Clamp awning vs folding-arm awning
You have a balcony or a patio, and two products that both use the word awning. One stands between floor and soffit. The other bolts a cassette to the wall. This clamp awning vs folding-arm awning page is the fork: which family, and the condition that decides it. It is not a second buying guide, and it is not the letter you send a landlord. The clamp models are on the [standing awning comparison](/hub/sun-shades/standing-awning). The Products Compared editorial team compared three amazon.co.uk clamp listings on 16 October 2026 with public UK notes on folding-arm fixings. We did not lab-test either family. A qualifying purchase through our links can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
You have a balcony or a patio, and two products that both use the word awning. One stands between floor and soffit. The other bolts a cassette to the wall.
You have a balcony or a patio, and two products that both use the word awning. One stands between floor and soffit. The other bolts a cassette to the wall. This clamp awning vs folding-arm awning page is the fork: which family, and the condition that decides it. It is not a second buying guide, and it is not the letter you send a landlord. The clamp models are on the standing awning comparison. The Products Compared editorial team compared three amazon.co.uk clamp listings on 16 October 2026 with public UK notes on folding-arm fixings. We did not lab-test either family. A qualifying purchase through our links can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Shade depth | Width | Wind class | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | VOUNOT VOUNOT 2.5 × 1.2 m telescopic awning | 1.2 m (projection attribute says 250 cm) | 2.5 m | Not stated | 7.5 | about £64.99 | View offer |
| Preis-Tipp | EVRE EVRE 2 × 1.5 m no-drill awning | 1.5 m | 2 m (one review: cloth about 10 cm narrower) | Not stated | 7.0 | about £87.98 | View offer |
| Alternative | YEAUPE PRO YEAUPE PRO 350 × 180 cm drop awning | Unsettled (projection 350 cm; bullet also 180 cm) | Unsettled (title 350 × 180 cm; attribute 180 cm) | Not stated | 5.1 | about £67.32 | View offer |
Two different machines
How far the shade reaches
Wind and the wall
Which to choose
Common questions
Which one do I want if I must not drill the balcony?
Which one covers a patio table?
Is a clamp as stable in wind as a cassette?
Can a folding-arm go on any wall?
What is the projection difference in metres?
Do I still need permission for the bolted one?
Where does a door canopy fit in this choice?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are from amazon.co.uk on 16 October 2026.
- Planning Portal interactive house, gazebo or awning (retrieved 16.10.2026)
- Planning Portal outbuildings (retrieved 16.10.2026)
- GOV.UK permitted-development technical guidance (retrieved 16.10.2026)
- Greater Cambridge, external shading (retrieved 16.10.2026)
- BSI BS EN 13561:2015 (retrieved 16.10.2026)
- Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22 (retrieved 16.10.2026)
- Shelter England, improvements in a rented home (retrieved 16.10.2026)
- markilux 900 (retrieved 16.10.2026)


