it decorative and soft. The listing is 5 W, energy class E, with a dual-layer diffuser in the bullet. Lumens are not stated.

Where are the reviews from?

The stored texts are marked Germany, including Vine. The star line is 4.9 from 13 on the UK listing. That is not a UK review sample.

Philips Hue Struana wall spot

Rank 2

Philips Hue Struana wall spot

∼£62

Our view

The Struana is a black wall spot at £61.69, listed at 4.2 W, 230 V and IP44, with a UV-resistant housing and a Powershield coating in the bullets and energy class E. It is a sconce, not a plug-in spike. A review describes a three-core terminal inside a small plate, and the box lists mounting material, a fixture and a manual, not a garden transformer. The star line is 4.9 from 12 ratings, and every stored text is marked Germany, several of them Amazon Vine, so that score is not a UK garden sample. The power field also says dc while the voltage attribute says 230 V. Lumens are not on the attribute block, and dimensions and weight are missing. Full automations need a Bridge, according to the reviews.

Pros

  • £61.69 for an IP44 wall spot
  • 4.2 W draw on the listing
  • Bullets name a UV-resistant housing and a Powershield coating
  • Colour range 2000–6500 K in the bullet

Cons

  • All 12 stored reviews are marked Germany, several of them Vine
  • 230 V and dc both appear on the listing
  • No plug-in supply; a review describes a three-core terminal
  • Lumens, dimensions and weight are not on the listing

Best for: A small wired sconce when you already accept a German-only review file and someone can terminate 230 V.

Less suitable: A UK-reviewed garden spike, a path bollard, or any shortlist that treats 4.9 from 12 as proof.

Specifications

Model
Philips Hue Struana wall spot
Brand
Philips Hue
Price
∼£62
Customer rating
4.9/5(12)
Type
Wall sconce
Supply
Not included
Bridge
For automations
IP rating
IP44
Output
4.2 W
Voltage
230 V
Pack
1 sconce
Material
n/a

Common questions

Is this a plug-in spike?

No. It is a wall sconce. A review describes a three-core terminal inside a small plate. The voltage attribute is 230 V.

Are the 12 reviews from the UK?

No. All 12 stored texts are marked Germany, and several say Amazon Vine. The 4.9 star line is not a UK garden sample.

What IP rating is printed?

IP44, plus a UV-resistant housing and a Powershield coating in the bullets. Energy class on the listing is E. Lumens are not stated.

Philips Hue Lily extension

Rank 3

Philips Hue Lily extension

∼£100

Our view

The single Lily is £99.99 for one anthracite spot listed at 24 V, 8 W and 640 lumens, in the same 8.4 × 7 × 19.4 cm head as the 3-pack. It will not light on its own. The bullet requires a Lily base and a Hue Bridge, and one buyer could not install it because there was no mains lead. A UK review says a long extension cable and a T-connector are in the box, which is how you add a head to a run you already power. The star line is 4.7 from 962 ratings, though only 25 of 50 stored texts are marked United Kingdom. Faults in the file are connectors and pins, a missing connector, condensation in a lens, and one UK unit replaced at 10 months. Reviews cite IP65 and IP67 connectors, but the attribute block does not print an IP code.

Pros

  • £99.99 for one 640-lumen, 8 W spot
  • 4.7 from 962 ratings
  • UK review: long cable and a T-connector included
  • Same head size as the Lily 3-pack

Cons

  • No mains plug and no transformer
  • Bridge and a Lily base required
  • Connector, pin and condensation faults in the reviews
  • Only 25 of 50 stored texts are marked United Kingdom

Best for: You already run a Lily base and want one more aimed spot on the same low-volt lead.

Less suitable: This is your first Hue outdoor light, or you need a pedestal along a path rather than an aimed spot.

Specifications

Model
Philips Hue Lily extension
Brand
Philips Hue
Price
∼£100
Customer rating
4.7/5(962)
Type
Accent spot
Supply
Not included
Bridge
Base and Bridge
IP rating
n/a
Output
640 lm, 8 W
Voltage
24 V
Pack
1 spot
Material
Aluminium

Common questions

Will this light up on its own?

No. The bullet requires a Lily base unit and a Hue Bridge. One buyer could not install it because there was no mains lead.

Does the box include the long cable?

The bullet says cables to the base. A UK review says a long extension cable and a T-connector are included.

What fails in the reviews?

Connectors and pins, a missing connector, condensation in a lens, and one UK unit replaced at 10 months.

Philips Hue Lily base, 3 pack

Rank 4

Philips Hue Lily base, 3 pack

∼£280

Our view

The Philips Hue Lily 3-pack is listed at £279.90 on amazon.co.uk, with three anthracite spots at 8 W and a maximum of 640 lumens. UK reviews in this file say the plug and transformer are in the base kit, and that each light has about 5 m of cable, which is what lets the set run from an outdoor socket without a separate brick. The bullet still says the Hue Bridge is sold separately, so the carton is not a finished smart system on its own. Across 684 ratings the star line is 4.7, and the first 50 stored texts are marked United Kingdom. Those texts repeat water inside a fitting, cable faults, and units that failed around the end of the two-year warranty. The attribute block does not print an IP code, so you should not treat the listing as if it had stated one. The voltage field prints 230 V, and a UK review says 24 V on the lead. It is the top pick here when you need the supply that the single Lily and the Calla extension omit.

Pros

  • Transformer and plug in the base kit, according to UK reviews
  • About 5 m of cable per light in those reviews
  • 4.7 from 684 ratings, stored sample marked United Kingdom
  • Three 8 W spots listed at 640 lumens

Cons

  • Hue Bridge sold separately
  • UK reviews cite water inside fittings and cable faults
  • Failures reported around the end of the two-year warranty
  • No IP code on the attribute block

Best for: You want a low-volt starter for trees or beds and you need the transformer in the same order as the three spots.

Less suitable: You already own a Lily base and only need one more head, or you are fitting a 230 V wall sconce.

Specifications

Model
Philips Hue Lily base, 3 pack
Brand
Philips Hue
Price
∼£280
Customer rating
4.7/5(684)
Type
Accent spots
Supply
In the box
Bridge
Sold separately
IP rating
n/a
Output
640 lm, 8 W
Voltage
24 V lead
Pack
3 spots
Material
Aluminium

Common questions

Is the power supply in this 3-pack?

UK reviews say the plug and transformer are in the base kit, with about 5 m of cable per light. The bullet still says the Hue Bridge is sold separately.

What output does the listing state?

8 W and a maximum of 640 lumens. The attribute block does not print an IP code. The voltage field prints 230 V, and a UK review says 24 V on the lead.

What do UK reviews repeat as faults?

Water inside a fitting, cable faults, and units that failed around the end of the two-year warranty. The star line is 4.7 from 684.

Philips Hue Festavia globe, 14 m

Rank 5

Philips Hue Festavia globe, 14 m

∼£160

Our view

The 14 m Festavia globe string is £159.99 for 20 bulbs, listed at 17.1 W, 1,000 lumens, IP65 and 230 V, with a stored length of 1,400 cm and a weight of 2.2 kg. The amazon title does not say extension, yet the shared reviews include lines about strings that will not work alone, so you should not assume the carton powers itself. Signify sells this length as an extension that cannot be joined end to end. The 4.7 from 54 is the same star line as the 7 m and 21 m listings, not a third independent sample. Included components do not name a power supply. That makes the £10 gap over the 7 m set look like strong value only if this 14 m unit is a complete string rather than an add-on. The Bridge is not in the bullets. It is the mid-length globe to consider when 20 bulbs fit the run and you have checked the box type before you pay.

Pros

  • 20 globes on 14 m for £159.99
  • Listed 1,000 lumens, 17.1 W and IP65
  • Only £10 above the 10-globe listing in this set
  • Title states 230 V and does not say extension

Cons

  • Shared 4.7 from 54 with the other globe lengths
  • Shared texts include strings that will not work alone
  • Supply not named on the components line
  • Bridge not in the bullets

Best for: A mid-length run of globe bulbs when you have confirmed this 14 m listing is a powered set, not an extension string.

Less suitable: You need a review count that applies only to 14 m, or you wanted 250 small LEDs rather than 20 globes.

Specifications

Model
Philips Hue Festavia globe, 14 m
Brand
Philips Hue
Price
∼£160
Customer rating
4.7/5(54)
Type
Globe string
Supply
Not named
Bridge
Not stated
IP rating
IP65
Output
1000 lm, 17.1 W
Voltage
230 V
Pack
20 on 14 m
Material
Synthetic

Common questions

Does the amazon title say this is an extension?

No. It says a 14 m, 20-bulb string at 230 V. Signify sells this length as an extension that cannot be joined end to end. The shared reviews include lines about strings that will not work alone.

How long is the listing length?

The item-length field says 1,400 centimetres. Weight is 2.2 kg. The listing states 1,000 lumens and 17.1 W.

Can the 4.7 from 54 be read on its own?

No. It is the same star line and largely the same texts as the 7 m and 21 m listings.

Philips Hue Festavia globe, 21 m

Rank 6

Philips Hue Festavia globe, 21 m

∼£212

Our view

The 21 m globe string is £211.99 for 30 lights, listed at 25.6 W and 1,500 lumens white, IP65, with a highlight that also says 26 W and a length field of 2,100 cm. A UK review of a 21 m order says the 30 W UK 3-pin brick is too big for an outdoor socket lid to close, which matters if your socket has a cover. That review also says you cannot remove bulbs you do not need or change the spacing, and that cable ties were used because the hanging hole was small. The star line is again 4.7 from 54, shared with the shorter globe listings, though the long UK text says the order was the 21 m. The Bridge is not in the bullets. That UK review used a Bridge Pro for a daily schedule.

Pros

  • 30 globes on 21 m, listed at 1,500 lumens and IP65
  • UK review of this length describes a 30 W UK plug in the order
  • 25.6 W on the listing, with a highlight that also says 26 W
  • The long UK text is tied to a 21 m order

Cons

  • £211.99, the dearest globe in this set
  • 30 W brick too deep for a closed outdoor-socket lid, in that UK review
  • Bulbs and spacing cannot be changed, according to the same review
  • Star line of 4.7 from 54 is shared with the 7 m and 14 m listings

Best for: A long pergola or gazebo where 21 m is the run you measured and the plug brick can sit where the lid does not have to shut on it.

Less suitable: A short doorway, a lidded outdoor socket with no room for a deep brick, or a fairy-light run of 250 small LEDs.

Specifications

Model
Philips Hue Festavia globe, 21 m
Brand
Philips Hue
Price
∼£212
Customer rating
4.7/5(54)
Type
Globe string
Supply
30 W UK plug
Bridge
Not stated
IP rating
IP65
Output
1500 lm, 25.6 W
Voltage
230 V
Pack
30 on 21 m
Material
Synthetic

Common questions

Will the plug fit a lidded outdoor socket?

A UK review of a 21 m set says the 30 W 3-pin brick is too big for the lid to close.

Can you remove bulbs you do not need?

That review says no, and that the spacing cannot be changed. They used cable ties because the hanging hole was small.

How many bulbs does the listing claim?

30 lights, 25.6 W, 1,500 lumens white, IP65. The highlight also says 26 W.

Philips Hue Festavia globe, 7 m

Rank 7

Philips Hue Festavia globe, 7 m

∼£150

Our view

This 7 m globe string is £149.98 for 10 bulbs, listed at 8.6 W, 500 lumens and IP65, with the bullet also saying about 50 lumens per shatterproof globe. At that price you pay almost as much as the 14 m, 20-globe listing in this comparison, at £159.99, so the short run is the expensive length per metre. The 4.7 from 54 is not a separate test of the 7 m set. The file shares that star line and the same narratives with the 14 m and 21 m listings, including comments about strings that will not work alone. Included components do not name a power supply. A shared UK review of a 21 m order says the 30 W UK 3-pin brick is too deep for a closed outdoor-socket lid, and that line is stored on this file too. The Bridge is not in the bullets, though a shared review discusses a Bridge for schedules.

Pros

  • 10 globes on 7 m, listed IP65
  • 8.6 W and 500 lumens on the listing
  • Shatterproof globes in the bullet, about 50 lumens each
  • 4.7 star line, shared with the longer globe listings

Cons

  • £149.98 is close to the 14 m price for half the globes
  • The 54 ratings are shared with the 14 m and 21 m files
  • Power supply is not named on the components line
  • Shared texts include extension-only comments and the deep plug brick

Best for: A short pergola or doorway where 7 m and 10 globes are enough and you have confirmed this length powers itself.

Less suitable: You want more globes for almost the same money, or a review sample that belongs only to this length.

Specifications

Model
Philips Hue Festavia globe, 7 m
Brand
Philips Hue
Price
∼£150
Customer rating
4.7/5(54)
Type
Globe string
Supply
Not named
Bridge
Not stated
IP rating
IP65
Output
500 lm, 8.6 W
Voltage
230 V
Pack
10 on 7 m
Material
Synthetic

Common questions

Is this the same review set as the 21 m string?

Yes. The 7 m, 14 m and 21 m files share the 4.7 from 54 and the same narratives, including extension-string comments.

What IP code is on the listing?

IP65. The bullet also says the globes are shatterproof and about 50 lumens each. IP65 is not a claim that the string can sit in water.

What did UK reviewers say about the plug?

The shared 21 m review says the 30 W UK 3-pin brick is too deep for a closed outdoor-socket lid. That line is in this file too.

Philips Hue Festavia, 20 m fairy

Rank 8

Philips Hue Festavia, 20 m fairy

∼£158

Our view

The 20 m Festavia fairy string is £158.15 for 250 LEDs, not the globe bulbs, and the box includes a 30 W power supply. The listing says indoor and outdoor, IP65, and that it can be added to a Hue low-volt setup, while a bullet says a Bridge, sold separately, unlocks full features. A UK review says it works better with a Bridge, and another says an outdoor socket still needs a separate outdoor supply arrangement, so a brick in the carton is not the same as a lid that shuts on your wall. The star line is 4.7 from 45 ratings, and the nine stored texts are all marked United Kingdom, which is a cleaner sample than the shared globe block even though it is smaller. Lumens are not stated. The listing quotes 30 W. It is the best value complete string in this comparison when you want a long colour run with the supply named in the box.

Pros

  • 250 LEDs on 20 m for £158.15
  • 30 W supply named in the box
  • IP65, indoor and outdoor on the listing
  • 4.7 from 45, with the nine stored texts marked United Kingdom

Cons

  • Bridge sold separately for full features
  • A UK review still flags the outdoor socket arrangement
  • Only 45 ratings
  • Lumens are not on the listing

Best for: A tree or garden run of small LEDs when you want the supply in the same order and you already have somewhere suitable for the plug.

Less suitable: You wanted globe bulbs, a quoted lumen figure, or a wall fitting screwed to masonry.

Specifications

Model
Philips Hue Festavia, 20 m fairy
Brand
Philips Hue
Price
∼£158
Customer rating
4.7/5(45)
Type
Fairy string
Supply
30 W in box
Bridge
Sold separately
IP rating
IP65
Output
30 W
Voltage
n/a
Pack
250 on 20 m
Material
Plastic

Common questions

Is this the globe Festavia?

No. It is 250 LEDs on a 20 m cord, with a 30 W supply in the box. The globe strings are separate listings.

Can it go outside?

The listing says indoor and outdoor, IP65, and that it can be added to a Hue low-volt setup. One UK review says an outdoor socket still needs a separate outdoor supply arrangement.

Do you need a Bridge?

The bullet says a Bridge, sold separately, unlocks full features. A UK review says it works better with one.

Philips Hue Resonate wall light

Rank 9

Philips Hue Resonate wall light

∼£104

Our view

The Resonate is one black aluminium wall light at £103.70, listed at 230 V, 16 W, 1,200 lumens and IP44, with a Hue Bridge required and sold separately. UK reviews say the cable enters at the back, so surface wiring leaves the lead visible unless you hide it in a plate or a fence recess. A UK review says it is not bright enough for a whole garden, which fits a 1,200-lumen architectural beam rather than a flood. Another UK review says you should block the wire hole and the screw holes if you want the fitting to stay dry. The star line is 4.6 from 1,201 ratings, and 19 of 50 stored texts are marked United Kingdom, the deepest wall-light sample in this set. The listing prints dimensions of 37 × 47 × 71 mm, which is a small figure next to a wall sconce and should be checked against the photo.

Pros

  • £103.70 for a 16 W, 1,200-lumen up-and-down light
  • IP44 and aluminium on the listing
  • 4.6 from 1,201 ratings, 19 of 50 stored texts marked United Kingdom
  • UK reviews describe the rear cable entry in practical terms

Cons

  • 230 V corded fitting, no plug-in supply
  • Rear cable entry shows on surface wiring
  • UK review: not enough light for a whole garden
  • Printed size of 37 × 47 × 71 mm needs a check against the product

Best for: One architectural up-and-down beam where 230 V is being connected properly and you want UK comments on the cable.

Less suitable: A plug-in path, a whole-garden flood, or surface wiring on a fence where the rear lead would stay on show.

Specifications

Model
Philips Hue Resonate wall light
Brand
Philips Hue
Price
∼£104
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,201)
Type
Wall light
Supply
Not included
Bridge
Sold separately
IP rating
IP44
Output
1200 lm, 16 W
Voltage
230 V
Pack
1 light
Material
Aluminium

Common questions

Where does the cable enter?

UK reviews say the back. Surface wiring leaves the lead visible unless you hide it in a plate or a fence recess.

Is it bright enough for a whole garden?

A UK review says no. The listing states 1,200 lumens and 16 W, IP44. Treat it as an architectural beam, not a flood.

What should you seal?

A UK review says block the wire hole and the screw holes if you want the fitting to stay dry.

Philips Hue Appear, 2 pack

Rank 10

Philips Hue Appear, 2 pack

∼£180

Our view

The Appear 2-pack is £179.78 for two black aluminium wall lights, listed at IP44, 240 V and 1,180 lumens, with the Bridge or Bridge Pro sold separately. Both beams show the same colour, according to the bullet and the UK review, so you cannot wash the wall in one colour and the ground in another. That UK review also says it was less bright than Hue GU10 lamps in an older fitting. The star line is 4.5 from 34 ratings, and of seven stored texts only one is marked United Kingdom. Six are marked Germany. It is a wall mount, not a plug-in spike, and the number-of-lights field says 1 on a pack of two, which is a listing clash you should set aside in favour of the title. Watts are not on the attribute block.

Pros

  • Two up-and-down wall lights for £179.78
  • Listed 1,180 lumens and IP44
  • Aluminium named in the bullet
  • Both beams the same colour, so the wash stays even

Cons

  • 240 V wall mount, not a plug-in garden spike
  • Only one of seven stored reviews is marked United Kingdom
  • UK review: less bright than Hue GU10s in an older fitting
  • Watts not stated, and the lights-count field says 1 on a pack of two

Best for: A pair of matching up-and-down beams on a wall when a 240 V connection is already planned.

Less suitable: A plug-in bed or path, separate colours up and down, or a decision you want to base on a large UK review sample.

Specifications

Model
Philips Hue Appear, 2 pack
Brand
Philips Hue
Price
∼£180
Customer rating
4.5/5(34)
Type
Wall light
Supply
Not included
Bridge
Sold separately
IP rating
IP44
Output
1180 lm
Voltage
240 V
Pack
2 lights
Material
Aluminium

Common questions

Can the up and down beams be different colours?

The bullet says both beams show the same colour. The UK review says the same, and that it was less bright than Hue GU10 lamps in an older fitting.

Is this a plug-in garden spike?

No. It is a wall mount. The voltage attribute is 240 V. The number-of-lights field says 1 on a pack of two.

Are the 34 ratings UK texts?

The file stores seven reviews. One is marked United Kingdom. Six are marked Germany.

Philips Hue Calla extension

Rank 11

Philips Hue Calla extension

∼£115

Our view

The Calla extension is £114.84, listed at 24 V and 8 W, and it is a pedestal rather than a Lily spot. The bullet says you connect it to a Lily base or a 40 W or 100 W supply, and a UK review says the same, so the box is not a complete path light. A UK review describes a spike pushed into a flower bed and about 10 minutes to install. Lumens are not printed on the attribute block. The star line is 4.2 from 381 ratings, and only three of 50 stored texts are marked United Kingdom. Non-UK texts in the file mention moisture inside the lamp and Bridge pairing trouble, which is a thin basis for a UK damp-garden claim. The title says black while the colour field says white, so check the photo before you match a run of anthracite Lilies. The listing marks waterproof as true and does not print an IP code. That word is not treated here as a rating for sitting in water.

Pros

  • Pedestal with a ground spike in a UK review
  • 24 V, 8 W extension for a Lily base or a 40/100 W supply
  • About 10 minutes to spike in, according to that UK review
  • Waterproof marked true on the listing

Cons

  • No power supply in the box
  • 4.2 from 381, with only three stored UK texts
  • Moisture and pairing comments sit mostly outside the UK sample
  • Lumens are absent, and the colour fields clash

Best for: You already have a Lily base or a 40/100 W Hue supply and want a bollard in a bed rather than another aimed spot.

Less suitable: You need a starter kit, a lumen figure printed on this listing, or a UK review sample larger than three texts.

Specifications

Model
Philips Hue Calla extension
Brand
Philips Hue
Price
∼£115
Customer rating
4.2/5(381)
Type
Path pedestal
Supply
Not included
Bridge
Sold separately
IP rating
n/a
Output
8 W
Voltage
24 V
Pack
1 pedestal
Material
Aluminium

Common questions

Does the Calla extension include a power supply?

No. The bullet says connect it to a Lily base or a 40/100 W supply. A UK review says the same.

How is it fixed?

Floor mount. A UK review describes a spike pushed into a flower bed and about 10 minutes to install.

Why is the star line 4.2?

381 ratings. Only three stored texts are marked United Kingdom. Non-UK texts include moisture inside the lamp and Bridge pairing trouble.

How we compared

Eleven amazon.co.uk listings were read from pages whose shelf prices are dated 19 October 2026. The scores on the cards are those listing scores on a 0–100 scale. The highest score is the top pick. The card marked as best value keeps that badge. The five checks below are how this page weighs a listing. They are not a laboratory measurement, and no fitting was installed for this comparison.

1

Review sample

30%

Stars, the review count, and whether the stored texts are marked United Kingdom. A shared star line, or a file whose stored texts are marked Germany, does not count as a separate UK sample.

2

Supply in the carton

25%

A starter kit that includes the transformer scores above an extension that needs a base or a 40 W or 100 W supply before it will light. A wall fitting is scored as mains work, not as a plug-in kit.

3

Job and ingress

20%

The fitting has to match the job: aimed spot, path pedestal, string, or wall. A printed IP65 or IP44 is used as printed. A missing code is left missing. IP65 is not treated as a rating for sitting in water.

4

Listing coherence

15%

Voltage, colour, pack count and output fields that agree with the title. A 230 V line beside a dc field, or a colour clash, holds the score down.

5

Price within type

10%

Shelf price against the same job: a complete low-voltage set, an extension head, a string length, or one wall fitting. A short string priced next to a longer one does not take the value badge.

Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Philips Hue garden lights buying guide

Separate the plug-in low-voltage family from the fixed wall lights before you compare a shelf price. A Lily or Calla extension is not a starter kit. A Festavia globe length is not the 250-LED fairy string. A 4.9 star line with no United Kingdom text is not a UK sample.

What Philips Hue garden lights are on amazon.co.uk

Philips Hue garden lights on amazon.co.uk are Signify fittings in two families. Plug-in low-voltage landscape lights cover the Lily spot, the Calla pedestal and the Festavia globe strings. Fixed wall lights cover Appear, Resonate, Struana and Scenova, at 230 V or 240 V. Buyers usually already own Hue indoors and want colour plus tunable white, not a solar path light.

Best for

  • A Hue household with an outdoor socket and a tree, bed or path
  • A porch beam on an existing circuit, if 230 V work can be done properly

Not ideal for

  • A first outdoor light bought as an extension, with no supply in the carton
  • Anyone who needs UK review texts for Struana or Scenova

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    An extension with no supply

    The single Lily and the Calla omit the transformer. The bullet on the Lily extension requires a Lily base and a Bridge. One buyer could not install it because there was no mains lead.

  2. 2

    One star line, three verdicts

    The 7 m, 14 m and 21 m globe listings share 4.7 from 54 and the same narratives. Struana and Scenova store texts marked Germany, including Vine. Neither figure is a UK verdict for each model.

  3. 3

    A sixth head on a 40 W supply

    Lily and Calla are 8 W each. A 40 W supply is full at 40 W. Bluetooth on a box is not a substitute for the Bridge Signify requires outdoors.

What to weigh up

Supply, Bridge and watt budget

High

Low-voltage heads in this set are 8 W. A 40 W supply is full at 40 W, with a 35 m cable cap, at about £44.99 on Signify’s UK shop. The 100 W supply is about £89.99. Count the watts before you add another head. The Bridge is a separate box: 50 lights and 12 accessories, about £69.99. What the plug brick and the outdoor socket actually allow is set out in [outdoor power for Philips Hue](/hub/garden-decor/blog/philips-hue-outdoor-power).

Ingress, voltage and the review sample

High

Festavia listings here print IP65. The wall lights print IP44, which is a splash figure for a sheltered wall, not a bed spike. Signify’s Lily and Calla pages print IP65. The Lily amazon blocks in this batch do not. Plug-in lights use a BS 1363 outdoor socket. Appear, Resonate, Struana and Scenova are 230 V or 240 V work. A shared 4.7 from 54, or a 4.9 whose stored texts are marked Germany, is not a UK sample for each length or each sconce.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Tree or path from a socket

You already use Hue indoors, and an outdoor 13 A socket is there. The Lily base, 3 pack, is about £279.90, with 4.7 from 684 ratings, and UK reviews put the transformer in the carton. The Bridge is sold separately. Skip an extension until that base, or a 40 W or 100 W supply, is already on the run.

Pergola or tree string

You want a long colour run and you can live with a plug brick. The 20 m fairy string is about £158.15 for 250 LEDs, with a 30 W supply named in the box and 4.7 from 45 ratings. Globe lengths share one 4.7 from 54. A UK review of a 21 m globe order says the 30 W brick is too deep for a closed socket lid.

Porch on an existing circuit

You want an up-and-down beam and someone can connect 230 V. Resonate is about £103.70, listed at 16 W, 1,200 lumens and IP44, with 4.6 from 1,201 ratings and UK texts on the rear cable entry. Appear is the pair, at 240 V. Skip Struana and Scenova when you need UK comments. This batch has none.

Common questions about Philips Hue garden lights

Which Philips Hue garden light is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the Philips Hue Lily base, 3 pack, at about £279.90. It has the highest score in this set: 4.7 from 684 ratings, and the stored sample is marked United Kingdom. UK reviews say the plug and transformer are in the base kit, with about 5 m of cable per light. The Hue Bridge is sold separately. Those reviews also cite water inside fittings, cable faults, and units that failed around the end of the two-year warranty. The listing does not print an IP code.
Which listing is the best value?
The best value is the Philips Hue Festavia 20 m fairy string at about £158.15. The box has 250 LEDs and a 30 W supply, and the listing says indoor and outdoor, IP65. The star line is 4.7 from 45 ratings, and the nine stored texts are marked United Kingdom. A Bridge, sold separately, unlocks full features. One UK review says an outdoor socket still needs a separate outdoor supply arrangement. Lumens are not stated. It is a fairy string, not the globe bulbs.
Do the Lily and Calla extensions include a power supply?
No. The Lily extension bullet requires a Lily base and a Hue Bridge, and one buyer could not install it because there was no mains lead. The Calla extension connects to a Lily base or a 40 W or 100 W supply. A UK review says the same. Buy the Lily 3-pack when this is the first outdoor order and the transformer has to be in the carton. Add an extension only when that supply is already on the run.
Do Philips Hue garden lights need an electrician?
A plug-in low-voltage kit on an existing outdoor socket is not a new circuit. A 230 V or 240 V wall fitting is electrical work. In England, Approved Document P notifies a new circuit or a new consumer unit. Adding to an existing circuit is not notifiable, and the work still has to meet BS 7671, including a 30 mA RCD for household luminaires. Call a competent electrician if you cannot test that work, if the socket is not RCD-protected, or if a mains fitting shows water, a hot plug, or a trip.
What IP rating should you look for outdoors?
Festavia listings in this set print IP65. Appear, Resonate, Struana and Scenova print IP44. Signify’s current Lily and Calla pages print IP65, and the Lily amazon blocks in this batch do not print a code, so those listings are not treated as if they had stated one. IP44 is a splash rule of thumb for a sheltered wall, not a fitting pushed into a bed. IP65 does not mean the light can sit under water. Match the printed code to the job.
Why is 4.9 from 12 not the top score?
Struana is 4.9 from 12 and Scenova is 4.9 from 13 on the UK listing’s star line. Every stored text in those files is marked Germany, and several say Amazon Vine, so the raw stars are not a UK garden sample. The three Festavia globe lengths share one 4.7 from 54, including the same narratives, so that line is not three separate tests. The Lily 3-pack’s 4.7 from 684 has a stored sample marked United Kingdom, which is why the score sits with that base kit.
How much do Philips Hue garden lights cost?
On the amazon.co.uk pages dated 19 October 2026, this batch runs from about £61.69 to about £279.90. Struana and Scenova are about £61.69. The Lily extension is about £99.99 and Resonate about £103.70. Strings sit near £150 to £212, and the Lily 3-pack is about £279.90. Add the Bridge, about £69.99 on Signify’s UK page, and a 40 W supply at about £44.99 if you did not buy a base. Shelf prices move.
How do these compare with solar garden lights?
These fittings need a supply: a low-voltage transformer on a 13 A outdoor socket, or a 230 V or 240 V connection. They are not a panel-and-cell stake. A solar path light has no Hue Bridge and no mains lead, and winter output follows the charge, not a schedule. If you want colour from an app and you already use Hue indoors, stay with this set. If you want no cable, start with the solar garden lights comparison.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Philips Hue Lily base, 3 pack, at about £279.90. It is the highest score in this set: 4.7 from 684 ratings, with the stored sample marked United Kingdom, and UK reviews that put the plug and transformer in the base kit. The Hue Bridge is sold separately. Those reviews also cite water inside fittings, cable faults, and failures around the end of the two-year warranty. The attribute block does not print an IP code. The best value is the Philips Hue Festavia 20 m fairy string at about £158.15: 250 LEDs, a 30 W supply named in the box, IP65, and 4.7 from 45 ratings, with the nine stored texts marked United Kingdom. The Bridge is sold separately for full features, and the sample is small. A 4.9 from 12 or 13 is not used as a UK verdict where every stored text is marked Germany.

Best overall
Philips Hue Scenova square wall light

Philips Hue Scenova square wall light

View offer
Best value
Philips Hue Festavia, 20 m fairy

Philips Hue Festavia, 20 m fairy

Best value on the cards: 250 LEDs and a 30 W supply in the box at about £158.15, 4.7 from 45, with the nine stored texts marked United Kingdom.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Garden decorPhilips Hue garden lightsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Philips Hue garden lights

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Manufacturer and UK electrical sources for voltage, ingress, the Bridge and Part P. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts are from the listings dated 19 October 2026.

  1. Philips Hue UK, Lily outdoor spot, 3-pack (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. Philips Hue UK, what low-voltage lighting is (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. Philips Hue UK, outdoor 40 W power supply (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Philips Hue UK, Festavia globe 14 m extension (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Philips Hue UK, Hue Bridge (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Approved Document P (2013), electrical safety in dwellings (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. IET, Part P frequently asked questions (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. NICEIC, gardens and electrics (retrieved 19 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a laboratory test.