Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Electric vs gas doner kebab machine

Updated: 23 October 2026

You have either a 13 A socket you can spare or a gas supply, and the amazon.co.uk titles in this set often claim both. This electric vs gas doner kebab machine page sorts the ten listings into clear electric, one clear gas box, and three pages that name both. Choose the fuel your room can physically supply. Do not buy a listing that cannot say which fuel it is. Running cost is not settled here. The price table is the [doner kebab machine comparison](/hub/grills-and-barbecues/doner-kebab-machine). A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.

You have either a 13 A socket you can spare or a gas supply, and the amazon.co.uk titles in this set often claim both.

Our top picks

On this page

What electric demands

A domestic wall socket in the UK is a 13 A circuit. Electrical Safety First describes 3000 W as the maximum rating of that socket. A stated 2800 W broiler sits at the top of that range. Give it the socket on its own. HAKKA CG-25A, B0F942FMTP, at £180.61, states 2800 W electric and has 4.2 from 10 reviews, including a cool bottom and a leak. Dfdieratve’s title says 2400 W and the attribute row says 3000 W. The Chef-o-matic at £46.99 is 1000 W and six skewers, not a cone. Read the rating plate. Capacity belongs on the doner kebab machine buying guide.

What gas demands

Gas is not the stronger default because a shop guide prefers it. In a takeaway, a Gas Safe engineer must install it. The only clear gas listing is HAKKA BROTHERS, B0FK2KZ32M, at £159.99. It states gas and 4300 W. That watt line is a heat claim, not a 4300 W electrical load. The single review says the gas pipe and regulator are not in the box. Do not borrow a random LPG fitting to finish the parcel. For a shop, catering sheet CAIS23 points at ventilation and BS 6173. A flat does not have the extraction those sheets assume.

Listings that name both

Three ASINs should stay in the basket until a rating plate, not the title, picks a fuel. Hakka B0F943XXD7, at £179.56, says LPG in the title and electric, 2800 W, in the technical block, on the same model string CG-25A as the electric HAKKA. Three reviews at 4.8 do not tell you whether a bottle or a socket is in the carton. Hydravex B0DF6X8KHK, at £230.14, says electric in the title. A bullet then says the heat is gas, with a pressure-reducing valve and a power plug. Watts are not stated, and there are no reviews. ANGDI B0DD48FZVX, at £928.95, states 9000 W, and the fuel row lists electric and gas together. Even as electricity, 9000 W is not a 13 A plug. Skip all three until the plate matches one fuel.

When each fuel is the rational choice

Choose clear electric when you can dedicate a 13 A socket, the stated load is 2800 W or below, and you have read the plate. The HAKKA at £180.61 is the one with enough comments to know the bottom runs cooler and the tray can leak. The 1000 W skewer grill fits only when you want sticks, not a cone. Choose gas only when a Gas Safe engineer is connecting a shop system and you have the regulator and hose the review says were missing. Walk away when the title and the attribute row name different fuels. There is no cheaper-to-run winner in this file.

Common questions

Which is cheaper to run?
This capture does not show your unit rate or a measured duty cycle, so it cannot name a cheaper fuel. Caterzone publishes a pence-per-kWh contrast for takeaways. That is their figure, not a bill we calculated, and it does not include a missing regulator, a dedicated circuit, or extraction. Match the fuel to the room first. A cheap run on the wrong supply is not a saving if you cannot legally or safely light it.
Can I put a gas machine in a domestic kitchen?
The only clear gas listing here is a countertop HAKKA whose single review says the pipe and regulator are absent. HSE Gas Safe rules and catering ventilation guidance are written for restaurants and shops, not as permission to hose a bottle to a cooker in a flat. Do not make a DIY connection. If the manufacturer’s clearance and ventilation are not in a manual you hold, do not invent them. A domestic kitchen is the wrong place to experiment.
Will 2800 W run on a 13 A plug?
A stated 2800 W load sits under the 3000 W maximum Electrical Safety First gives for a wall socket, so it is in the band a 13 A plug is meant to cover, if the appliance is actually 2800 W and the plate agrees. It is still the top of that band. Use a wall socket on its own. Do not assume every listing that prints 2800 W includes a BS 1363 plug. The Tasofac file does not state the plug at all.
What if the regulator is not in the box?
Do not light the grill. The gas HAKKA review says the pipe and regulator were not included. A random regulator from another appliance is not a match you can guess from a 4300 W heat claim. For a shop, that connection is Gas Safe work. For a home, the missing part is a reason to return the listing that sold a gas machine as if it were complete, not a reason to finish the gas train yourself.
Do gas machines still need electricity for the motor?
The file on the gas HAKKA does not say. It states gas and 4300 W as the heat line, and the review talks about the missing pipe and regulator. Do not add a plug requirement the page never printed. Hydravex mentions both a pressure-reducing valve and a power plug, and that page already contradicts itself, so it is not evidence for the HAKKA. Check the plate on the unit you unpack.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures for these ASINs, checked on 19 October 2026.

  1. Food Standards Agency: cooking your food (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK: cooking food safely (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. Food Safety and Hygiene (England) Regulations 2013, Schedule 4 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Brighton & Hove: prepare and cook doner kebabs safely (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. HSE: Catering Information Sheet 23 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Electrical Safety First: plugs and fuses (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. GOV.UK: food business registration (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk listings for these ASINs (retrieved 19 October 2026)