Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best spy camera

Updated: October 2026

The best spy camera is not simply the highest star average. You may need phone alerts, a long local recording with no app, or a camera that stays powered at a fixed socket. This shortlist uses the eleven amazon.co.uk listings in our [spy cam comparison](/hub/diy-supplies/spy-cam). Shelf prices and review counts belong to this comparison, not to the whole market. Peter F., DIY & tools editor, did not lab-test a camera. Use one only in a room you control, and read the [spy camera buying guide](/hub/diy-supplies/spy-cam/sub/spy-cam-buying-guide) before you point it at a person. If you buy through a link, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

The best spy camera is not simply the highest star average. You may need phone alerts, a long local recording with no app, or a camera that stays powered at a fixed socket.

Our top picks

MDCGN MDCGN H2 power-bank camera

Best overall

MDCGN MDCGN H2 power-bank camera
8.6/10about £42.99
OTADUG OTADUG mini camera

Preis-Tipp

OTADUG OTADUG mini camera
7.8/10about £26.99
On this page

Live view on your phone

The AOBOCAM A12 is the live-view choice in this set. At £21.84 it combines a 2.4 GHz app, Bluetooth, and a hotspot with motion alerts. The listing states 1080p, six infrared LEDs, and a 10-metre night-vision range. Its 3.9 average comes from 932 reviews, so you are not trusting a perfect score from a handful of buyers. The battery is quoted at up to 90 minutes, no card is included, and it is indoor only. The cheaper app cameras need a harder look. The £15.99 keft is 5.0 from eight reviews and has no night-vision line. The £11.99 SHENMEILA does not state a Wi-Fi band or an infrared range. The £14.99 KXYINOS says Wi-Fi in the bullets and Bluetooth in the specification.

A long recording with no app

The MDCGN H2 fits a long local recording when you can collect the card. It lists 5000 mAh and claims more than 10 hours, records 1080p, can run while charging, and has no Wi-Fi or app. Four infrared LEDs are listed, with no distance. At £42.99 the extra over the AOBOCAM buys that battery claim, not a higher resolution. Storage stops at 32 GB, the card is extra, and the 4.4 average is 21 reviews. The Skyinrill claims 60 hours for £49.98, from two reviews, with a 3-metre night-vision line only in a bullet. Pick the MDCGN if ten-plus claimed hours are enough, and test the Skyinrill in the return window if you pay more. Neither alerts you while you are away. That trade-off is Wi-Fi or no-Wi-Fi spy camera.
MDCGN MDCGN H2 power-bank camera

Testsieger

MDCGN MDCGN H2 power-bank camera
8.6/10about £42.99

A fixed mains camera with an app

The UBEOK is the fixed-power option: £49.99, mains, 2.4 GHz, and motion alerts, at 1080p with 16–128 GB cards. Continuous power avoids the roughly 90-minute ceiling of the mini cubes, if the socket is where the camera must sit. Night vision is not stated, a card is not listed, and the listing does not show a BS 1363 plug. The 3.6 average is 18 reviews. The heygocam wall clock shows 5.0 from one review, contradicts itself on night vision, and costs £52.99. Choose the UBEOK only when mains app access is the job. Choose neither for an unlit room or a battery you can move.

The local cube with the deepest review history

The OTADUG costs £26.99, records without Wi-Fi, and has 3.6 from 1,186 reviews. The bullet says a 32 GB card is included and that motion recording is available. If you can fetch the card and do not want an account, that file of reviews is more useful than a thin 5.0. The specification says there is no night vision, and there is no phone alert. Battery lines conflict: 1500 mAh in the specification, 2000 mAh and about 11 hours in a bullet, which also estimates 7–8 GB an hour at 1080p. The review average is not a lab result.

Common questions

Which spy camera in this set is the one to buy?
The AOBOCAM A12 is the strongest live-view choice because its specification sits beside 932 reviews. The MDCGN H2 is the better fit for a claimed ten-plus hours of local recording. The OTADUG suits daytime card recording and has the deepest review history here. The right name depends on the job.
Should I trust a 5.0 rating?
Read the review count in the same sentence. The keft A-NINE is 5.0 from eight reviews, the Skyinrill is 5.0 from two, and the heygocam wall clock is 5.0 from one. Those averages may be genuine, but they are too thin to settle reliability. A lower average from hundreds of owners often tells you more.
Does a higher price mean sharper video?
No. The £43–£53 products generally buy a larger battery claim, or a charger, clock, or key form. Stated resolution is usually 1080p. The RUMUCF pen does not state a resolution in its specification block, so a higher shelf price is not a sharper picture in this set.
Which model sends phone alerts?
The AOBOCAM, keft, SHENMEILA, and UBEOK state app alerts. The KXYINOS has conflicting Wi-Fi and Bluetooth lines. The MDCGN, Skyinrill, IKLOOCQ, heygocam, OTADUG, and RUMUCF pen are local choices with no phone warning. Fitting a card does not create an alert.
Is a memory card included?
Usually not. The AOBOCAM, keft, SHENMEILA, MDCGN, Skyinrill, and IKLOOCQ say the card is extra, while the UBEOK and heygocam do not list one. The OTADUG bullet says a 32 GB card is included. Check the current listing and the capacity before you rely on a recording.
Can I use one to monitor a nanny?
Routine filming of a nanny, cleaner, or gardener is worker monitoring under the ICO's published guidance, not a gadget decision inside your home. Read the nanny cam UK guide before you record. No product title makes a toilet, a bathroom, or someone else's bedroom a lawful place to film.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources on home CCTV, worker monitoring, voyeurism offences, plug safety, connectable-product security, and faulty goods, taken from the research digest. Prices are the amazon.co.uk shelf prices recorded for these ASINs. They move. Page updated 17 October 2026.

  1. ICO, Home CCTV systems (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  2. ICO, Data protection and monitoring workers (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK, Monitoring staff at work (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  4. Voyeurism (Offences) Act 2019 (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  5. Sexual Offences (Scotland) Act 2009, section 9 (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  6. Sexual Offences (Northern Ireland) Order 2008, Article 71 (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  7. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  8. GOV.UK, consumer connectable product security (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  9. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22 (retrieved 17 October 2026)