Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Bosch DIY or Professional laser level

Updated: 22 October 2026

You can live with a Bosch Quigo for pictures, or you are about to spend Professional money because a fitter said the DIY cross will not transfer a dot to the ceiling. Bosch DIY or Professional laser level, in this amazon.co.uk set, is that job test. Stay with DIY while the work is one indoor wall. Move to a GLL, a GCL, or the 360° tool when you need a stated IP rating, plumb points on a site mount, or a plane around the room. The [Bosch line laser](/hub/measuring-equipment/bosch-line-laser) comparison lists the eight prices and what each box contains. This page does not repeat the green-versus-red argument. That sits on the [Quigo colour page](/hub/measuring-equipment/bosch-line-laser/sub/bosch-line-laser-green-or-red). A purchase through our links can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.

You can live with a Bosch Quigo for pictures, or you are about to spend Professional money because a fitter said the DIY cross will not transfer a dot to the ceiling.

Our top picks

On this page

What the Quigo kits are for

The four Quigo listings run from £39.95 to £82.39. They are crosses on 2 AAA cells, with an MM 2 clamp or a 1.1 m tripod, and no IP rating in the Amazon bullets. Stated accuracy is ±0.8 mm/m and about 7 m, or ±0.6 mm/m and up to 12 m on the listings that say green. That is a Saturday tool for one indoor wall. They do not put a dot on the ceiling or mark a high rail from a 1.1 m tripod. The buying guide is the criteria order. The UniversalLevel 2 is still Bosch DIY, even though it has plumb points. At £99.99 it states ±0.5 mm/m, top and bottom dots, and an incline function, with tripod TT 120. The Amazon bullets do not state metres or an IP rating. Do not call it Professional because the dots look like the GCL's.

What Professional changes on a cross

The GLL 2-10, B01LP4H22S, is the Professional cross in this set. Amazon lists it at £89.95. Bosch's GB shop lists the same order family, 0601063L00, at £129.60 including VAT. The comparison uses £89.95 because that is the amazon.co.uk capture. The bullets state ±0.3 mm/m, up to 10 m, self-levelling within ±4° in under 4 seconds, and IP54. The box is 3 AA cells and a pouch. There is no tripod. The Amazon bullets do not state a colour, so do not treat red as an Amazon specification. Against a Quigo you gain ±0.3 mm/m, a printed 10 m, and IP54, and you lose the clamp or the 1.1 m tripod. It is the Professional buy when the job is still one wall and you already have a mount. The GCL 2-15, B01FLJ6DO6, is the Professional tool with two plumb points, at £119.99. The bullets state class 2, IP54, ±0.3 mm/m, the RM 1 mount, a bag, and an L-BOXX inlay. It is 4.6 from 7,977 reviews, which is why it is the top pick when the score ties the 360° tool. The bullets give no metres. Choose it for the dot and the mount, not for a printed range or a line around the room.

When the room needs 360°

Plumb dots transfer a point. They do not draw a plane around the room. When you need one setup for several walls, or a ceiling line from the floor, the tool in this set is the GLL 80-33 G, B0DFHMMTX6, at £414.01. It states one horizontal and two vertical 360° green lines, ±0.3 mm/m, up to 30 m, and IP65. The box includes the LB 10 bracket, a target plate, a protective bag, and 4 AA cells. Some reviews name a GLL 3-80 instead. Do not merge those into this ASIN. Bosch's GB shop lists £443.01 including VAT, and an 80 m radius with the LR 7, against Amazon's £414.01 and a stated 30 m. The receiver and the lithium-ion pack are not in this Amazon box. That price fits units on three walls. It does not fit a picture job. The best Bosch line laser page says who should skip the £414 tool.

Outdoor work and the next tool

A Professional name does not make the line visible in sun. IP54 and IP65 describe the housing, not the beam in daylight. Bosch says bright sun hides even a green line, and the LR 7 is not in these boxes. None of the eight listings is a rotary. For structural setting-out, use a surveyor. A Quigo is enough when that day's work is one indoor wall. It is a poor bargain if you then buy the GCL because the dots were needed from the start. Decide the drawing first.

Common questions

Is a Quigo too light for trade?
It is too little tool when the job needs plumb points, a stated IP rating, or 360° lines. It is not too light for trade that is only indoor brackets on one wall. The Quigo kits here are 2 AAA crosses from £39.95 to £82.39, with no IP rating in the Amazon bullets. A site that is dusty or still wet is where the GLL 2-10 or the GCL 2-15 states IP54.
What do I gain with the GLL 2-10?
You gain a stated ±0.3 mm/m, a stated 10 m, levelling within ±4° in under 4 seconds, and IP54, at £89.95 on amazon.co.uk in this capture. Bosch's GB shop has listed £129.60 including VAT for the same model family. You do not gain a tripod, plumb points, or a beam colour printed in the Amazon bullets. You still need your own mount.
Do I need the GCL if I want dots on the ceiling?
You need a tool with plumb points. In this set that is the GCL 2-15 at £119.99, with the RM 1 mount, or the DIY UniversalLevel 2 at £99.99. The GCL states IP54 and ±0.3 mm/m and does not state metres. The UniversalLevel 2 states ±0.5 mm/m, includes a short tripod, and is not a Professional model. A Quigo or a GLL 2-10 will not transfer the dot.
Is the UniversalLevel 2 Professional?
No. It is Bosch DIY. It has a cross, plumb points, and an incline function, which is why people compare it with the GCL. The Amazon listing does not state IP54, and the tripod in the box is the TT 120 that reviewers put at about 1.1 m. Professional in this set means the GLL 2-10, the GCL 2-15, or the GLL 80-33 G.
Does the £414 laser include the receiver?
No. The GLL 80-33 G Amazon kit includes 4 AA cells, the LB 10 bracket, a target plate, and a bag. It does not include the LR 7 receiver or the lithium-ion pack. Bosch's GB page quotes 80 m radius with the LR 7 and £443.01 including VAT. The Amazon bullets state up to 30 m and £414.01. Use the box you are paying for.
Can I use a Professional laser outside?
You can use it in shade, and you can use a matched receiver in sun if you buy that receiver. These listings do not include one. IP54 and IP65 are housing ratings, not a visible beam in daylight. Reviewers still report lines that fail outdoors in daytime, including on the GLL 2-10. Do not aim the beam at people, animals, or traffic.
Why is the same GLL cheaper on Amazon than on Bosch's site?
The captures differ. Amazon shows the GLL 2-10 at £89.95 and the GLL 80-33 G at £414.01. Bosch's GB shop shows £129.60 and £443.01 including VAT for those models. Shops and dates differ. The comparison price is the amazon.co.uk line. Check the live page before you order, because a shelf price moves.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 20 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures captured with these eight listings. The price bands are this set, not a market average. Bosch GB shelf prices are not the Amazon prices.

  1. GOV.UK: laser radiation safety advice (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. HSE: lasers (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. HSE: Control of Artificial Optical Radiation at Work Regulations 2010, employer guidance (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. Bosch DIY: Quigo Green (GB) (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. Bosch DIY: line lasers (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. Bosch DIY: UniversalLevel 2 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. Bosch Professional: GLL 2-10 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  9. Bosch Professional: GLL 80-33 G (retrieved 20 October 2026)