Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Incontinence pads after prostate surgery

Updated: 21 October 2026

The catheter comes out, and the leak is often there before anyone has talked about brands. Incontinence pads after prostate surgery are containment for that stretch, not a treatment and not a verdict on the operation. Cancer Research UK says a catheter is often in for one to two weeks, that leakage is likely when it is removed, and that you should have pads at home and take some to the hospital. Many men improve within three to six months. Some take one to two years. Shop packs are on the [incontinence pads for men](/hub/personal-care/incontinence-pads-for-men) comparison once the leak is still in guard territory. Lisa M., editor for Home & living at productscompared.co.uk, prepared this on 20 October 2026. It is not medical advice. A purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost.

The catheter comes out, and the leak is often there before anyone has talked about brands. Incontinence pads after prostate surgery are containment for that stretch, not a treatment and not a verdict on the operation.

Our top picks

TENA TENA Men Level 2, 60 pads

Best overall

TENA TENA Men Level 2, 60 pads
8.7/10about £26.94
TENA TENA Men Level 3, 96 pads

Best value

TENA TENA Men Level 3, 96 pads
7.9/10about £27.95
On this page

What to expect when the catheter comes out

Plan the pads before the appointment, not in the car park afterwards. Cancer Research UK says to have them ready at home and to take some when the catheter is removed. The first leaks are often stress leaks: a cough, a walk, standing from a chair. Urge leaks happen too. Neither pattern means you bought a defective pad. Improvement over three to six months is what many men see, and one to two years is what Cancer Research UK allows for others. A soaked pad in week two is not a forecast. Sheaths at night are another option Cancer Research UK mentions. They are not in this comparison.

Pads contain leakage. They do not retrain the pelvic floor

NICE says men with stress leakage after prostatectomy should be offered supervised pelvic-floor muscle training for at least three months. Containment is not generally a long-term plan unless other treatments do not help. A pad buys dry clothes while that work happens. It does not replace the referral, and this page does not teach the exercises. NICE also says not to offer penile clamps for storage symptoms. Ask for the continence clinic if nobody has shown you the moves. Cancer Research UK says not to cut down what you drink, and gives at least 2 litres a day. Change the pad. Keep the drink.
TENA TENA Men Level 2, 60 pads

Testsieger

TENA TENA Men Level 2, 60 pads
8.7/10about £26.94

Which pad family to have in the house

For a dribble when you walk, a male guard in close-fitting briefs matches. Level 2 is described as medium bladder weakness and does not state a millilitre. Abena Man states 700 ml on the title, a soak-style figure, not worn capacity. A 15-pad pack at £5.49 is a short trial before you know the leak. If the loss is heavy, a thin guard finishes too soon. ABENA San Premium 6 states 1,600 ml, and Abena says San sizes 5 and above need fixation underwear. Who should skip each pack is on the best incontinence pads for men page. Why boxers let a guard drop is on the how to wear incontinence pads for men page.

When to call the team rather than change brand

Change brand when the shape is wrong: wet at the leg because of boxers, or a shaped pad bought instead of a guard. Blood in the urine, pain, or being unable to pass urine needs an urgent GP or NHS 111, including after surgery. A fever, a catheter that will not drain, or a wound that concerns you belongs with the hospital contacts you were given. Ongoing leakage still deserves a review if it is not improving across the months Cancer Research UK describes. Broken skin from a wet pad is a reason to speak to a nurse. The men's incontinence pads buying guide sorts shape when you are ready to buy.

Common questions

Should I buy pads before the catheter comes out?
Yes. Cancer Research UK says leakage is likely when the catheter is removed, and that you should have pads at home and take some to the hospital. A 15-pad male guard is a shorter first buy than a 96-count.
How long does leakage usually last?
Cancer Research UK says many men improve within three to six months, some take one to two years, and a minority need further treatment. That spread is why a soaked pad in the first fortnight is not a forecast. It is also why a dry week is not a promise.
Are pads the treatment?
No. Pads contain urine so clothes and skin stay manageable. NICE says supervised pelvic-floor training should be offered for at least three months for stress leakage after prostatectomy, and that containment is not generally the long-term plan if other treatment can help. The exercises need a clinician.
Who teaches pelvic-floor exercises?
A continence nurse or a physiotherapist, after you have been referred, not a product listing. Ask for that referral if nobody has shown you the exercises or checked them. NICE's three-month point is about supervised training. This page does not set out the moves.
Can I get pads on the NHS after surgery?
You may, after an assessment by the local continence service. The NHS says heavier leakage is supplied that way, and the products can be bulkier than a shop guard. What you are offered depends on the local integrated care board. This comparison does not list an NHS-approved model.
What if leakage is only a dribble when I walk?
A male guard in close-fitting briefs is the matching shop product for light stress leakage, which is a common pattern after the catheter comes out. Level 2 in this set is described as medium bladder weakness and does not state a millilitre. Cancer Research UK says not to cut fluids down.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures captured for these eight listings. Last checked 21 October 2026.

  1. NHS incontinence products (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. NHS urinary incontinence (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. NICE CG97 recommendations (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK VAT Notice 701/7 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. AHPMA disposable absorbent continence products (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. AHPMA on ISO 11948-1 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. Abena on the Rothwell test (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. TENA UK how to wear pads (retrieved 21 October 2026)