Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Cordless fan buying guide

Updated: 21 October 2026

A warm evening in a British flat, with one free socket and a listing that promises 40 hours, is how a rechargeable fan gets bought for the wrong job. This cordless fan buying guide is the order of checks before you pay: the job, the hours at the speed you will use, the decibel line, then the charger. Live prices for the eleven amazon.co.uk fans, from about £18.99 to about £134 on 19 October 2026, are on the [cordless fan comparison](/hub/cooling/cordless-fan). Peter F. compared those listings and public UK sources. There was no lab test. If you buy through our amazon.co.uk links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

A warm evening in a British flat, with one free socket and a listing that promises 40 hours, is how a rechargeable fan gets bought for the wrong job.

Our top picks

Bearwind Bearwind S40

Best overall

Bearwind Bearwind S40
8.4/10about £19.99
KASYDoFF KASYDoFF F42

Rank 2

KASYDoFF KASYDoFF F42
8.6/10about £24.99
TriPole TriPole KW57

Best value

TriPole TriPole KW57
7.3/10about £18.99
On this page

Start with the job, not the brand

A cordless fan moves air onto your skin. It does not lower the temperature of an empty room the way a portable air conditioner does. A handheld is a face breeze you can pocket. A small desk fan is hands-free for one person. A telescopic stand starts to cover a bed. A misting portable adds a spray. None of these is a mains pedestal. Name the job in one sentence before you sort by price. The desk fan vs handheld fan page stays on that fork.

Read the hours at the speed you will use

The longest hour on a cordless fan is the lowest speed. The WHATOOK CF03 quotes up to 40 hours at speed 1 and up to 12 hours at speed 100, from a 10,000 mAh cell. The TriPole quotes 31 hours on low and 5 hours on high. The KASYDoFF quotes 6 hours at maximum and more than 24 hours in eco. The HydroGo quotes, without misting, up to 12, 3.5 and 1 hour on speeds 1, 3 and 5. If you buy the 40-hour line and then leave the fan on its top step, you have bought a different product from the headline. Do not paste a 24-hour FlexBreeze claim onto the HydroGo. Overnight settings are on the quiet cordless fan for bedroom page.
Bearwind Bearwind S40

Testsieger

Bearwind Bearwind S40
8.4/10about £19.99

Treat the decibel figure as a claim

A single decibel number on an amazon.co.uk listing is a seller claim, not a measurement we repeated. Good Housekeeping treats under 40 dB as a very quiet band for sleep or work. That is a reviewer's rule of thumb. The KASYDoFF table says 25 dB, and reviews say the sweep is noisier to one side. The TriPole says 20 dB on the table and under 20 dB on low, while reviews say the highest setting is noisier. The Bearwind lists 40 dB and is noisy close to your face on the higher settings. The charcoal HydroGo lists 45 dB. The quartz listing has no decibel cell. The GAITIR lists 20 dB and still draws complaints about a rattle. Oscillation is separate from a tilt. The KASYDoFF states a 90° sweep and a 1–8 hour timer. The TriPole's 120° figure is a tilt, and it does not state a timer.

Charger, oscillation and the seller

Most of this set is a 5 V USB-C fan. The Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 cover a 50–1,000 V AC band, so they bite on a 230 V charger more often than on the 5 V motor. A mains plug, when one is in the box, should be BS 1363. The Status IONOS uses micro-USB, and battery capacity is not stated. Shark tells you to use the named HydroGo charger, and not to heat the pack above 60°C. Running while charging is model-specific. The WHATOOK seller says it can. The TriPole listing does not, and one review describes a heat shutdown when it was charged and run hard. If the fan is faulty, the Consumer Rights Act 2015 gives you 30 days to reject it. At a typical 3.7 V, 10,000 mAh is about 37 Wh, a rule of thumb under the CAA's 100 Wh cabin figure. Spare lithium batteries do not go in the hold.

Common questions

What should you check before you buy a cordless fan?
Name the job first: a fan you hold, a desk fan for one person, a short stand, or a mister. Then read the runtime at the speed you will leave it on, not the longest hour in the title. Check whether a timer is actually listed, and which charger the seller names. A star line is not a noise test.
Why is the battery life on the box so much longer than a night on high?
Sellers quote the gentle setting when they want a large number. The WHATOOK's 40 hours is speed 1, and speed 100 is quoted at 12 hours. The TriPole's 31 hours is low, and high is 5 hours. The HydroGo's 12 hours is speed 1 without mist, and speed 5 is about an hour. If you want a blast, use the short figure.
Is a low decibel number enough to call a fan quiet?
No. The number is a claim, and it often belongs to the lowest speed or to an unspecified distance. The GAITIR lists 20 dB and reviews still mention a rattle. The Bearwind lists 40 dB and reviews call the high settings noisy beside your face. Good Housekeeping's under-40 dB band is a guide for readers, not a certificate for these ASINs.
Do you need oscillation, or is a tilt enough?
A tilt is enough when the fan points at one person who stays still, which is the TriPole. Automatic oscillation earns its place when you share a bedside, which is why the KASYDoFF states a 90° sweep. A sweep can add noise. If the listing only says the head adjusts, do not assume a motor will turn it for you.
Can you take a 10,000 mAh fan on a plane?
The CAA counts watt-hours, and its lithium note uses 100 Wh as the usual cabin cap. A 10,000 mAh pack at a typical 3.7 V is about 37 Wh, a rule of thumb when the listing omits watt-hours. The airline can still set its own rule. Do not put spare lithium batteries in the hold. A cruise-approved line is a seller sentence, not permission from the ship.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources named below. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts on these listings were read on 19 October 2026. Page updated 20 October 2026.

  1. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations (retrieved 2026-10-20)
  2. General Product Safety Regulations (retrieved 2026-10-20)
  3. Batteries (retrieved 2026-10-20)
  4. CAA watt-hour method (retrieved 2026-10-20)
  5. BS EN IEC 60335-2-80:2024+A11: (retrieved 2026-10-20)
  6. Shark HydroGo (retrieved 2026-10-20)
  7. Expert Reviews, Sefte 8 inch (retrieved 2026-10-20)
  8. OPSS Valiant recall, a different product (retrieved 2026-10-20)