Mosquito bracelet vs spray: when each one is enough
When you compare a mosquito bracelet vs spray, start with the health risk. If mosquito-borne disease is possible, use the skin repellent in current UK travel guidance. UKMEAG puts 50% DEET first and names alternatives when DEET is not tolerated. A plant-oil wristband from the [mosquito bracelet comparison](/hub/pest-control/mosquito-bracelet) does not replace that step. A band can be a comfort extra for a low-risk garden evening, but its hour claim and DEET-free label are not evidence of disease protection.
When you compare a mosquito bracelet vs spray, start with the health risk. If mosquito-borne disease is possible, use the skin repellent in current UK travel guidance.
When you compare a mosquito bracelet vs spray, start with the health risk. If mosquito-borne disease is possible, use the skin repellent in current UK travel guidance. UKMEAG puts 50% DEET first and names alternatives when DEET is not tolerated. A plant-oil wristband from the mosquito bracelet comparison does not replace that step. A band can be a comfort extra for a low-risk garden evening, but its hour claim and DEET-free label are not evidence of disease protection.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Hour claim | Add a spray | Named oils | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | H HYDRO SIP H HYDRO SIP 12 pack | Up to 350 hours | Not stated | Citronella | 8.8 | about £6.37 | View offer |
| Alternative | Bear Grylls Bear Grylls 10 pack | Up to 10 hours | Yes, add a spray | Citronella | 8.1 | about £12.95 | View offer |
Active Era Active Era 12 pack | 250 hours | Not stated | Lemongrass, geraniol, citronella | 8.9 | about £10.99 | View offer |
On this page
A bracelet and a skin repellent do different jobs
Use the recommended skin repellent for risk travel
Why the bracelets in this set are not that spray
When a bracelet can still be reasonable
Common questions
Can a mosquito bracelet replace DEET spray?
What can you use if DEET is not tolerated?
Is DEET-free safer for children?
Which bracelet tells you to add a spray?
Is citronella the same as PMD?
What else should you use on a malaria-risk trip?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources on bite prevention, biocidal labels and NHS bite routes. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines in the twelve listings dated 16 October 2026. Prices move.
- UKMEAG bite prevention 2026 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Mosquito bite avoidance advice for travellers (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Fit for Travel, mosquito bite avoidance (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- NaTHNaC, insect and tick bite avoidance (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- HSE, treated articles and biocidal products (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Regulation (EU) No 528/2012, Article 69 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- NHS, insect bites and stings (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- NHS, malaria (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Which? 2026, best mosquito repellents (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- ANSES Vigil'Anses, insect repellent wristbands (retrieved 16 October 2026)


