Geiger counter buying guide
You are looking at amazon.co.uk titles that all say radiation. A geiger counter buying guide has to separate a Geiger–Müller meter from a food tester, an EMF box, and a bare kit before the price matters. This page is that filter for the eight listings on the [Geiger counter comparison](/hub/measuring-equipment/geiger-counter). Peter F. updated it on 16 October 2026 from those files, from UKHSA, and from the HSE page on the Ionising Radiations Regulations 2017. We did not laboratory-test a tube. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. The [best geiger counter](/hub/measuring-equipment/geiger-counter/sub/geiger-counter-best) page assigns one listing to each job.
You are looking at amazon.co.uk titles that all say radiation. A geiger counter buying guide has to separate a Geiger–Müller meter from a food tester, an EMF box, and a bare kit before the price matters.
You are looking at amazon.co.uk titles that all say radiation. A geiger counter buying guide has to separate a Geiger–Müller meter from a food tester, an EMF box, and a bare kit before the price matters. This page is that filter for the eight listings on the Geiger counter comparison. Peter F. updated it on 16 October 2026 from those files, from UKHSA, and from the HSE page on the Ionising Radiations Regulations 2017. We did not laboratory-test a tube. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. The best geiger counter page assigns one listing to each job.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Sensor | Logging | Alarm | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | GQ GQ GMC-800 | Not named | 10 years, PC software | LED, audio, vibration, voice | 8.6 | about £80.98 | View offer |
| Alternative | FNIRSI FNIRSI GC-01 | GM sensor | Not stated | Light, vibration, sound | 8.2 | about £50.79 | View offer |
| Preis-Tipp | Soogua Soogua Geiger counter | GM sensor | Not stated | Sound, vibration, light | 7.6 | about £37.60 | View offer |
On this page
What a consumer Geiger counter can and cannot see
The checks that matter on an amazon.co.uk listing
How the listings in this set sort
Jobs that are a different product
Common questions
What radiation should the listing name?
Is µSv/h or CPM the number to compare?
Does NIST on a GMC-800 listing mean UK calibration?
How is a kit different from a handheld?
Can this replace a radon test?
What fails in reviews of cheap meters?
Related pages
Sources
UKHSA, Public Health Wales, the Health and Safety Executive and the Ionising Radiations Regulations 2017, plus manufacturer pages and the amazon.co.uk listings read on 16 October 2026. Prices move. Nothing was laboratory tested or UKAS calibrated.
- UKHSA, UK ionising radiation exposure, June 2025 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- UKHSA, radon Action Level and Target Level (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- UKHSA, measuring radon (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Public Health Wales, radon (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- HSE, ionising radiation legal base (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Ionising Radiations Regulations 2017, Schedule 3 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- GQ Electronics, GMC-800 user guide (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- FNIRSI GC-01 product page (retrieved 16 October 2026)


