Compo peat-free compost and what the UK rules actually say
You want a sack that says peat-free, and you have heard that peat compost was banned in 2024. Compo peat-free compost, among the five bags in this comparison, is a single 7.5 litre title. The Sana listings beside it do not say peat-free. Peat-based compost can still be sold, because the ban that was announced was not enacted. This is the page for that distinction. The shelf prices sit on the [Compo potting compost comparison](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/compo-potting-compost). Peter F. used Defra, Parliament, the Royal Horticultural Society, and the amazon.co.uk listings saved on 19 October 2026. This is not a laboratory peat test of a delivered sack.
You want a sack that says peat-free, and you have heard that peat compost was banned in 2024. Compo peat-free compost, among the five bags in this comparison, is a single 7.5 litre title.
You want a sack that says peat-free, and you have heard that peat compost was banned in 2024. Compo peat-free compost, among the five bags in this comparison, is a single 7.5 litre title. The Sana listings beside it do not say peat-free. Peat-based compost can still be sold, because the ban that was announced was not enacted. This is the page for that distinction. The shelf prices sit on the Compo potting compost comparison. Peter F. used Defra, Parliament, the Royal Horticultural Society, and the amazon.co.uk listings saved on 19 October 2026. This is not a laboratory peat test of a delivered sack.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Peat on listing | Volume | Stated feed | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Compo Compo Sana Confort universal 12 L | Not stated | 12 L | Not stated | 5.4 | about £16.92 | View offer |
Compo Compo Sana potting soil 5 L | Not stated | 5 L | Up to 6 weeks | 7.7 | about £20.29 | View offer | |
| Alternative | Compo Compo peat-free bio universal 7.5 L | Peat-free | 7.5 L | Not stated | 5.0 | about £26.41 | View offer |
On this page
The ban that was announced and not enacted
What the RHS changed, and what it did not
Sana beside the peat-free title
What the peat-free title does not prove
Common questions
Is peat compost banned in England now?
Which bag in this set says peat-free?
Does Bio mean Soil Association?
If Sana does not mention peat, is it peat-free?
Are the reviews on the peat-free listing from the UK?
Does peat-free mean no fungus gnats?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK and maker sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the five amazon.co.uk listings captured on 19 October 2026. A UK peat ban is not in force. German and Spanish review samples are not British customer experience. Bio on the 7.5 litre title is not a Soil Association number in the saved listing.
- Defra, sale of horticultural peat to be banned (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- RHS, retail peat-free from 2026 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Baroness Hayman letter, 29 January 2026 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Horticultural Peat (Prohibition of Sale) Bill (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- RHS, fungus gnats (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- RHS, growing plants in containers (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- COMPO SANA universal potting soil (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- COMPO BIO universal potting soil (retrieved 19 October 2026)


