Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best cordless drill set

Updated: 2026-10-23

You want one kit for shelves, flat-pack and a possible light hole, and a 21 V title should not decide it. The best cordless drill set here is the Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 when you want a stated 40 Nm, a 13 mm chuck and two batteries. The FADAKWALT kit is best value under £45 if the torque line disagrees with itself. Products Compared scored the twelve listings on 19 October 2026. Prices are in the [cordless drill set comparison](/hub/drilling-and-accessories/cordless-drill-set). A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You want one kit for shelves, flat-pack and a possible light hole, and a 21 V title should not decide it.

Our top picks

On this page

How this pick was scored

Each score is out of 100, from stars, review count, kit fit and value. A tie is broken by the higher star line, once. That product is the top pick. The strongest value score among the rest is best value, once. The Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 and the FADAKWALT kit both score 86. The Bosch line is 4.7 from 650 reviews, so it is the top pick. The FADAKWALT value part is the highest, at about £41.99 with 4.4 from 1,020 reviews, so it is best value. The 18V-38 is next at 82. Stanley is last at 49. The checks sit in the cordless drill set buying guide. B&Q lists an EasyImpact 18V-40 with two 2.0 Ah packs. The ASIN we scored, B09Q7VXX43, is two 1.5 Ah packs at about £83.64.

Top pick for mixed home jobs

The Bosch EasyImpact 18V-40 is the top pick if you want an 18 V combi with numbers you can read. It states 40 Nm, a 13 mm chuck, two 1.5 Ah batteries, charger AL 18V-20 and a case, at about £83.64. The bullets include impact drilling in masonry. One buyer mounted a television and said their experience was mostly flat-pack. Skip it if you need a full bit set. The scope of supply is a double screwdriver bit. Skip it for hard brick. Masseys limits this model family to general DIY masonry and points heavy concrete toward an SDS. The 18V-38, at about £76.50 with one 2.5 Ah pack and a 10 mm chuck, suits a smaller job if you can wait for one battery.

Best value under £45

The FADAKWALT 20 V kit is best value if you want two batteries and bits without crossing £45. It lists two 1.5 Ah packs, a charger and a 34-piece bit list, with 4.4 from 1,020 reviews. Buyers mention a 5 by 3 metre gazebo and furniture. The chuck is 0.38 inch, in the same band as the 10 mm kits, not the 13 mm Bosch. It is not the top pick because the torque line fails. The title says 30 Nm, the maximum-torque cell says 35 Nm and the torque cell says 21 Nm. Hammer mode is not described in the bullets. If you need one newton-metre you can repeat, look at the Bosch. If you are driving timber screws, the review sample is the largest in this set.

Kits that are not the pick

The Huini set at about £14.93 states 45 Nm, a 10 mm chuck and one 1500 mAh pack, with 4.5 from 298 reviews. Reviewers fit blinds. The bits are the weak part, and hammer mode is not clearly named. The WORX WX183.2 at about £119.99 shows 4.9 from 18 reviews. Eighteen reviews do not outweigh 650. Torque is not stated, a reviewer says it is not a hammer drill, and two bullets describe a hedge trimmer. The Stanley FATMAX kit at about £140 pairs a hammer drill stated at 50 Nm with an impact driver. It scores 49 because the line is 3.9 from nine reviews, and one review says a brushless claim arrived brushed. The Maxesla set reports a chuck that would not release a masonry bit.

Common questions

Is the amazon.co.uk EasyImpact the same as the B&Q kit?
No. B&Q’s EasyImpact 18V-40 is described with two 2.0 Ah packs. Wickes sells a bare EasyImpact 18-40 with no battery. The listing we scored is two 1.5 Ah packs, a double screwdriver bit, charger AL 18V-20 and a case at about £83.64. The model family matches. The box contents do not. Check the amp-hour line on the page you pay.
Who should buy the £14.93 Huini instead?
Someone who wants a cheap first drill for blinds and light screws, and who expects the bits to be the weak part. Hammer mode is not clearly named. It is a poor substitute if you need a second battery, a 13 mm chuck or a wall.
Why is the Stanley kit not the pick at £140?
It includes a hammer drill stated at 50 Nm, an impact driver and two 2.0 Ah batteries. The 165 Nm figure is the driver, not the drill. The line is 3.9 from nine reviews, and one buyer says a brushless claim arrived brushed. Nine reviews and a disputed motor claim are why it scores 49.
Why is a 4.9 WORX score not the winner?
Because 4.9 from 18 reviews is a thinner sample than 4.7 from 650. The WX183.2 is a 20 V drill driver at about £119.99 with a 13 mm chuck and one 2.5 Ah battery. Torque is not stated. A reviewer says it is not a hammer drill. Two listing bullets describe a hedge trimmer. The sample is small.
What does top pick mean if there was no lab test?
It means the highest score on stars, sample size, kit fit and value, using these amazon.co.uk listings. The Bosch won a tie on the higher star rating, not on a bench. Masseys’ limit still applies: general DIY masonry, not heavy concrete.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 19 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures in the display file.

  1. Electrical Safety First: drills (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. HSE: PUWER (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. HSE: hand-arm vibration (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. BSI: BS EN 62841-2-1:2018+A1:2022 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK: Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. OPSS product safety report 2511-0084 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. NFCC: lithium-ion batteries (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Stanley Tools UK: FATMAX V20 18 V battery pack (retrieved 19 October 2026)