Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

High leverage concreters nippers: joint versus length

ComparisonOctober 20267 min read
A steel fixer twisting annealed tying wire with a long concreters' nipper, a short end cutter lying beside the coil on a British site bench.

High leverage is Knipex's own 25 percent claim against its standard nipper of the same length. Handle length still decides whether a 300 mm pair fits.

Top pick: KNIPEX 99 11 300
Top pick: KNIPEX 99 11 300
See comparison →

You are lacing a sheet of mesh, and the dearer listing says high leverage while the cheaper one is a short end cutter for knots. High leverage concreters nippers are a joint decision. Knipex says that pattern needs about 25 percent less effort than its own conventional nipper of the same length, with a shorter head and more damping after the cut. The claim does not choose 200 mm, 250 mm or 300 mm for you.

Products Compared read the amazon.co.uk listings in this set in October 2026, the Knipex concreters' nippers page, Tooled-Up's notes on concrete nippers, and Thanet Tool Supplies on the Knipex 68 01 pattern. There was no lab cut. Prices are those amazon.co.uk shelf figures, in GBP. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

In short

High leverage concreters nippers use a joint Knipex compares with its own standard nipper of the same length: about 25 percent less effort, a shorter head, and more damping after the cut. The claim does not shrink the handles. In this set only the KNIPEX 99 11 300 states that joint. The short end cutter states a mesh-knot job and a cut, without a pliers standard, and its length lines do not agree.

What the joint changes

A concreters' nipper, sold in Britain as steel-fixers' nips, has a short head and long slim handles. You roll the handles so the jaws spin annealed tying wire around a crossing, then the same edges cut the tail. Knipex describes that as lacing reinforcing steel from a roll, then twisting and cutting in one pass. The high-leverage version keeps that job and moves the pivot so more of your hand force arrives at the edge.

The maker's account is specific. The head is shorter. Effort, against a conventional Knipex nipper of the same overall length, is about 25 percent lower, and the stroke is damped after the wire parts. Products Compared did not repeat that measurement. It is the manufacturer's comparison of its own two patterns, held at one length so the joint is the variable. A few ties on a repair may not show it. An afternoon of the same squeeze is the duty the claim is written for.

The handles are still what you roll. A high-leverage 300 mm pair sweeps a 300 mm arc. A wall, a starter bar or the side of a trench can stop that arc before the joint does the work the listing describes. Measure the swing before you pay extra for a pivot you cannot finish. Plastic-coated handles on the KNIPEX 99 11 300 are for grip. The coating is not the leverage, and the page does not call the handles insulated.

The maker's 25 percent line

Knipex states that its high-leverage nippers need about 25 percent less effort than its conventional nippers of the same length. A 300 mm high-leverage nipper is not the partner in that sentence for a 160 mm end cutter or a hook. Change the length and the percentage no longer describes the pair in your hand. The amazon.co.uk listing shows no lab certificate for the figure. On a few crossings you may not feel it. On a long afternoon of ties, that is the duty the claim is aimed at. A joint saving does not repair a chipped blade.

Trade length sits beside the claim. Tooled-Up's notes often put about 250 mm at the centre of site leverage and about 200 mm where the work is tight. Buying the longest model because 25 percent sounds large, then working inside formwork, pays for a swing you cannot complete. The concreters' nippers buying guide sets those lengths against the listings here.

ISO 9242 sets principal dimensions and test values for construction pincers, used with the tests in ISO 5744. A DIN ISO 9242 line means the seller is pointing at that standard. It does not mean high leverage, and we did not inspect a certificate. The effort claim and the standard line answer different questions.

Short end cutters on mesh knots

Short end-cutting nippers have their own length. Thanet Tool Supplies sells the Knipex 68 01 pattern as steel-fixers' nips from 160 mm to 280 mm, with a head shaped for mesh knots, and states edges around 61 HRC for that pattern. A 160 mm nipper suits a knot you can face. It is the wrong reach for a long roll deep in a cage. About 61 HRC stays on that pattern. The Pissente page does not state it.

End cutter is wider than the 68 01 head. The Pissente bullets say the tool twists and cuts binding wire and mesh knots. The item-type field also says side-cutting pliers, a different jaw. The title says 6 inch, about 152 mm, close to the table at 16.1 cm by 5.6 cm and 213 g. One bullet says 161 cm. The title and the table can describe a short cutter. The bullet cannot. The binding pliers comparison keeps that conflict visible. If the parcel matches the table, you have a light cutter, 213 g against 537 g for the 300 mm Knipex. If the length is wrong, send it back. This listing is not a checked 68 01.

The two nippers in this set

Only the KNIPEX 99 11 300, ASIN B00202HMWU, says high leverage. It is £26.99, listed at 300 mm and 537 g, with a 25 mm cutting width, plastic-coated handles and DIN ISO 9242. The bullets say the wire is twisted and cut in one pass. Knipex puts medium-hard wire at 3.8 mm for this pattern, so 1.4 mm and 1.6 mm annealed tying wire sits inside that line. The star line is 4.5 from 1,073 reviews. Written UK comments also report snaps, blades that do not meet, stiffness, a wrong item and one suspected non-genuine pair. Inside this set it is the top pick: one length, the joint named, and a review count large enough to argue with. That is a job match on these pages, not a ranking of every nipper in Britain. See best steel fixers' nips.

The Pissente, ASIN B0D1Q6S4HD, is £10.46. It claims an end cutter for binding wire and mesh knots, and it does not say high leverage, name DIN ISO 9242 or give a wire diameter. The star line is 4.4 from three reviews, too few to show whether edges chip. The shelf gap is £16.53. Take it only if the tool in your hand matches the 16.1 cm table. The Zeromall hook at £7.99 does not say it cuts, so it sits outside this comparison. Nipper against twister is on concreters' nippers versus a wire twister.

When 300 mm earns its reach

On an open shed base a 300 mm nipper is a fair shape. The handles clear, the roll on 1.6 mm annealed wire is longer, and the joint is in the duty the maker describes. If the tails are messy, look at the knot and whether the blades meet before you blame the length. Coil choice sits on the tying wire diameter page.

Length is the complaint when the handles hit formwork, a wall or a narrow trench. Trade notes put about 200 mm on a short swing and about 250 mm on a long day's leverage. A kinder pivot does not turn 300 mm into 200 mm. Paying £26.99 for reach you cannot use is the dearer mistake, and a shorter branded nipper can be the better shape even though this table does not contain one.

Two misses follow. Buying 300 mm for open mesh, then calling the tool too long, ignores an edge or a stiff joint. Treating every end cutter as the 160 mm Knipex 68 01 borrows a hardness figure the page does not state. Before you pay, the bullets should say twist and cut, the length should be one length, and DIN ISO 9242 should be read as a claim on the Knipex row only. The joint is the leverage. Handle length decides whether you can use it.

Common questions

What does high leverage mean on concreters' nippers?
High leverage is a joint layout. Knipex says its high-leverage nippers need about 25 percent less effort than its own conventional nippers of the same length, with a shorter head and more damping after the cut. The comparison is length for length. A high-leverage pair is still as long as the handles printed on the page, so a 300 mm tool still needs room to roll. In this amazon.co.uk set only the KNIPEX 99 11 300 states that joint.
Is the 25 percent figure from a lab you can cite?
No. The 25 percent line is Knipex's comparison of its high-leverage nippers with its own conventional nippers of the same length. Products Compared did not run a force test, and the figure is not an ISO result printed for this page. Use it as the maker's claim about effort on a repeated tie, then judge length separately. Tooled-Up's trade notes still centre about 250 mm for a long day and about 200 mm where the handles have little room.
Is a 160 mm end cutter the same tool as a concreters' nipper?
It is the same family with a different length and, on the Knipex 68 01 pattern, a head shaped for mesh knots. Thanet Tool Supplies lists that pattern from 160 mm to 280 mm and states edges around 61 HRC for that pattern. A 160 mm nipper can tighten a knot you can reach. It is a poor substitute when you need a long roll on an open cage. A listing that merely says end cutter is not automatically a 68 01.
When is a 300 mm nipper worth buying?
A 300 mm nipper earns its reach on open mesh, where the handles can complete a roll and the extra length adds leverage on 1.4 mm or 1.6 mm annealed tying wire. It is the wrong length once the swing hits formwork, a wall or a narrow trench. High leverage does not shorten those handles. If the only work is a tight corner, a shorter nipper of about 200 mm is the shape trade notes describe, even when that shorter pair is not in this table.
Does DIN ISO 9242 mean the nipper is high leverage?
No. ISO 9242 sets principal dimensions and test values for construction pincers. A DIN ISO 9242 line on an amazon.co.uk listing is the seller pointing at that standard. It is a claim on the page, not a certificate inspected for this article, and it does not describe the joint as high-leverage. In this set only the KNIPEX 99 11 300 names the standard. Written reviews on that listing still include edges that do not meet, so the line does not guarantee every pair.
Will a short nipper cut 1.6 mm tying wire?
Knipex publishes a medium-hard capacity of 3.8 mm for the 99 11 300 pattern, so 1.6 mm annealed tying wire sits inside that maker's line. We did not cut a sample. A short end cutter sold for mesh knots is aimed at the same soft tying wire, but the Pissente listing claims soft and hard wire without a diameter. Do not treat 1.6 mm as a stated capacity on that page, and do not treat 3.8 mm as a licence to cut fence wire.
Do plastic handles create the leverage?
No. Leverage comes from the joint and the length of the handles. Plastic-coated handles on the KNIPEX 99 11 300, and the PVC grips on the Pissente listing, are there for comfort and grip. Neither listing describes the handles as insulated, and neither cites a live-working standard. Keep both tools off conductors. A softer grip can make a long afternoon less harsh. It does not replace a high-leverage joint, and it does not make a short tool longer.
Which listing in this set is high leverage?
Only the KNIPEX 99 11 300, ASIN B00202HMWU, at £26.99. The listing names a high-leverage joint, 300 mm, 537 g, a 25 mm cutting width and twist-and-cut in one pass. The Pissente end cutter at £10.46 describes binding wire and mesh knots and does not say high leverage. The Zeromall hook at £7.99 does not state a cut at all. High leverage here is one row in the binding pliers comparison, not a label you can assume from the search title.
Peter F.
Products Compared

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.

10 articles written
Updated: October 2026

Related articles