Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

2020 aluminium extrusion

Updated: 23 October 2026

You are building a short frame, and 2020 aluminium extrusion only helps if the bar has a slot, the nuts are the right width, and the length on the title is the length in the box. A plain 20 × 20 × 2 mm channel looks similar in a search and will not take those T-nuts. LED openings are a different family, on the [aluminium profile for an LED strip](/hub/diy-supplies/aluminium-profile/sub/aluminium-profile-led-strip). Prices from 19 October 2026 stay on the [aluminium profile comparison](/hub/diy-supplies/aluminium-profile). A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We did not build a machine.

You are building a short frame, and 2020 aluminium extrusion only helps if the bar has a slot, the nuts are the right width, and the length on the title is the length in the box.

Our top picks

On this page

2020 means a slot, not 20 mm of wall

2020, in this set, means a slotted rail whose outside is nominally 20 mm by 20 mm, with a groove for nuts and brackets. Fabal’s mill-finish channel is 20 × 20 × 2 mm of plain U or C section at £13.20, with 6063-T6 stated and 4.6 from 7 reviews. It has no T-slot. Buying it because the numbers say 20 mm gives you a fabrication bar, not a frame rail. The angle at £10.16 has no groove at all. A nominal 5 mm slot rejects a common 6 mm T-nut. Ooznest’s own bar is about 6.13 mm in the slot, and that figure is not a measurement of these kits. If a listing never prints a slot width, you cannot know which nut you already own.

What these three kits actually state

iMetrx B0F13B9NZN is eight black 200 mm V-slot bars at £25.99, with angle brackets, connector brackets, M5 bolts, T-nuts and two hex keys, packed at 830 g. iMetrx B0F13BYZPW is the same hardware list at £29.99 with eight 300 mm bars and a packed weight of 1.2 kg. Neither listing states an alloy grade or a slot width in millimetres. Straight couplers are not in the contents. CNCMANS B0BYHSMGDC is four black 600 mm bars at £21.33, 4.5 from 48 reviews, with a title slot of 6.2 mm, four L-brackets, 50 T-nuts and a wrench. One review measured 19.8 mm outside rather than 20 mm and could not use existing 20 mm hardware. Measure a nut you already own against the stated 6.2 mm, and do not assume the iMetrx slot matches it. Black anodising scratches once the film is off.

Length and the shared score

Eight 200 mm bars are short sides. Eight 300 mm bars and four 600 mm bars are longer runs. A 200 mm kit cannot become a 600 mm side without couplers, and those couplers are not in the iMetrx box. The two iMetrx ASINs share 4.6 from 24 reviews, and the texts also mention a 700 mm kit. CNCMANS reviews mix a 1000 mm option with the 600 mm title. Treat each title length as the claim. The cut itself is on how to cut an aluminium profile.

A kit is not a cut-to-size trade bar

An amazon kit pays for short bars plus the brackets in the carton. Ooznest’s cut-to-size 20 × 20 mm rail is about £0.92–£1.09 a metre including VAT, 6063-T5 on their page, slot about 6.13 mm, cut tolerance about ±0.2 mm, and hardware not in the bar price. Fabal’s stated tolerance on a mill-finish metre is ±2 mm. Do not copy Ooznest’s alloy, slot or tolerance onto iMetrx or CNCMANS. Those kits do not state 6063-T5 or 6063-T6. Hydro’s EN AW-6063 minima, 215 MPa tensile and 170 MPa proof for walls up to 10 mm, apply only where the listing states the grade. These three kits do not. They are not a tested platform and not a load-rated machine base. If you only needed a light bracket, the £10.16 angle is the mill-finish corner on best aluminium profile.

Common questions

Is 2020 the same as a 20 × 20 × 2 mm channel?
No. 2020 here is slotted V-slot rail for T-nuts. Fabal’s £13.20 channel is 20 × 20 × 2 mm of plain section with no slot, even though it states 6063-T6. The outside size is not the groove. A nut from an iMetrx or CNCMANS kit has nowhere to sit in that channel.
What slot width do these kits actually state?
CNCMANS prints 6.2 mm on the title. The two iMetrx kits say V-slot and do not print a width in millimetres. Ooznest’s 6.13 mm slot is their cut-to-size bar, not these kits. A 5 mm slot and a 6 mm nut do not interchange, so a missing width is a reason to check before you buy more nuts.
Are the nuts and brackets in the iMetrx box?
Yes. Both lengths list angle brackets, connector brackets, M5 bolts, slider nuts, T-nuts and two hex keys. They do not list straight couplers. CNCMANS lists four L-brackets, 50 T-nuts and a wrench, not the same count of angle brackets as iMetrx.
Do the 200 mm and 300 mm kits have separate reviews?
They share one 4.6 from 24 reviews. The block includes comments about 300 mm and about a 700 mm kit. One review names eight 300 mm lengths. Do not read the star line as two independent tests of the two ASINs.
Is 200 mm, 300 mm, or 600 mm the right piece length?
Use 200 mm or 300 mm when the frame side is that length and you want eight matching pieces with brackets. Use 600 mm when you need fewer, longer rails and you accept CNCMANS’ four-bar pack. A side longer than the bar needs a coupler or a longer rail, and the iMetrx box does not include in-line couplers.
Will V-slot hardware from another brand fit if the slot is not stated?
Reviewers say some 2020 nuts fit across makers, and one iMetrx comment says bars from different makers take the same nuts. That is not a measurement. CNCMANS states 6.2 mm and still had a review at 19.8 mm outside that missed existing 20 mm hardware. If the slot width is absent, test one nut before you rely on a mixed frame.
Can you use this as a load-rated machine base?
No. Nothing in these listings is a tested platform or a load rating. Alloy grade is not stated on the three kits, so EN 755-2 minima do not apply to them. A stiffener story in a review is not a safe working load. Keep the kit to light frames, shelves and guards.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Prices and review counts were captured on 19 October 2026.

  1. Durbin Metals, 6063-T6 data sheet (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  2. Hydro EN AW-6063 datasheet (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  3. BSI, BS EN 755-2:2016 overview (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  4. GOV.UK Approved Document P (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  5. LED Technologies profile guide (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  6. LED Lighthouse plaster-in method (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  7. Ooznest extrusion category (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  8. HSE EH44, dust from cutting and grinding (retrieved 19.10.2026)