Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Torx bits for impact drivers: read the neck, not the title

Updated: October 2026

You are about to drive Torx screws with an impact driver, and the chuck accepts any 1/4 inch hex bit. The blows are rotational. Torx bits for an impact driver need a listing that describes a shock zone or a torsion zone. The letters S2, and the word impact in a title, are not that description. The [Torx bits comparison](/hub/drilling-and-accessories/torx-bits) holds the twelve listings. How to seat the bit, and why hammer mode is the wrong ring, is on [how to use Torx bits](/hub/drilling-and-accessories/torx-bits/sub/torx-bits-how-to-use). The Products Compared editorial team read these pages on 15 October 2026 and did not run a lab. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are about to drive Torx screws with an impact driver, and the chuck accepts any 1/4 inch hex bit. The blows are rotational. Torx bits for an impact driver need a listing that describes a shock zone or a torsion zone.

Our top picks

On this page

What the maker has to describe

Wera’s UK page for Impaktor Torx bits describes a torsion zone, a diamond coating, and a 1/4 inch hex to DIN ISO 1173-F 6.3. The torsion zone is the extra claim. Bosch Professional UK lists a two-piece pack at £3.31, outside our twelve. ISO 10664 inspects the recess. It is not an impact-life test. A title is not enough.

What these twelve listings actually say

Milwaukee Shockwave, catalogue 4932471586, is £17.90 and names a SHOCKZONE. The T-numbers are not printed. LIBRATON, at £13.99, states a torsion zone and TT7 to TT40. Several reviews were written before use. Both lines are seller text, not a test we ran. Facoow, ELEAD and YONGYONGBUY say impact and do not describe a neck. Qnkaa lists manual torque tools.

The Universal Bit-Check is the drill-driver box

The Wera Bit-Check 30 TX Universal 1, part 05057908001, at £18.95, is described for drill-drivers. The amazon.co.uk page tells you that impact machines should use Impaktor. Screwfix marks that model Standard. Impaktor on Screwfix is model 05057688001, and it is not one of the twelve. Use the Universal box on a clutch drill. A reviewer who got away with the wrong family has not created a rating.

Sockets, small packs, and the workplace rule

LEXIVON LX-143, at £21.99, does not state an impact rating. One UK review records a T40 that snapped on a control-arm bolt. Do not upgrade that report into a rating. Qnkaa states manual torque tools. If you employ people, the Control of Vibration at Work Regulations 2005 and PUWER apply at work. HSE says they do not cover the public’s non-work exposure, and they do not certify a bit.

Which listing to open

Open the Milwaukee Shockwave set when you want a stated shock zone and can order without T-numbers on the page. Open LIBRATON when you want a stated torsion zone and you accept the TT list as written. Leave the Wera Universal box on a clutch drill. S2, and the word impact on its own, are not that description.

Common questions

What should the listing describe before I use the bit in an impact driver?
It should describe a shock zone or a torsion zone for impact drivers. Wera’s Impaktor bits, Bosch’s PRO Impact T bits, and Milwaukee’s SHOCKZONE pages do that in their own words. A 1/4 inch hex, 6.3 mm in ISO 1173, only tells you the bit will click in. Click-in is fit. The neck is the duty. If the listing is silent on the neck, do not treat the bit as impact duty.
Does S2, or the word impact in the title, count as that description?
No. S2 is an alloy name. It does not mean a torsion zone is machined into the bit. Facoow and ELEAD use impact in the title or the compatibilities and do not describe a neck. YONGYONGBUY names impact drivers and does not describe one either. A page that pairs S2 with a torsion zone is not evidence that every S2 bit has that neck.
Is the Wera Bit-Check 30 TX Universal 1 an Impaktor set?
No. The amazon.co.uk listing says the Universal 1 set is for drill-drivers and tells you to use Impaktor on impact machines. Screwfix marks model 05057908001 as Standard, not Impact. The 10-piece Impaktor set on Screwfix is model 05057688001. Wera UK lists the two 30-piece boxes under separate names. The case you already own may still be the drill-driver box.
Which of these twelve listings states a shock zone or a torsion zone?
Milwaukee’s 32-piece Shockwave set, catalogue 4932471586, at £17.90, states a SHOCKZONE. LIBRATON’s 25-piece set, at £13.99, states a reinforced torsion zone. Those are the two descriptions inside the twelve. Other titles that say impact do not add that geometry. Qnkaa says manual torque tools. None of this is a lab test we ran.
Can a socket set go on an impact wrench because a reviewer did?
Some LEXIVON buyers did use an impact wrench. The LX-143 listing still does not state an impact rating, and one UK review records a T40 that snapped on a control-arm bolt. Treat that as a limit, not as permission. Qnkaa’s listing is explicit about manual torque tools. A socket and a 1/4 inch insert stay different duties even when both say Torx.
Do I need a 30-piece box, or will two T20 bits do?
Two bits in the size on the packet are enough for one job. Bosch lists two-piece PRO Impact T packs at £3.31, outside this comparison, with a torsion zone. A larger box earns its place when you want spare T20 and T25 bits. Buy the geometry first. A case of rigid bits is not a neck.
If I employ people, what is the vibration rule actually about?
The Control of Vibration at Work Regulations 2005 apply to employers. HSE says they do not apply to the public’s non-work exposure. Together with PUWER, they deal with the tool and exposure time at work. They do not award an impact rating to a bit, and they are not a reason to pick one alloy name. A homeowner driving fence screws is outside that employment duty.

Related pages

Sources

Public sources used for this comparison. Last checked on 16 October 2026.

  1. ISO 10664:2014 — hexalobular internal driving feature (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. BS EN ISO 10664:2014 — UK text of the recess standard (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. ISO 1173:2001 — assembly tools for screws and nuts, drive ends (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. Wera Impaktor TORX bits — impact geometry, not this Bit-Check (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. HSE — selecting powered equipment (PUWER) (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. Consumer Rights Act 2015 — GOV.UK (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Insight Security — security Torx pin and matching bit (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. Camcar — TORX trademark and tamper-resistant family (retrieved 16 October 2026)