Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Leather or synthetic apron

Updated: 21 October 2026

You are comparing a hide with a PU synthetic leather apron, or with a waxed-canvas title, and amazon.co.uk has filed them under the same leather heading. Leather or synthetic is a material choice, and a hot-environment warning is not a style note. If the job is heat or sparks, a synthetic or canvas title is the wrong product, even when the heading says leather. The ranked table stays on the [leather apron comparison](/hub/occupational-safety/leather-apron). Peter F. used amazon.co.uk listings and review notes captured on 19 October 2026. We did not run a peel test or a burn test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are comparing a hide with a PU synthetic leather apron, or with a waxed-canvas title, and amazon.co.uk has filed them under the same leather heading.

Our top picks

On this page

Three materials under one heading

Hide, synthetic leather, and waxed canvas are three products. A welding bib in this set is split or suede, sometimes with a class on a trade page and sometimes with only a heat adjective. A workshop or grill apron is full grain or suede, with pockets. A lookalike is PU or waxed canvas under a leather heading, often wipe-clean or light, and the wrong default next to a flame. Synthetic leather is not hide. If reviews disagree with the title, treat the material as not stated. UK retail copy still calls some PU aprons heat resistant for grilling and welding. A Ronyme PU listing outside this set is sold as lightweight PU for woodwork, salon, and welding, waterproof and wipe-clean, with no class. That pattern is the mistake. It is not a row in our table. Read the material line before you read the job list. A title that says butcher, BBQ, and welding does not change what the sheet is made of.

What synthetic leather is for

SYOKAMI's apron, ASIN B0GFSFC15Z, is £59.99, with 3.6 from 19 reviews. The title says synthetic leather, waterproof, and cross-back, for kitchen, garden, BBQ, butcher, and crafts. The reviews agree it is not hide. They say it wipes clean. A review quotes instructions not to use it in a hot environment. Another says it is not suitable near heat. Those 19 reviews are marked Germany and Australia, not the United Kingdom, so you should not treat them as a UK sample. They are still the only heat warning in the file. Package weight is 740 g. Other complaints are a short length, creases from a small box, and a knife pocket one reviewer would not trust with a sharp knife. Wipe-clean and waterproof are the synthetic case: kitchen mess, light workshop dirt, a gift that must sponge off. Not a forge, not a weld, and not a hot BBQ. The warning is quoted from reviews. It is not a burn test we ran. Paying £59.99, the top price in this set, does not turn PU into split cowhide.

When the title says leather and canvas

Waxed canvas can be the right shop apron for glue and dust. A UK workshop thread has a maker using waxed canvas with leather pockets for carpentry and a plain leather apron for welding and metalwork. The split is the job. In this set, Leathershire LS0193, ASIN B0DB8SK4WY, puts waxed canvas and leather in one title at £39.99, model LS0193, 3.7 from eight reviews. Package weight is 300 g. No review states the hide percentage, so do not invent one. There is no heat claim. One UK reviewer uses it in a commercial kitchen and likes the buckles and pockets. Another found white marks on arrival. An unanswered question asks if it is waterproof. Sneulletoys at £24.99, 4.6 from 31 reviews, must stay material not stated. The title does not say leather. The clearest UK reviews say heavyweight waxed canvas or heavily waxed stiff cloth. One buyer expected leather and was pleased. Welding is in the title and there is no class. A neck strap scratches, and cross ties change the height. You can buy it as a stiff shop cover if the photos match canvas. You cannot buy it as the leather row. Unsettled material is not a maybe. It is not stated.

What full grain does not prove

Full grain is the usual butcher and gift hide. It is not a thickness, and it is not class 2. LeatherShire's gift apron at £59.99, 4.8 from 20 reviews, has both sturdy and paper thin in a small set, plus one return over cheap fasteners and a bad neck hang. Rustic Town's full-grain title at £34.99 is described as soft suede by reviewers, with tool pockets and no heat claim. QeeLink reviews say thick suede at £36.99 and still show no class. Portwest's title says leather, and reviews say soft or thin, while UK trade pages state 1.3 mm split cowhide and class 2. That class is the boundary. The figures and the kit around it belong on the welding page, not here. An unbranded listing at £29.99 says genuine leather and has no review to confirm it. Genuine, in a title with no wearers, is a claim. A classed welding apron is a third thing again: split cowhide with a printed class, not a PU chef apron and not a canvas mix. Choose hide when you want abrasion and a surface that is actually skin. Choose a classed bib when the hazard is sparks. Choose synthetic only for cold, wipe-clean mess, and only after you have read the hot-environment line on that SYOKAMI file.

Common questions

Is synthetic leather the same as hide?
No. Synthetic leather in this set means the SYOKAMI title, and the reviews agree it is not hide. It can look heavier than cloth and it can wipe clean. It does not become split cowhide because the search heading said leather. Full grain, suede, and split are hide words. PU and synthetic leather are not.
Can I use a PU or bonded apron next to a hob, a BBQ, or a weld?
Not this one. SYOKAMI reviews quote a warning not to use it in a hot environment, and another review says it is not suitable near heat. That is a limit, not a style note. UK pages that call PU heat resistant for grilling are the claim this page is here to stop. A classed welding apron is a different product.
What is the SYOKAMI row actually made of, and what do its reviews warn?
The title says synthetic leather, waterproof, cross-back, at £59.99. Reviews say it is not real leather and that it wipes clean. They also quote a hot-environment warning. The 19 reviews in the file are marked Germany and Australia, not the United Kingdom. Length is shorter than one buyer expected, and the apron creased in a small box. There is no EN ISO 11611 class.
Is waxed canvas a leather apron if the title says both?
Not automatically. Leathershire LS0193 says waxed canvas and leather at £39.99 and 300 g package weight. The hide share is not stated. It can be a light kitchen or shop apron. It is not a full hide, and it has no heat claim. Canvas with a little leather is a mixed product. Treat it as mixed until a listing states the split.
What if reviews and the title disagree, as on the Sneulletoys row?
Treat the material as not stated. The Sneulletoys title does not say leather. The clearest reviews say waxed canvas. One buyer expected leather and was happy. Welding in the title does not settle the cloth. Do not call that apron leather in a shortlist. If you need hide, choose a row where the title and the reviews agree.
Does full grain on a £59.99 title mean thick hide?
No. Full grain names a cut of hide, not a millimetre. The LeatherShire gift file includes both sturdy and paper thin. A crossbody review calls the leather fairly thin and the apron bulky. Two reviews on LS0003 say it protects well and do not describe thickness. Inspect it. Do not pay £59.99 on the grain word alone.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings used for this comparison, last checked on 19 October 2026.

  1. Personal Protective Equipment at Work Regulations 1992 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. HSE, right type of PPE (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. HSE, PPE product safety and supply (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK, PPE enforcement guidance for Great Britain (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. ISO 11611:2024 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. BSI, BS EN ISO 11611:2015 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Tranemo, EN ISO 11611 class summary (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Stick2, Portwest SW10 leather welding apron (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  9. HSE WL14, welding fume and PPE (retrieved 19 October 2026)