Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Organic compost buying guide

Updated: October 2026

You are on amazon.co.uk with a bag in the basket, the title says organic, and three litre sizes are printed in the same line. An organic compost buying guide has to settle that before the stars do. You need to know whether you are buying potting compost, which size will actually arrive, and whether organic names a certifier or only a style of wording. The prices and the five-row table stay on the [bio compost comparison](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/bio-compost). Products Compared used the stored amazon.co.uk listings for this set on 19 October 2026. It is not a lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are on amazon.co.uk with a bag in the basket, the title says organic, and three litre sizes are printed in the same line. An organic compost buying guide has to settle that before the stars do.

Our top picks

On this page

What you are buying

This comparison is bagged growing medium for pots and containers. It is not a compostable food-caddy liner, and it is not the heap at the bottom of the garden. Garden Organic draws that line clearly: homemade compost is a soil improver you fork into a bed, while potting compost is a made-up mix for a container. A light mix is for seed and cuttings. A rich, pre-fertilised mix is for a plant that is already growing. Which bag suits which job is on best organic compost.

Five checks on the listing

Read the selected litres before you read the stars. The BioBizz Light Mix 20 litre variant is 20 litres at 5 kg and £10.44, and the title also prints 50 L and 10 L. One reviewer received 20 litres after expecting 50 litres. A 10 litre claim at 680 g, the DIVCHI row, is not. All Mix is the only bag whose bullets say strong pre-fertilised. The pair is on Light Mix versus All Mix. None of the five saved listings prints peat-free.
BioBizz BioBizz Light Mix 20 L

Testsieger

BioBizz BioBizz Light Mix 20 L
9.4/10about £10.44

Logos that are not the same thing

Three marks get used as if they were one tick. Soil Association Approved means an inspected input. None of these five listings shows that symbol. Peat-free is a printed claim. The RHS says it has to be on the bag. BioBizz's blend article says All Mix contains peat-based components. The Responsible Sourcing Scheme is a voluntary A to E grade, not a peat-free mark and not a Soil Association mark. None of these saved listings shows a grade. What the 2022 announcement does is on peat and organic labels.

What this shortlist does not show

Feed level is not stated for either Light Mix. Peat is not stated on any of the five listings. Organic wording is absent on Westland. Westland's 4.5 from 4,932 is an 8 litre houseplant mix that does not say organic. If the sack is not as described, the Consumer Rights Act 2015 is the route, normally within 30 days.

Common questions

If it says organic, is it peat-free?
No. On these listings, organic or organic enriched is a word in the title. The RHS says that if a bag does not say peat-free, it most likely is not, and that organic does not mean peat-free. Garden Organic adds that organic can mean natural materials rather than an approved input. None of the five saved listings prints peat-free or names the Soil Association. Read the peat line as its own check.
How do I know which litre size I will receive?
Read the selected variant, then the listed weight, and do not stop at the title. The Light Mix row at £10.44 is 20 litres and 5 kg, even though the title also prints 50 L and 10 L. One reviewer on that listing received 20 litres after expecting 50. The 50 litre Light Mix is the other ASIN, listed at 12 kg and £17.15. If the variant and the weight disagree with the picture, do not guess.
Why is a 10 litre bag so light?
Because the DIVCHI listing pairs a 10 litre claim with an item weight of 680 g. Reviewers describe a compressed block that expands when you add water, and some say the result looks short of 10 litres. The bullets do not state a water volume, so do not invent one. A loose 20 litre Light Mix at 5 kg is a different kind of bag. Weigh the claim against the grams before you treat £7.70 as 10 litres.
Does a high review count mean a better compost for my job?
It means more people reviewed that listing. Westland's 4,932 reviews sit on an 8 litre houseplant compost that does not say organic. They do not outrank a 50 litre light mix for a patio of tomatoes, and they do not certify anything. Match the bag to seed, to an established plant, or to one indoor pot, then use the stars as a reading of that job.
What is the Responsible Sourcing Scheme grade?
It is a voluntary A to E score across seven criteria. The logo is not a peat-free mark and not a Soil Association mark. Which? mentions it as something to look for on peat-free bags. None of these five amazon.co.uk files shows a grade, so this page does not assign one. If your bag prints a letter, read that letter on the sack.
Is homemade compost the same purchase?
No. Garden Organic treats heap compost as a soil improver for beds and borders, and potting compost as the mix you put in a pot. Heap compost is a poor substitute for seed compost, and potting compost is a poor mulch for a border. Caddy liners are a third product and not in this comparison at all.
How much bag do I need for one houseplant?
The Westland listing says 8 litres fills a 28 cm pot. That is a useful rule for one repot, at £9.47, and it is the dearest per litre in this set. A 10 litre DIVCHI block may cover a similar pot only after it has been expanded, and the finished volume is disputed. A 50 litre sack is far more than one windowsill plant, unless you are potting several containers in the same afternoon.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK and maker sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures stored for these five listings. Organic wording is not a certifier. All Mix's peat line is the maker's blend article, not a test of the bag in your hand. No ban on amateur peat sales is in legislation.

  1. Defra, horticultural peat announcement, 27 August 2022 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. RHS, peat-free choices (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. Peat Free Partnership, legislation timeline (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Environment Agency, compost resource framework (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Soil Association, approved and verified inputs (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Garden Organic, garden compost or potting compost (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. BioBizz, behind the blend (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Which?, fungus gnats (retrieved 19 October 2026)