Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best window box: the listing that matches the sill

Updated: October 2026

You are looking at nine amazon.co.uk listings that all say window box, and they are not the same object. A best window box here means the listing whose size and drainage match the sill you have measured. It does not mean the highest star line, or Amazon’s sales rank. This page is from the Products Compared editorial team. Figures are the listings saved on 15 October 2026. We did not grow a season in these boxes. A qualifying purchase through our links can earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The full set is on the [window box comparison](/hub/door-and-window-security/window-box).

You are looking at nine amazon.co.uk listings that all say window box, and they are not the same object. A best window box here means the listing whose size and drainage match the sill you have measured.

Our top picks

On this page

What best can mean in this set

Amazon’s Window Boxes list is a popularity list. Bamworld’s black three-pack is rank 1 on the saved page. That rank does not show the box is stiffer or better drained than the other eight. Neither star line is a trial of frost or a wet week. The Royal Horticultural Society treats drainage holes as essential. Saucers come off before winter: window boxes through winter. Where a title and a size table disagree, the Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9, judges quality against the description. Brackets are on the window box buying guide.

Short boxes for a sill

Bamworld’s three-pack suits a short covered sill if you want a saucer and can live with a depth printed twice. Skip it for one long trough. One UK text calls the boxes very narrow. ARTKETTY suits a succulent dish. Plants are not included. Skip it when you need about 15 cm of soil. Some orders arrived smashed, and reviews often say it is smaller than the photo. Fuyuleyo suits a kitchen sill if the cotton wicks arrive. Skip it where rain has to leave. That choice is on self-watering or drainage. B2C is freestanding wood-effect plastic, not timber. Skip it for a known 38 cm length.

Multi-packs and long troughs

ZOENHOU’s title says 43 cm and the item dimensions are a cube. Skip it for one 60–90 cm trough. UK reviews mention thin walls. Bamworld’s seven-pack bullet says two holes and a saucer, and both attribute lines say 10 × 10 × 10 mm. Follow the bullet, then measure the parcel. Whitefurze’s pair ticks drainage and does not describe holes. UK reviews often found pin-pricks. Skip it if you need a saucer in the box. The 90 cm Whitefurze title says black, the colour attribute is forest green, and drainage is not stated. UK reviews describe sides that bow once the box is full. Skip it on an upper sill. Kigima states a reservoir and drainage no, with no overflow. Keep it under cover. Written reviews on file are not from the United Kingdom.

What to leave off this page

A bestseller trough and retailer fibreglass or zinc boxes sat outside these nine on 15 October 2026. A shop price is context, not a row in this comparison, and not a test.

Common questions

Which listing is a short sill box, and which is a long trough?
Bamworld’s three-pack is about 40 cm, with depth printed as 12 cm and as 9 cm. ARTKETTY is 6.9 cm high. Fuyuleyo is about 27 cm. The long troughs are Whitefurze at 60 cm and a 90 cm title. Kigima is 50 cm. Measure the flat sill before you treat any length as a fit.
Which boxes show holes, and which only tick drainage?
Bamworld’s three-pack names three holes and a saucer. The seven-pack names two holes and a saucer, beside a 10 mm size line. ARTKETTY names one hole and a tray. ZOENHOU names pre-drilled holes and a tray, beside a cube. Whitefurze ticks drainage on the 60 cm pair and does not describe holes. The 90 cm listing does not state holes. B2C supplies stoppers and marked spots.
Is the B2C trough 38 cm or 58 cm?
The title says medium, 38 cm, grey, at about £12.94. Both dimension lines are 18 × 58 × 16.5 cm, and capacity is 10.67 litres. Measure the box that arrives. The finish is wood-effect plastic, and the bullets do not call it timber. It is freestanding, with no hooks. One UK review found no open drainage.
Which two listings are self-watering?
Fuyuleyo, about £16.99, describes cotton wicks and a water window. One UK review says the ropes were missing. Kigima, about £26.20, describes a reservoir, sets drainage to no, and states no overflow. A sill where you can see the water matches those bullets. An open balcony in UK rain is the case to skip until an overflow is on the object.
Are the Bamworld packs the same box in two colours?
No. The black three-pack is 3.8 litres, three holes, and a depth of 12 cm or 9 cm, at about £23.74. The red seven-pack has a 43 cm bullet, 11.81 litres, and attribute lines of 10 × 10 × 10 mm, at about £16.14. Colour is only one of the differences. Neither is a self-watering reservoir.
What sits on the bestseller list outside this set?
Lechuza’s BALCONERA Color 80 was listed at about £46.91, with 4.6 from 3,028 ratings, on 15 October 2026. It is not one of the nine, and other UK shops showed different prices the same day. Fibreglass and zinc troughs were about £25 to £150 on retailer sites. That range is context, not a row in this comparison.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings in this set. Last checked 15 October 2026.

  1. RHS: growing plants in containers (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. RHS: how to plant a container (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. RHS: peat-free choices (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. BBC Gardeners' World: self-watering planters (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. GOV.UK: General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (Great Britain) (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. Approved Document B, volume 1, dwellings (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. Garden News: how to plant a window box (retrieved 15 October 2026)