Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Electronic door lock for a uPVC door

Updated: 16 October 2026

Open the door, lift the handle, and watch the edge. If hooks, rollers, or bolts move into the frame, you have a lift-to-lock multipoint, which is how most uPVC and many composite doors lock. An electronic door lock for a uPVC door, in this comparison, means a handle that drives that lift. The two listings are the Simpled EF-SP and the Ruveno RU-001. A euro-cylinder motor and a £40 fingerprint handle do not replace them. Prices are amazon.co.uk captures of 15 October 2026. The Products Compared editorial team did not fit either handle. We may earn a commission if you buy through our links. The wider table is the [electronic door lock comparison](/hub/electronic-surveillance/electronic-door-lock).

Open the door, lift the handle, and watch the edge. If hooks, rollers, or bolts move into the frame, you have a lift-to-lock multipoint, which is how most uPVC and many composite doors lock.

Our top picks

On this page

Your door locks when you lift the handle

Lifting the handle throws the points. Turning the key then deadlocks them. Pulling the door shut without the lift leaves it on the latch. A timber nightlatch is not. If the handle does not lift, neither listing here is the right one. Simpled’s note asks for a single spindle rather than a double spindle, and says offset spindles are often incompatible. Ruveno’s about 90% line is the listing’s own claim, not a measurement we repeated.

Simpled EF-SP: the outside can take rain, the inside cannot

The Simpled EF-SP, B0C8757LKK, is about £209.99 and 4.0 from 742 reviews. Only the outside panel is weatherproof. The included line is a mechanical key, proxy fobs, and a phone tag. A Wi-Fi bridge is named and is not on that line. Power is not stated, so do not copy an IP55 rating, four AA cells, or a 40–60 mm thickness from a retailer. If the inside panel will get wet, skip it.

Ruveno RU-001: measure 85 mm by 35 mm before you order

The Ruveno RU-001, B0CRB9QP1T, is the black handle at about £199.99, listed at 4.1 from 201 reviews. The mortise in the box is a 3585: 85 mm between centres and 35 mm to the door edge. If you need another mortise, ask with a photo before you buy. Alexa needs a Wi-Fi gateway sold separately. The listing says the front panel is waterproof. Reviews report rain inside the lock, a wet sensor, and a battery killed by water. Do not copy 90 mm or 92 mm centres from another brand onto these handles.

A cylinder motor and a £40 handle do not replace this door

The Nuki Ultra turns a euro cylinder after the handle is already up. It does not lift the handle. The £40 fingerprint handles are what reviewers describe on bedrooms and offices. Neither ASIN states BS 3621, TS 007, TS 621, or Secured by Design. West Yorkshire Police still advise a 3-star TS 007 or Sold Secure SS312 cylinder on uPVC doors. That advice is about the barrel already in the door.

Common questions

How do I know my uPVC door is lift-to-lock?
Open it and lift the handle. If the hooks, rollers, or bolts along the edge move into the frame, the door locks by that lift. Turning the key afterwards deadlocks them. If you only turn a key and the handle never lifts, you do not have the mechanism these two listings are sold for. A composite door that lifts the same way is in scope. A timber nightlatch is not.
Will the Simpled EF-SP fit if I only turn a key and never lift the handle?
No. The EF-SP listing is for handle-up multipoint mechanisms. If the handle does not lift to throw the points, this is the wrong product. Simpled also says a double spindle or an offset spindle is often incompatible. That note is a check, not a certificate that your gearbox will work.
What mortise size is in the Ruveno box?
The default is a 3585 mortise: 85 mm between the upper and lower centres, and 35 mm from the centre to the door edge. Compare that with the case in your door before you order. If you need a different mortise, the listing says to ask with a photo. Do not use 90 mm or 92 mm centres from another brand’s keypad as if they were printed on this ASIN.
Is the Ruveno front panel waterproof in the rain?
The listing says the front panel is fully waterproofed. Reviews also report rain inside the lock, a fingerprint sensor that failed when wet, and a battery killed by water. Those reports sit against the bullet. Do not treat the panel as weatherproof in the way a fully rated outdoor lock would be, and do not ignore the reviews because the title sounds sealed.
Can the inside of the Simpled get wet?
No. The listing says only the outside panel is weatherproof and that the inside panel must not get wet. If rain reaches the room side, skip the EF-SP. Power, an IP rating, and a battery count are not stated on this amazon capture, so do not fill them from another website while you decide.
Can I use a Nuki cylinder motor instead of one of these handles?
Only if someone still lifts the handle. The Nuki Ultra turns the euro cylinder. It does not throw the hooks. On a door that is secure only after the lift, the motor leaves you with the same manual handle as before. It is the right listing for a euro-cylinder job, and the wrong replacement for this strip.
Does either handle meet TS 007 or Secured by Design?
Neither listing states TS 007, TS 621, BS 3621, or Secured by Design. Police advice on a 3-star TS 007 or SS312 cylinder still applies to the barrel in the door, which you check separately. Changing the handle does not award that mark to the cylinder, and a good cylinder does not make the handle an approved lock. Tell the insurer before you remove hardware the policy names.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources used for standards and safety context, last checked on 16 October 2026. Prices and star ratings are the amazon.co.uk fields in this category.

  1. Secured by Design: locks and associated hardware (retrieved 16.10.2026)
  2. BSI Knowledge: BS 3621:2017+A1:2024 (retrieved 16.10.2026)
  3. DHF TS 007 cylinder and handle star ratings (retrieved 16.10.2026)
  4. West Yorkshire Police: euro-cylinder advice (retrieved 16.10.2026)
  5. GOV.UK: consumer connectable product security (retrieved 16.10.2026)
  6. GOV.UK: Fire safety, Approved Document B (retrieved 16.10.2026)
  7. Approved Document P (2013), electrical safety (retrieved 16.10.2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22 (retrieved 16.10.2026)