Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Corded vs cordless lawn mower

Updated: October 2026

You are at the socket on the house wall, looking at a lawn that may or may not sit inside 10 m of cable, and you have not decided whether the annoying part is the lead or the battery. This corded vs cordless lawn mower page is that one trade-off, using the twelve amazon.co.uk listings in the [electric lawnmower 40 cm comparison](/hub/lawn-and-garden-equipment/electric-lawnmower-40cm) from 19 October 2026. It does not pick a stripe mower and it does not walk the first cut. A purchase through our links may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are at the socket on the house wall, looking at a lawn that may or may not sit inside 10 m of cable, and you have not decided whether the annoying part is the lead or the battery.

Our top picks

Flymo Flymo Speedi-Mo 360C

Best overall

Flymo Flymo Speedi-Mo 360C
9.2/10about £110
Worx Worx WG737E

Alternative

Worx Worx WG737E
9.0/10about £229
Flymo Flymo 38 cm corded

Rank 3

Flymo Flymo 38 cm corded
8.8/10about £135
On this page

The lead is the corded limit

A corded mower here is a 1200–1800 W motor with no pack to forget. The limit is reach. Four models state a 10 m lead: the Einhell GC-EM 1600/37, the Flymo 38 cm, the LawnMaster, and the Hyundai. Reviews call 10 m short. The Speedi-Mo at about £110 does not state a length, so you cannot assume it is longer. Ten metres is enough when the socket faces the lawn and the grass is a small, fairly square patch. It is the wrong compromise when the lawn starts after a side path. Electrical Safety First and the RHS still own the hazard: an RCD if the cord is cut, no daisy-chained extensions, no mowing in the rain. The steps are on the how to use page.

What cordless does to that problem

Cordless deletes the lead and replaces it with minutes. You can mow where there is no outdoor socket. You cannot treat a seller’s area line as a measured runtime. The Worx claims up to 550 m². The Einhell 43 cm kit claims up to 600 m². The Litheli bullets claim up to 30 minutes. The swift claims up to 50 m², which at least matches a 22 cm deck. Worx owners say two 4.0 Ah packs can finish a lawn with charge left. Einhell 43 cm owners say long grass can finish a pack in about 10 minutes. Litheli and Ryobi reviews cluster around 25–30 minutes. None of the twelve listings says the mower is self-propelled. The Worx is 15.3 kg and the Einhell kit is 16 kg. You still push.
Flymo Flymo Speedi-Mo 360C

Testsieger

Flymo Flymo Speedi-Mo 360C
9.2/10about £110

Kit, bare tool, or a battery with no named charger

The cordless price is three different products. The Worx WG737E at about £229 is a kit: 37 cm, two 20 V 4.0 Ah packs and a charger. The Einhell GE-CM 43 Li at about £239.94 is a kit: 43 cm, two 4.0 Ah packs and two fast chargers. The swift at about £134.99 is a small kit: 22 cm, one 40 V 2.0 Ah pack and a fast charger. The Ryobi OLM1833B at about £160.20 is the bare tool. The title excludes the battery and the charger. If those packs are on the shelf, this can be the way in. If they are not, the mower does not start. The Litheli at about £109.99 states a 5.0 Ah pack and does not name a charger. One owner described a phone charger. Until you see a charger you recognise, this is not the same offer as the Worx kit.

A UK plug, and when to pick which

Plugs here are BS 1363, three-pin and fused. The Einhell 43 cm listing does not say the chargers are UK plugs. Several reviews report a two-pin plug. A GOV.UK report on a RONTALY mower is a different product. Do not hang that case on these brands. Look at the pins before the first charge. Width still sits on the buying guide. Pick corded if the socket faces the lawn and you will route about 10 m of lead. That points at the Speedi-Mo at about £110 if you can live without a stated length, or the Einhell 37 cm at about £114.99 if you want 10 m and a 38 litre box printed on the page. Skip corded if you already resent the cable. Do not join two leads to rescue the decision. Pick a kit if the lead is what you are paying to remove. Choose the Einhell 43 cm kit when you want 43 cm and will check the plug. Choose the Worx when 37 cm is enough. Pick the Ryobi only when ONE+ packs are already yours.

Common questions

Is cordless safer?
Not as a blanket claim. Cordless removes the cut-lead hazard and keeps a spinning blade. Corded mowing depends on an RCD and a lead that stays behind you, which is the Electrical Safety First and RHS advice. Reviews here do not crown one type. They show different ways to stop.
Is 10 m enough?
It is enough for a small lawn with the socket on the facing wall. It is what four listings state, and reviews call it short for anything larger. The Speedi-Mo does not state a length, so do not invent a longer one. One extension can cover a gap. A second extension plugged into the first is the step to avoid.
What if I already own Ryobi ONE+ packs?
Then the OLM1833B matches batteries you have, at about £160.20 for a 33 cm deck. One owner’s 5.0 Ah pack did a lawn and a strimmer. Reviews still say about 30 minutes, and a poor time in long or damp grass. If you do not own the packs, this price does not start a mower today.
Do chargers always have a UK plug?
The listings do not promise that. Several Einhell 43 cm reviews report a two-pin plug rather than a UK three-pin. Check for BS 1363. Do not generalise that report to every Einhell unit, or to Worx and swift. A travel adaptor is not the fix. Speak to the seller if the plug is not the one a UK listing led you to expect.
Will one battery finish the lawn?
Sometimes, on a small lawn already in a mowing cycle. Litheli and Ryobi reviews cluster around 25–30 minutes. Worx reviewers with two packs describe charge left. Einhell reviewers describe about 10 minutes in long grass. The 550 m² and 600 m² claims are not a promise that one pack will match your garden.

Related pages

Sources

Sources from the research digest. Listings were captured on amazon.co.uk on 19 October 2026.

  1. Electrical Safety First: lawnmowers (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. Electrical Safety First: garden (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. RHS: electricity in the garden (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. RHS: mowing (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK: outdoor noise (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. legislation.gov.uk: outdoor noise, Schedule 3 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. The English Garden: corded and electric lawn mowers (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Gardeners' World: electric lawn mowers (retrieved 19 October 2026)