Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best lux meter

Updated: 22 October 2026

You want one name from this amazon.co.uk capture. A best lux meter line on a title usually means a high rank or a large review count. Those are shop facts, not a laboratory score and not a certificate. This page names a meter only for a job the listings can support: a room check you can repeat, a sensor you can aim, and the point where you leave the set. The [lux meter comparison](/hub/measuring-equipment/lux-meter) is the twelve-row table, with snapshot prices from £12.99 to £32.97. Peter F. used the listings and the UK review text. We did not calibrate the meters. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You want one name from this amazon.co.uk capture. A best lux meter line on a title usually means a high rank or a large review count. Those are shop facts, not a laboratory score and not a certificate.

Our top picks

TopTes TopTes TS-710

Best overall

TopTes TopTes TS-710
8.2/10about £29.99
Dr.meter Dr.meter 1010BS split

Best value

Dr.meter Dr.meter 1010BS split
6.1/10about £18.99
URCERI URCERI handheld

Alternative

URCERI URCERI handheld
6.8/10about £29.99
On this page

What best can mean here

Stars, review count, and Best Sellers Rank are three different facts. Both V·Resourcing colours show rank 1 and 4.3 from 111, so that is one pool counted twice. The WapoRich is 5.0 from three ratings. A short perfect average is not a top pick. The LX1330B's 4.5 from 2,937 is a buyer record, not a calibration, and no percent is printed. On the score used here the top pick is the TopTes TS-710. The best value is the Dr.meter 1010BS at £18.99, with 16 UK reviews behind the remote head. The order of those checks is the lux meter buying guide.

A repeatable room check

If you can walk around the meter, the fixed-head URCERI handheld has the most UK writing in the file: 50 review blocks under 4.4 from 1,389, at £29.99. The listing prints ±3% of reading ±8 digits below 10,000 lux and ±4% ±10 digits above that. A UK review says the head does not swivel, so on a deep desk you are the shadow. If you can set it down and step back, this is the room pick. If the cell must sit in a corner, skip it.
TopTes TopTes TS-710

Testsieger

TopTes TopTes TS-710
8.2/10about £29.99

Aiming at a shelf or a tank

When the cell has to face a shelf, a tank, or a leaf, the TS-710 is the aiming pick. The listing says the head turns through 180° and reads from 0.1 to 200,000 lux, and it prints 3% of reading plus 5 digits. Thirty-three UK reviews sit under 4.5 from 651. Skip it if the digits must sit still on a flickering lamp. It is still an uncertified pocket meter. The 1010BS at £18.99 is the best value if you will live with a 100,000 lux top and two ranges printed as ×10. Whether a grow light is enough is lux meter for plants.

When none of these is the answer

Leave the capture when the reading must be defended. No file states cosine correction, BS 667 Type F, or a UKAS certificate. A workplace grid or a figure in a dispute needs a competent person and a specified meter. A Martindale LM195 is sold in the UK with cosine figures these listings lack. A Testo 540 was about £114–£143 including VAT at UK trade sellers on 21 October 2026. Neither is an extra row in this set.

Common questions

Which meter is the safe default for a house?
If you can place the meter and step back, the URCERI handheld is the default: the largest UK sample in the file, a printed band on both sides of 10,000 lux, and £29.99 in the snapshot. The head does not swivel, and the temperature digits are not why you buy it. If you cannot step back, the TS-710's 180° head is the default at the same price. Its limit is a number that moves when the light flickers.
Is Best Sellers Rank the best meter?
No. Rank is a position on amazon.co.uk, not a measurement. Both V·Resourcing colours show rank 1 and the same 4.3 from 111 line. Treat them as one fixed-head meter at £16.99, useful for a grow-light comparison once you learn the scale. A dead-on-arrival note is in that shared text. Adding the two review counts would count one pool twice.
Should I buy the TS-710 or the LX1330B?
Buy the TS-710 to point the sensor and still read the screen. The head is stated as 180°, and the listing prints 3% of reading plus 5 digits. Buy the LX1330B for the largest count and a PEAK hold, accepting that rotation is not stated, the percent is missing, and a case was disputed. Both are £29.99 here. The count favours the LX1330B. The aiming job favours the TS-710.
Is a 5.0 from three reviews a top pick?
No. The WapoRich is 5.0 from three ratings, and the UK text is "Very good". The listing claims 1–400,000 lux, a 270° head, Bluetooth, and 30 groups. The app is not described in a UK review, and a battery is not stated as included. A short perfect average is a reason to wait for more reviews, not a reason to rank it first.
Who should skip every meter here?
Skip them if you must show the number to an employer, log emergency lighting, or settle a dispute. You want cosine behaviour stated and a calibration you can trace. A Martindale LM195 or a Testo 540 is that purchase, at a higher price, from a specialist seller. Also skip the set if you need to measure current, or PPFD for plants.
Does a bigger review count mean a better sensor?
It means more people rated the listing. The LX1330B's 2,937 ratings are a large buyer sample, much of it houseplants. The URCERI's long UK text still says the head does not swivel. A cell you can place without shading it can be the better tool on a shelf even when another model has the larger count. Read the count as experience, not as a bench test.
Is the Proster best because it measures voltage?
Only if you wanted voltage, resistance, and continuity beside a lux cell. One of four ratings says current does not appear to be there, and the light reaction was too fast for a camera flash. There is no lux accuracy line and no certificate. For light alone, the meters with a larger UK sample are the clearer buy.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 19 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures captured with these twelve listings. The price bands are this set, not a market average.

  1. Workplace (Health, Safety and Welfare) Regulations 1992, regulation 8 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. HSE HSG38: Lighting at work (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. HSE: Lighting (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. HSE L24: Workplace health, safety and welfare (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. ILP Guidance Note 7: Choosing a photometer or illuminance meter (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. LIA TS23 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. CIBSE LG7: Lighting for offices (2023) (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Michigan State University: Light into perspective (retrieved 19 October 2026)