Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Rebar bender buying guide

Updated: 23 October 2026

You are about to pay for a manual rebar bender because the amazon.co.uk title says 14 mm, and the bar on the rack may be ribbed rather than smooth. This rebar bender buying guide puts the checks in order: the bar you will bend, the type of tool, the former, then a bench that stays put. The nine listings sit on the [rebar bender comparison](/hub/diy-supplies/rebar-bender). A star line is the last thing you read, not the first. Prices are the shelf figures from those amazon.co.uk listings, in GBP. We did not bend bar in a lab. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are about to pay for a manual rebar bender because the amazon.co.uk title says 14 mm, and the bar on the rack may be ribbed rather than smooth.

Our top picks

On this page

Start with the bar, not the badge

Match the millimetre line to the steel in your hand, and check whether the listing names ribbed bar or only round bar. BS 4449 is the standard behind B500A, B500B and B500C. Shopmp’s GP-2, outside this set, limits one core to smooth bar at 14 mm and ribbed bar at 12 mm. Several 4–14 mm bullets never make that split. Zhildmosin is stated at 4–14 mm, including deformed rods, at £74.99. No former is printed, so that is not a promise for every 14 mm B500 bar. CISSIYOG 95193 is 5.0 from two ratings with no review text, at £60.99. Nobody names a diameter. Leave the stars until the bar matches.

Four tools are not one shelf

Rebar bender covers four machines, and they do not stand in for each other. DOODLREAM limits steel rebar to 1–4 mm, at £17.89. Singring states 1–6 mm rebar at £29.59, and its 12 mm columns are the pin, not the bar. The crowded group is the bench pin, often with a 180 degree claim, from £42.88 to £76.91. It wants a bench that does not lift, and it is not a stirrup machine. NiQiWuKin’s Rb-58m is the handheld, up to 5/8 inch at £76.91, with no millimetre line. KATSU 165193 is 29 kg at £164.99, for flat, round, square and angle, and it prints no rebar range. It is not model 165189 or 165190. CISSIYOG 95193 and RebarBender01 are separate pins.

Ask for the former diameter

The bar follows the former, not the largest number in the title. BS 8666:2020 Table 2 sets a minimum mandrel of four times the bar size up to 16 mm. For 12 mm bar that is 48 mm. For 16 mm it is 64 mm. None of the nine listings prints a former diameter. A 180 degree headline is how far the handle swings, not a 48 mm mandrel. The safe claim is narrower: the listing states a bar range, and it does not state the pin you would check against a schedule. RCM’s Kennedy 20/16 lists a 38 mm former, already under the 48 mm minimum for 12 mm bar.

A plate that lifts is not a bender

UK notes on Zhildmosin and Mekturm say the tool has to be fixed to a bench. Zhildmosin includes a mounting plate, not a listed bolt set. Mekturm describes screws as included. If the box does not list fixings, you still need bolts. One Mekturm reviewer could not bend 12 mm on a scaffolding board. Another bent 12 mm after the tool was screwed down. Only then read a review that names a diameter. What these pins claim at 12 mm is on bend 12 mm rebar. Day rates are on hire a rebar bender.

Common questions

What do I read before the star line?
Read the bar you will bend, whether the listing names ribbed or deformed steel, which of the four tool types it is, and any former diameter. On these nine listings the former is not printed, so you are left with the capacity line and the mount. CISSIYOG 95193 is 5.0 from two ratings with no text, which says nothing about 12 mm or 14 mm bar.
Does 14 mm on a rebar bender mean ribbed B500?
No. Fourteen millimetres is a size, not a grade. Ribbed bar to BS 4449 is the B500 family. Shopmp’s GP-2, outside this set, limits ribbed bar to 12 mm and smooth bar to 14 mm on the same core. If the amazon.co.uk bullet does not say ribbed, deformed or B500, do not fill that gap yourself.
Why does the former matter if the bar goes round the pin?
The schedule cares about the diameter of that pin. Table 2 of BS 8666:2020 asks for a minimum mandrel of 48 mm on 12 mm bar. A thin pin can put a tight kink where the shape code wanted a 24 mm scheduling radius. It goes round is not a check you can finish from these pages.
Is the 29 kg KATSU the same as a 4–14 mm pin?
No. KATSU 165193 weighs 29 kg, forms flat, round, square and angle up to 120 degrees, and costs £164.99. It prints no rebar millimetre range, and it is not model 165189 or 165190. A 4–14 mm bench pin is a different tool, in a band of about £43 to £77.
What is a safe claim if no former is printed?
Say that the listing states a bar range and does not state a former you can set against BS 8666. Do not say the tool is compliant or suitable for a scheduled shape. If the drawing names a mandrel, measure the pin or buy a machine that prints its formers.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Updated 23 October 2026.

  1. Concrete Society, cutting and bending on site (retrieved 23 October 2026)
  2. Concrete Society, straightening and rebending (retrieved 23 October 2026)
  3. Concrete Society, cold weather (retrieved 23 October 2026)
  4. BRC BS 8666:2020 shape-code chart (retrieved 23 October 2026)
  5. Collins BS 8666:2020 Table 2 transcription (retrieved 23 October 2026)
  6. CARES specification guide (retrieved 23 October 2026)
  7. HSE construction manual handling (retrieved 23 October 2026)
  8. RCM cranking iron and manual benders (retrieved 23 October 2026)