Rat poison buying guide for UK households
You have found droppings in a shed or beside a bin store, and the online listings all seem to promise a quick answer. A useful rat poison buying guide starts somewhere less exciting than stars or pack size: the label must say the bait is for general-public use and for the place where you intend to use it. You also need a suitable tamper-resistant station, because none of the five baits in our [rat poison comparison](/hub/pest-control/rat-poison) includes one. Once those checks are settled, form, stated active ingredient and price can help you choose without mistaking a larger tub or a bold title for a safer product.
You have found droppings in a shed or beside a bin store, and the online listings all seem to promise a quick answer.
You have found droppings in a shed or beside a bin store, and the online listings all seem to promise a quick answer. A useful rat poison buying guide starts somewhere less exciting than stars or pack size: the label must say the bait is for general-public use and for the place where you intend to use it. You also need a suitable tamper-resistant station, because none of the five baits in our rat poison comparison includes one. Once those checks are settled, form, stated active ingredient and price can help you choose without mistaking a larger tub or a bold title for a safer product.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Form | Active on listing | Station model | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | The Big Cheese Big Cheese all-weather blocks | Damp-proof blocks | Not stated | STV179, not included | 8.6 | about £16.40 | View offer |
The Big Cheese Big Cheese Ultra Power blocks | Blocks, 15 x 20 g | Not stated | STV566, not included | 9.1 | about £10.42 | View offer | |
| Best value | Rentokil Rentokil Rodine grain bait | Grain sachets, 200 g | Brodifacoum 0.0025% w/w | Lockable box, no model | 8.8 | about £7.10 | View offer |
On this page
Check the user on the pack
Check where the pack may be used
Add the station before you compare bait
Then compare form, active and price
Common questions
Can I buy professional rat bait without a certificate?
What should a householder look for on the pack?
Does outdoor include a field or waste area?
Do any of these five baits include a station?
Is Pet Safe a reason to skip the station?
Which listing states its active ingredient?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources used for this comparison; last checked on 16.10.2026.
- HSE: Using biocides (retrieved 16.10.2026)
- HSE: Rodenticides (retrieved 16.10.2026)
- HSE: SGAR bulletin on open areas (retrieved 16.10.2026)
- Think Wildlife: bait station label criteria (retrieved 16.10.2026)
- CRRU: training and professional supply (retrieved 16.10.2026)
- GOV.UK: Pest control on your property (retrieved 16.10.2026)
- NHS: Poisoning (retrieved 16.10.2026)
- BPCA: Rat control (retrieved 16.10.2026)


