Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Cordless vs corded angle grinder Worx

Updated: October 2026

A cordless Worx looks convenient until you price the battery, and the corded WX717 looks cheap until you notice what the listing never says. The WX717 is about £60.36, 750 W, 115 mm and 11,000 rpm, with no pack to buy. The 20 V tools either arrive as a kit or ask you to add a PowerShare battery and a charger. This page compares those two ways of powering the tool, using amazon.co.uk shelf prices from 16 October 2026. The listings were not lab-tested. A purchase through our links can earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The five listings are on the [Worx angle grinder comparison](/hub/sanders/worx-angle-grinder).

A cordless Worx looks convenient until you price the battery, and the corded WX717 looks cheap until you notice what the listing never says. The WX717 is about £60.36, 750 W, 115 mm and 11,000 rpm, with no pack to buy.

Our top picks

Worx Worx WX812 125 mm kit

Best overall

Worx Worx WX812 125 mm kit
9.2/10about £144.49
Worx Worx WX803.9 125 mm bare

Best value

Worx Worx WX803.9 125 mm bare
9.0/10about £81.41
On this page

What £60.36 buys and what it does not

The corded Worx WX717, ASIN B0BNVSYQ5S, states 750 W, 230 V, a 115 mm disc, 11,000 rpm and 1.8 kg. Worx Europe’s table adds a spindle lock and a slide switch. You do not buy a battery. The box lists a handle, a metal grinding disc and a wrench. That disc grinds. It does not cut. Screwfix puts a 115 mm grinder at about 30 mm of cut depth and treats corded tools as unlimited running time, with the lead as the limit. That depth is a general guide, not a cut on this model. B&Q mentions a 2.2 m cable. That figure belongs to B&Q, not to the amazon.co.uk listing. Unlimited running time holds only while the plug reaches a socket.

What a cordless Worx adds to the cost

The bare WX803.9 is about £81.41 for a 125 mm body and still needs a pack and a charger. The WX801.9 at about £60.03 is incomplete in the same way, on a 76 mm disc. The WX812 kit is about £144.49 with a 4.0 Ah pack and a charger. If you own no packs, compare £60.36 with the kit, not with the bare body. The gap is £84.13. It buys a battery, a charger, a 125 mm disc, and a listing that names a brushless motor and electronic anti-kickback. If you already own packs, the WX803.9 works when you clip one on. A 2.0 Ah pack was £31.99 on 16 October 2026, and reviewers say a small pack dies quickly on the 125 mm body. That choice is the PowerShare battery page.
Worx Worx WX812 125 mm kit

Testsieger

Worx Worx WX812 125 mm kit
9.2/10about £144.49

What the WX717 listing does not say

The amazon.co.uk listing does not name anti-kickback. The WX812 listing does, and reviewers of that kit say the cut-out works. A blank field does not prove the corded tool will snatch, or that it will not. The listing does not state the plug type. UK plugs fall under the Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994, and this page will not assign a plug the listing does not show. Check the photo and the box. There is no UK review text in this set for the guard or the lead. The listing says two years, plus three with online registration. Worx UK publishes 2+1 years if you register within 30 days. Those sentences are not the same.

Which one to buy

Buy the WX717 if you own no PowerShare pack and the work stays next to a socket. You pay about £60.36 for 750 W, a 115 mm disc, and no anti-kickback sentence, and you confirm the plug and lead on the tool. Buy a cordless Worx if you already own packs, or if the cut is up a ladder or in a garden. The WX812 kit is the complete buy in that case. The bare WX803.9 is the buy only when the packs exist. Neither is the safer tool. Guard, disc and two hands are the how to use page. Whether 115 mm is enough is the buying guide.

Common questions

Is a corded or cordless angle grinder better for DIY?
Corded is the better DIY buy when the work is next to a socket and you own no Worx batteries. Cordless is the better buy when you already own PowerShare packs or you cannot trail a lead. The WX717 is about £60.36 and 115 mm. The WX812 kit is about £144.49 and 125 mm with a 4.0 Ah pack. Better depends on that condition, not on a single winner.
Is the WX717 cheaper than a cordless Worx?
It is cheaper than the WX812 kit by £84.13 on these shelf prices, about £60.36 against about £144.49. It is not automatically cheaper than a bare WX803.9 once you already own a battery and a charger. Comparing £60.36 with £81.41 ignores the pack the bare listing does not include. A 76 mm bare body at about £60.03 is a different disc, not a like-for-like saving.
Does the WX717 have anti-kickback?
The amazon.co.uk listing does not name it. The WX812 listing does name electronic anti-kickback. Worx Europe’s WX717 page lists a spindle lock and a slide switch, not that cut-out, in the spec points used here. Do not treat a blank field as either a hidden feature or a defect. Confirm on the tool and the manual you receive.
Does the WX717 come with a UK plug?
The amazon.co.uk listing does not state the plug type. UK mains equipment is expected to meet the plug regulations, and you should still look at the photo and the moulded plug on the box before you assume a BS 1363 plug is fitted. This page will not assign a plug the listing does not show. A wrong plug is a reason to stop, not a reason to file an adapter in as a permanent fix.
When is a cordless Worx worth the extra money?
When the lead cannot reach, or when you already own PowerShare packs and the WX803.9 body is only about £81.41. The extra money is also worth it if you want the WX812’s named anti-kickback and a 4.0 Ah pack in the same box and you have nothing to clip on today. It is poor value if every cut you make is at a bench with a socket and a 115 mm disc is enough.

Related pages

Sources

Worx UK and Worx Europe pages for the range, PowerShare and warranty, plus HSE guidance on abrasive wheels and vibration, and the UK plugs regulations. Listing prices and star counts are from the amazon.co.uk extracts kept for this comparison on 16 October 2026. Prices move.

  1. Worx UK, Angle grinders (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. Worx Europe, WX803.9 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. Worx UK, PowerShare (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. Worx UK, Product warranty (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. HSE, HSG17 Safety in the use of abrasive wheels (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. HSE, INDG175 Hand-arm vibration (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. HSE, Vibration risk assessment (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 (retrieved 16 October 2026)