Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Cordless drill set buying guide

Updated: 2026-10-23

You are choosing a first kit on amazon.co.uk for a shelf, a flat-pack or a short run of screws. Prices in the comparison run from about £14.93 to £140. A high piece count does not tell you whether the drill can finish the job. This cordless drill set buying guide is the order of checks before the price. Products Compared read the listings in the [cordless drill set comparison](/hub/drilling-and-accessories/cordless-drill-set), using shelf prices from 19 October 2026. We did not test the kits in a lab. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are choosing a first kit on amazon.co.uk for a shelf, a flat-pack or a short run of screws. Prices in the comparison run from about £14.93 to £140.

Our top picks

On this page

What a cordless drill set includes

A set worth comparing contains the drill, a battery and a charger. A bare body is a different purchase, and you only want it if you already own that platform. Read the scope of supply, not only the title. The Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 states two 1.5 Ah packs, charger AL 18V-20, a case and a double screwdriver bit. The 18V-38 states one 2.5 Ah pack and the same charger family. The charger is the mains part: a UK three-pin plug for 230 V. OPSS report 2511-0084 rejected one drill charger for poor isolation and a bad plug. That report is not a verdict on these twelve listings.

Five checks before the price

Start with the job. Screws in timber and chipboard are a drill-driver job. A possible plug in ordinary masonry is why people look at a combi. Hard brick is not a reason to buy a heavier toolbox. Next, read a torque figure you can quote once. The clutch collar is separate from the two-speed gearbox. A larger number on the title is not a measured torque. Then the chuck. A 13 mm keyless chuck takes a wider shank than 10 mm. The 18V-40 states 13 mm and 40 Nm. The 18V-38 states 10 mm and 38 Nm. If your bits are already under 10 mm, the smaller chuck is not a defect. Batteries come next. Two packs let you swap. A 99-piece count is mostly bits, and reviews often report soft or snapped bits.

Combi, drill driver, or a toolbox

A drill driver spins and drives screws. The WORX WX183.2 is that shape, and a reviewer says it is not a hammer drill. A combi adds percussion in the same keyless chuck. The Bosch EasyImpact titles state that mode. It is for a masonry bit in a light hole, not an SDS rotary hammer. BS EN 62841-2-1 covers hand-held drills and impact drills. It does not cover rotary hammers. An impact driver uses a hex collet. In the Stanley FATMAX kit it sits beside a hammer drill. The 165 Nm figure belongs to the driver. The hammer drill is stated at 50 Nm. Quoting 165 Nm as the drill mixes the two tools. The DEKO listing is a 186-piece case with one 20 V drill, one 1.5 Ah battery and a USB-C charger at about £59.99. Torque and chuck are not stated.

When the numbers on the listing disagree

The FADAKWALT title says 30 Nm. The maximum-torque cell says 35 Nm and the torque cell says 21 Nm. You can still see two 1.5 Ah batteries, a charger and a bit kit at about £41.99, with 4.4 from 1,020 reviews. You cannot pick one torque and ignore the other two. The BLACK+DECKER BCD700S1K-GB states hammer drilling, including 21,000 blows per minute, at about £65.99 and 4.6 from 205 reviews. The torque cells say 1 inch-pound, so the comparison shows torque as unknown. One reviewer could not drill some house brick, and the included-components cell does not name a charger. When two cells conflict, quote both or say the figure is not stated. If those checks are clear and you want one kit named, use the best cordless drill set page.

Common questions

What should be in a cordless drill set, not just the drill?
You want the drill, at least one battery, and the matching charger, ideally with a case. Bits are welcome and often thin. A body-only listing suits you only if you already own that platform. In this comparison the Bosch kits name the charger and the packs.
Is a 13 mm chuck worth it over 10 mm?
It is worth it when your bits need the wider shank. The EasyImpact 18V-40 states 13 mm. The 18V-38 states 10 mm, and several compact kits state 10 mm or about 3/8 inch. For screwdriver bits and small twist bits, the smaller chuck is enough. A 13 mm chuck does not, by itself, make the drill better in brick.
Do I need two batteries?
Which? describes two packs so one can charge as the usual way to avoid stopping. Two 1.5 Ah packs, as on the 18V-40 and the FADAKWALT kit, let you swap. One 2.5 Ah pack, as on the 18V-38, stores more energy and still leaves you waiting when it is flat.
What is the clutch for, and what is gear 1?
The clutch is the numbered collar. It slips so a screw stops before you tear the head. Gear 1 is the slower speed for screws and large bits. Gear 2 is faster for small bits. They are different controls. No single clutch number is correct for every screw.
How do I read a torque line that appears three times?
If the title and the cells disagree, you do not have a single torque. On the FADAKWALT listing the title says 30 Nm, one cell says 35 Nm and another says 21 Nm. On the BLACK+DECKER listing the torque cell says 1 inch-pound, so we do not state a newton-metre. Leave the figure unknown rather than averaging it.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 19 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures in the display file.

  1. Electrical Safety First: drills (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. HSE: PUWER (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. HSE: hand-arm vibration (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. BSI: BS EN 62841-2-1:2018+A1:2022 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK: Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. OPSS product safety report 2511-0084 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. NFCC: lithium-ion batteries (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Stanley Tools UK: FATMAX V20 18 V battery pack (retrieved 19 October 2026)