Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Metabo drill for masonry

Updated: 2026-10-23

The wall is brick, the plug is in your hand, and the green drill on the bench may have no hammer at all. A Metabo drill for masonry means separating a drill driver from a chuck combi and from an SDS-plus hammer. A few plug holes in softer brick can be a combi that states hammer mode. Concrete, a long run of holes, or a chisel is the KH or a tradesperson. The rows are on the [Metabo drill comparison](/hub/drilling-and-accessories/metabo-drill). Updated on 22 October 2026 from the amazon.co.uk cards, Metabo's UK page for the KH, and Health and Safety Executive guidance. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

The wall is brick, the plug is in your hand, and the green drill on the bench may have no hammer at all. A Metabo drill for masonry means separating a drill driver from a chuck combi and from an SDS-plus hammer.

Our top picks

Metabo Metabo Y/602317870

Best overall

Metabo Metabo Y/602317870
9.4/10about £154.15
Metabo Metabo KH 18 LTX BL 24

Rank 2

Metabo Metabo KH 18 LTX BL 24
7.6/10about £209.99
Metabo Metabo SB 18 L

Alternative

Metabo Metabo SB 18 L
1.0/10about £154.15
On this page

No hammer symbol means no masonry

Four cards in this set do not state hammer mode: B093WKG8RF, B0D79P7D8Y, B0D9KKS9Q6, and B0BCZHDK88. They are drill drivers. Hammer not stated is a no, not a setting behind the highest clutch number. UK shop titles sometimes call a BS 12 a combi. The letters do not add percussion. The cards that do state a hammer are B07719JR75, the SB 18 L kit B0G5Q4Q4YG, and the KH B0B7R9HNYR. Only the KH states chiselling. Collar symbols, once you have a hammer setting, are on the how to use page.

Short plug holes

A chuck combi is for occasional plug holes in softer brick and block. An SDS-plus hammer is for concrete, larger holes, and chiselling. B0G5Q4Q4YG, SB 18 L order 614053940, is £154.15 with hammer mode stated, a 13 mm chuck, 60 Nm, two 18 V 2.0 Ah packs, and an SC 36. There is no review line. No diameter table for this order was opened. Do not give it masonry millimetres from a neighbouring SB, or 16.5 m/s² from the SB 18 LTX BL I. B07719JR75 also states a hammer for masonry. Chisel mode is not stated, and batteries are not in the components field. Stop if the hole does not advance, or if the plug hole turns into a chase.
Metabo Metabo Y/602317870

Testsieger

Metabo Metabo Y/602317870
9.4/10about £154.15

Concrete and chiselling

The KH 18 LTX BL 24, order 601713840, is B0B7R9HNYR at £209.99, body only. The bullets say hammer drilling, drilling, and chiselling. Metabo's UK page, not the amazon cells, prints 2.2 J, 24 mm in concrete, 0–1,280 rpm, 4,750 bpm, 13.6 m/s² when hammer drilling concrete (K 1.5), 9.2 m/s² when chiselling, and 93 dB(A). Amazon prints 4,750 rpm and a 10 cm cube. Do not use 4,750 as a drilling speed, and do not use the cube as the tool's size. The KH takes SDS-plus. A straight bit from a keyless chuck will not lock in that holder. The £209.99 price does not include a battery.

When to stop

The Health and Safety Executive's rough site guide is about 15 minutes a day of hammer action, or about an hour of rotary use. The Control of Vibration at Work Regulations 2005 set an action value of 2.5 m/s² A(8) and a limit of 5 m/s² A(8). The KH figure of 13.6 m/s² is not an all-day clearance, and it belongs to this hammer. Noise action values are 80 and 85 dB(A), and the limit is 87 dB(A). The KH sheet's 93 dB(A) means hearing protection for sustained use. Concrete dust is silica, and HSE sheet CN3 is about capturing it at source. Stop when the bit ceases to advance. Call a tradesperson for structural fixings, wall chasing, material you cannot identify, suspected asbestos, or tingling that persists after hammer use.

Common questions

Will a Metabo BS drill brick?
No. A BS does not state hammer mode. In this set that covers both PowerMaxx cards, the BS 18 kit, and the metal driver. A masonry bit without the hammer will not cut brick in any useful way. A shop title that says combi on a BS 12 does not add the mechanism.
Is the SB 18 L kit enough for a few wall plugs?
It can be, for short plug holes in softer brick or block, because hammer mode is stated on B0G5Q4Q4YG at £154.15, and the card has no review line. Do not borrow 16 mm or 16.5 m/s² from another SB. Stop if the hole does not advance, or if the job becomes a chase or concrete.
When do I need the KH instead of a combi?
When the material is concrete, when you need chiselling, or when the holes are no longer occasional. The KH 18 LTX BL 24 is SDS-plus, 2.2 J and 24 mm in concrete on Metabo's UK page, and the amazon card states chiselling. It is body only at £209.99, so a battery is extra. A chuck combi is the wrong tool once you are breaking out a chase.
What bit shank does the KH take?
SDS-plus. That is the item type on the amazon card and the fitting on Metabo's page for order 601713840. A straight bit from the combi's keyless chuck is the wrong shank. The card also prints a 10 mm chuck beside SDS-Plus. Do not treat that cell as the shank you should buy.
Why does the amazon KH card show 4,750 rpm?
Amazon prints 1,280 rpm and a speed field of 4,750 rpm. Metabo's UK page for this order prints no-load speed 0–1,280 rpm and a maximum impact rate of 4,750 bpm. The 4,750 figure is blows per minute. It is not a second drilling speed.
Does the £154.15 combi include a published concrete vibration figure?
No. The SB 18 L kit at £154.15 states a hammer and does not carry a concrete vibration figure in the sources used here. Do not copy 13.6 m/s² from the KH, or 16.5 m/s² from the SB 18 LTX BL I. The KH's 93 dB(A) is that hammer's sheet, not the combi's.

Related pages

Sources

Sources from the research digest, last checked on 22 October 2026.

  1. Metabo UK cordless drill drivers (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. Metabo UK cordless range 2025/26 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. Metabo UK XXL warranty (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. Metabo UK battery solutions (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. Metabo KH 18 LTX BL 24 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. HSE hand-arm vibration duties (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. HSE CN3: dust from drilling and chasing concrete (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 22 October 2026)