Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best 500W fan heater

Updated: 21 October 2026

You want a short list for a high socket, a desk, or a caravan on hook-up, and a reason to leave the other rows. The best 500W fan heater in this set is the listing whose controls match that job and whose amazon.co.uk reviews are numerous enough to mean something. Best here means best for a stated job, not a lab crown. The full grid is the [500W fan heater comparison](/hub/portable-heaters/500w-fan-heater). Prices and stars are from the listings checked on 19 October 2026. These heaters were not tested in a lab. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You want a short list for a high socket, a desk, or a caravan on hook-up, and a reason to leave the other rows.

Our top picks

On this page

If the socket is high enough

The black Russell Hobbs RHPH2001B is the top pick when a socket already sits high enough for the clearance. It is about £20.51, a 500 W maximum, with two fan speeds, a 12-hour timer and 15–30 °C in the bullets. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.0 from 6,510 reviews, shared with the white RHPH2001, so it is one pool. Reviewers describe fast local heat in a shed, a utility room, a caravan or beside a desk. They also call it loud, and they say it will not heat a bedroom on its own. The listing does not state an overheat or tip-over cut-out. Voltage is listed at 220 V and 2.27 A. The white RHPH2001 at about £25.99 does not state a voltage. Pay the difference only if you want the white body. Ventox PHI-328 at about £15.01 is the best value when you want a remote. It states 240 V, 15–32 °C and a 1–12 hour timer. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.1 from 76 reviews. One review says 59 dB rather than 38 dB. Tip-over protection is not stated. Skip every plug-in row if the only sockets sit near the skirting. The checks are on the buying guide.

If you need a lead and a desktop

Tiazhan WD-228 at about £19.99 is the corded desk heater that states 230 V, with 500 W or 1,000 W and both cut-outs claimed. Amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from 7 reviews, which praise the lower setting and a tip-over cut-out that worked once. Seven reviews are not a reason to place it above the Russell Hobbs pool. There is no degree range and no timer, and the heat-output field says 1,000 W. DDHTSAL YND-500DS at about £23.99 has 4.2 from 1,122 reviews, with 500 W, 900 W and fan-only, and no automatic thermostat. The 45 dB title is disputed, and the 16 A field does not match 900 W at 220 V. The word Bathroom in a room-type line is not an IP rating. Both Jorxentia colours are about £58.65 with almost no reviews. Skip that pair. Where the lead should run is on the how to use page.

What the review files can and cannot prove

The 6,510 Russell Hobbs ratings are one file on two colour listings. They cannot tell you a decibel level, or that the white heater was tested on its own. DDHTSAL’s 1,122 reviews cannot turn 45 dB or a 16 A field into a measurement. Tiazhan’s seven reviews cannot outrank 4.0 from thousands of ratings. Laeomeo has no star line, and matching the white Russell Hobbs dimensions is not proof they are the same product.

Who to skip

Skip the plug-in heaters if you cannot meet the manual clearance: more than 30 cm from the bottom of the heater to the ground and more than 50 cm to the side. Some shop copy says 20 cm below the socket. Follow the manual. Skip them as well if you need something quiet enough to sleep beside. Skip the Tiazhan if you need a timer or a printed degree band. Skip the DDHTSAL if you wanted a thermostat that cycles by itself, or if you were about to treat 16 A as the current. Skip both Jorxentia colours at about £58.65. Skip the Laeomeo while the page prints two room sizes and no reviews.

Common questions

Which listing has a timer and a stated temperature band?
Russell Hobbs prints 15–30 °C in the bullets and a 12-hour timer, on both colours. Ventox prints 15–32 °C and a 1–12 hour timer, and it is the listing that also claims a remote. Tiazhan, DDHTSAL, Jorxentia and Laeomeo do not give you that pair of controls in a form you can set by degrees.
Is the white Russell Hobbs better tested than the black one?
No. Both show 4.0 from 6,510, and the review text in the two files matches. The black listing is about £20.51 and states 220 V and 2.27 A. The white listing is about £25.99 and does not state voltage. Choose the colour, then read the socket height, rather than treating the white page as a second test.
Is Ventox the heater with a remote?
Yes, in this set. The Ventox PHI-328 at about £15.01 claims a remote, an LED display, a 1–12 hour timer and a 15–32 °C thermostat. Russell Hobbs reviews say there is no remote on that plug-in heater. The remote does not fix a socket that is too low.
Why skip the £58.65 Jorxentia pair?
The grey YC-N8 has no star line. The beige YC-N8 has one review, which praises the lower setting and reports a strong plastic smell. Neither page states a voltage, a degree thermostat or a timer. Desk heaters in this set near £20 have more review text.
Can I trust Tiazhan’s 5.0 from seven reviews?
You can trust it as a small, positive sample. Six texts praise the lower setting, the handle and a tip-over cut-out that worked once, and they do not record a repeated fault. You cannot treat 5.0 from 7 as stronger evidence than 4.0 from 6,510 on the Russell Hobbs pool.
Which desk heater states 230 V?
Tiazhan WD-228 states 230 V. DDHTSAL states 220 V. Both Jorxentia colours do not state a voltage. A 230 V line is still not a photograph of the plug, so check the pins are BS 1363 before you rely on a hook-up.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources for the unit rate, the plug, clearance and the room-heater standard. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures checked on 19 October 2026.

  1. Ofgem — Changes to the energy price cap, 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. Ofgem — Energy price cap unit rates and standing charges (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. Electrical Safety First — Portable heaters (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Electrical Safety First — How safe is your home? 2025 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. OPSS — Product safety report: Alpha plug-in fan heater 2403-0079 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. BSI — BS EN 60335-2-30:2009+A13:2022 room heaters (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue Service — Heaters (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Russell Hobbs RHPH2001 manual (retrieved 19 October 2026)