Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Hammer crimper vs ratchet

Updated: October 2026

You are looking at a hammer tool from £9.90 to £22.99 and a rotary hex crimper at £22.99, and the hammer’s title offers the wider range. That range is one nest and a swing. A ratchet claim is a handle that is supposed to finish the stroke, not a measured crimp. Use the hammer for a few non-critical copper lugs you can pull-test on a solid bench. Use the rotary hex when the lead has to stay put and you can match a die. Prices for the whole set are on the [cable lug crimper comparison](/hub/electrical-equipment/cable-lug-crimper). AWG clashes and kit lugs are on the [cable lug crimper buying guide](/hub/electrical-equipment/cable-lug-crimper/sub/cable-lug-crimper-buying-guide).

You are looking at a hammer tool from £9.90 to £22.99 and a rotary hex crimper at £22.99, and the hammer’s title offers the wider range. That range is one nest and a swing.

Our top picks

On this page

What the hammer actually does

A hammer crimper in this set is an indent-style blow into a nest, not the hex dies printed on the HX-50B listings. Power and Cables’ account of the two shapes is the useful distinction: a hex spreads force from all sides over a larger area, and an indent is harder to judge by eye. The Growlush at £9.90 has one V-groove claimed from 8 to 95 mm². The listing tells you to strike a spring-loaded plunger with a 2 to 4 lb hammer. One of the two UK reviews said the dies closed fully on a 50 mm ferrule and 50 mm cable and the ferrule was still loose. RiseNova at £11.39 is titled as a steel hammer tool for 3–70 mm² and has no star line and no review text.

What the rotary hex adds

A rotary tool gives you a die marked with a size, and sometimes a ratchet that is supposed to stop you at the end of the stroke. KAIWOLF at £22.99 names 6, 10, 16, 25, 35 and 50 mm², claims a ratchet, and is tool only. All nine reviews are from the United Kingdom, and one says the jaw adjuster sticks and the crimp is uneven. Dechengbao at the same £22.99 has 4.6 from 669 reviews. This capture does not state a ratchet and does not list the six sizes. A marked die can still be the wrong result if the conductor is not retained. Ratchet on the box is not a calibration and not a BS 7609 pass.

Which to buy in this set

At £22.99 you can buy the Rustark hammer set or either tool-only rotary. Rustark claims a hammer, a 10-inch cutter and AWG 4, 6 and 8 lugs. Two reviews say the lugs or the cutter were missing. For a lead that has to stay on a battery or inverter, the rotary at the same money is the clearer buy, because you can select a die instead of trusting one wide nest. Choose KAIWOLF when you want the sizes printed and you accept nine reviews and a sticking adjuster. Choose Dechengbao when you want the large review sample and you accept that this capture does not itemise the dies. Choose the Growlush only for a non-critical lead you can tug and remake. If the cable is outside the stated range, skip both families.

If neither holds the cable

When a rotary die and a careful hammer blow both leave a lug you can pull off, a bigger swing is not the fix. Cut the lug off. The only hydraulic tool in this set is the NMAZA YQ-300 at £67.98 and 5.44 kg. UK reviews still include slack dies and a seal that can blow. It belongs on the main comparison when your cable is already past 50 mm². Stop for an electrician when the joint is fixed wiring or you cannot name the circuit. The stroke and the scrap rule are on how to crimp a cable lug. Battery current and stud size are on the battery cable lug crimper page.

Common questions

Why can the range say 95 mm² and the ferrule still fall off?
Because the number is a claim for one V-groove, not a die matched to 50 mm² or 95 mm². On the Growlush, the dies closed fully on a 50 mm ferrule and 50 mm cable and the ferrule stayed loose. Closing the tool only tells you the plunger went down. The tug tells you whether the conductor is held. If it slides, the joint is scrap whatever the title promised.
Does a ratchet guarantee a full crimp?
No. KAIWOLF states a ratchet and still has a review of a sticking adjuster and an uneven crimp. Dechengbao’s capture does not state a ratchet at all, despite the large review count. Polegas reviews show 16 mm² pulling out of the marked die. A ratchet is a mechanism claim. It is not a calibration, and it is not evidence the lug matches the die.
Is the Rustark set a hammer or a ratchet?
It is a hammer set. The listing is a hammer lug crimper plus a claimed 10-inch cutter and copper lugs, at £22.99. It is not one of the rotary hex tools. The 4.4 from 27 reviews is real as a star line, and the captured comments are not from the UK. Two of them say parts were missing. Check the parcel, then tug the crimp, before you treat it as a finished kit.
Is a hex or an indent better for a copper battery lug?
A hex die presses from all sides and is easier to compare with the size on the cable. An indent, which is what these hammer tools do, puts the force in a blow and is harder to inspect. For a battery lead that has to stay on the stud, the named hex dies on the £22.99 rotary tools are the better mechanism in this set. The hammer remains a bench option you can pull-test and remake.
Where does the hydraulic tool fit if both of these fail?
On cable that is already larger than the hand tools state, not as a second attempt on a lug that pulled out. The NMAZA at £67.98 reaches higher MCM sizes and weighs 5.44 kg, and UK reviews still include slack dies and a seal warning. If a 16 mm² or 35 mm² joint fails in a marked die, replace the lug and check the size. If the cable itself is 70 mm², leave the £23 tools and read the hydraulic listing on the main comparison, faults included.

Related pages

Sources

Public sources from the research digest, used for the buyer point of each standard. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures in the display file, checked on 22 October 2026.

  1. BSI, BS 7609:1992+A2:2009, uninsulated compression connectors (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. Electricity at Work Regulations 1989 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. HSE, work on electrical equipment (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. IET Wiring Matters, March 2020, terminal joints (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. Power and Cables, Cembre crimping steps (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. IEC 61238-1-1:2018, connector type tests (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. E-Tech, BS 7609 and BS 7727 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. Eland Cables, crimp and lug testing (retrieved 22 October 2026)