Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Folding spade buying guide

Updated: October 2026

You are looking at amazon.co.uk listings that all say folding shovel, and they are not one tool. A 23 inch survival folder, a boot shovel and a 23 cm trowel share the shelf. This folding spade buying guide is the check you do before you sort by stars. Prices on the 19 October 2026 capture run from about £6.29 to about £24.99, and the twelve rows stay on the [folding spade comparison](/hub/digging-tools/folding-spade). Peter F. compared those listings and the UK review notes. We did not dig with the tools. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are looking at amazon.co.uk listings that all say folding shovel, and they are not one tool. A 23 inch survival folder, a boot shovel and a 23 cm trowel share the shelf.

Our top picks

On this page

Three tools share this name

The main group is a tri-fold entrenching tool. Where a length is stated and believable, these open to about 41–61 cm, and credible weights sit around 0.7–1.4 kg. You use one for a camp hole, a fire pit where a sign allows a fire, or snow beside a tyre. You stoop. A 23 inch title is still a short handle, and reviewers keep saying so when they try to garden with it. The simpler car tools are the boot shovels. Hilka 84720099 is 690 g. Hilka’s own page describes that model for snow and gives a blade of about 155 mm by 114 mm. The amazon capture states the weight and does not state that blade or an open length. The Draper 51002 is 1.02 kg, with a serrated blade, and this capture also leaves the open length unstated. A boot shovel moves a small amount of snow or mud. It is not a driveway shovel. The third tool is the Ycnpeatt pocket trowel, about 23 cm and 110 g. UK reviews use it for waste and a rucksack. It will not shift snow. A garden plot still wants a full-size spade with a long shaft, which these folders are not.

The checks, in order

Length comes first, and only a length you can believe. Snow around a car or a camp hole wants a folder whose listing states roughly 40–80 cm open. A walk wants something near 100 g. The ADTSADDTO 23 inch shovel states 23 inches and an 8.2 inch blade. The Meehoo states 46 cm and 640 g. The Eidoct states 41.5 cm open and 17.2 cm packed. The longer ADTSADDTO states 38 cm to 81.2 cm. The Draper, the Hilka and the Epic Militaria do not state an open length. The lock is the second check. These tools use a nut, a collet or a push-button. If it is not seated, the head can fold onto your hand. A Meehoo review describes a blood blister from a loose bolt. A Gerber Gorge review says the head folds when you press the handle. Seat the lock, then try to fold the head with your hands. The General Product Safety Regulations 2005 expect a consumer product to be safe in foreseeable use, so a collapsing lock is a safety question, not a star question. Then ask whether the listing agrees with itself. Six tools here are titled as folding while Is Foldable says No. Carbon or alloy steel is the digging norm. Stainless is the trowel. High-carbon on a title is not a thickness, and none of these listings states one. NATO on the Epic Militaria title is not British Army issue. The origin line is China. Pouch and price come last. Count a pouch only when the listing names it. A heavier folder is not stronger: the Xtremeauto is 1.08 kg and UK reviews include bends in ordinary soil.

Listing lines you should not trust on their own

Read the contradictory line before you add the tool to a basket. Is Foldable says No on the Meehoo, the Draper, the Hilka, the Gerber and the Ycnpeatt, while the titles say they fold. The PLACHIDAY CP611 prints an item weight of 100 g. Reviews describe a shovel you would carry, so do not compare 100 g. Its 4.0 from 306 is the same sample, and the same review text, as the other PLACHIDAY ASIN. Do not add 306 and 306. The 24 inch PLACHIDAY has a usable bullet of 24 inches open and a fold to 10.7 inches. The line 81.3 x 81.3 x 182.9 cm is not a shovel size. The 23 inch ADTSADDTO prints 998 g and 1,180 g. The 32 inch ADTSADDTO prints three weights and is the only stated window hammer. The Gerber blade lines disagree, so keep 41.9 cm and 771 g and do not pick a steel the listing contradicts.

What to do with that on the comparison

You are ready for the table once you can reject a listing whose only length or only weight is the contradictory line. Keep the job in mind: boot snow, camp hole, pocket waste, or detecting. The largest counts are the 23 inch ADTSADDTO at 4.6 from 1,811 and the Gerber at 4.4 from 1,276. Neither count is a strength test. Who each stronger listing is for sits on the best folding shovel page. If the job is snow around the wheels, use the folding shovel for the car and look at the Hilka and the Draper before a multi-tool title. If the job is a farmland plug, use the folding spade for metal detecting. Most of these shafts are shorter than a purpose-made detecting spade. Take one believable length and one lock you understand. Stars come after that.

Common questions

How long should a folding spade be for a car boot?
For snow or mud around the tyres, look for a stated open length of roughly 40–80 cm. The Hilka and the Draper are the simple boot tools here, and neither amazon listing states that open length, so you are buying on weight, brand and reviews. A 23 inch title is about 58 cm and reviewers still call it short. A 23 cm trowel will not move snow. A driveway clear wants a longer snow shovel, which is outside this set.
Is 23 inches a normal garden-spade length?
No. A border spade is a standing tool with a long shaft. Twenty-three inches, about 58 cm, is a short entrenching handle. You stoop, and UK reviews of the 23 inch ADTSADDTO say it is too short for gardening. Use it for a boot, a camp hole or a tight gap. If you want to dig a bed while standing, buy a full-size spade.
Carbon steel or stainless for a digging folder?
Carbon steel or alloy steel is what the digging listings state. The stainless tool is the Ycnpeatt trowel, about 110 g, for a pocket, not a boot. Carbon steel rusts if you put it away wet. One ADTSADDTO review reports rust after a night in a river. Dry the blade. The Epic Militaria line is alloy steel, even if a question on the page asks about stainless.
What does NATO on the title actually mean?
On the Epic Militaria listing it is a style word. The origin line is China, the weight is 1.2 kg, and the open length is not stated. That is not British Army issue and it is not a NATO approval. UK reviews describe hard use, including a hole a full-size spade would not fit, and one reviewer could not fold it after beach sand filled the threads. Judge the case, the weight and the missing length.
Why does the specification say the shovel is not foldable?
Several titles say folding while Is Foldable says No, including the Meehoo, the Draper, the Hilka, the Gerber and the Ycnpeatt. Reviews and the title are telling you the tool is meant to fold. The flag is the broken line. Do not treat a Yes flag as proof the lock is strong either. The Xtremeauto flag says Yes, and UK reviews still report bends.
Does a pouch always come in the box?
No. Count a pouch when included components or the bullets name it. That is true here for the Meehoo, the Eidoct, the Ycnpeatt, the Gerber bag, the longer ADTSADDTO case and the Epic Militaria case. On the 23 inch ADTSADDTO, the Draper, the Hilka and both PLACHIDAY listings, a bag shows up in reviews and not in the specification. If the pouch is why you are buying, require it on the live page.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest. Last checked in October 2026.

  1. GOV.UK, General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Report treasure (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. Treasure Act 1996 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK, The Countryside Code (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Lake District National Park, outdoor toilet tips (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. HSE, manual handling in agriculture (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Hilka, folding boot shovel 84720099 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Gerber, Gorge (retrieved 19 October 2026)